We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
On Top of Bergen - Public Tour
32

Book in advance
from
$180.03
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Norway Mountain Guides
from $180.03
More Info
from $192.68
More Info
from $121.27
More Info
from $759.05
More Info
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
213
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
213
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an excellent guide norwegian culture guided hike local guide great hike day hike hot drinks snowshoe frank tobias pace company terrain knowledge nature taught summit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 217 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2019

Although they are based in Bergen, they can actually do customized hikes in places not very far from Bergen.
As it suited us better to do a hike near Norheimsund, our wonderful guide Birgitte kindly agreed to come to us. The hiking route was spectacular with all the picturesque views you can think of. We had a great day out!
Hiking is really a must-do thing in Norway and ours was an amazing experience thanks to Birgitte! Highly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank stanley_ermakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank_NMG, Leder  at Norway Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

Very nice to hear that you enjoyed the trip. Booking a private tour gives us a unique opportunity to tailor a scheme that suits the customer well. In your case, this meant untouched trails, high mountains and beautiful fjord views. Birgitte told me nice things about you guys! Thank you so much for choosing NMG.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019 via mobile

We couldn't have asked for a more friendly and able guide than Frank. He was able to take us as at a pace that suited us and showed us the beautiful views of Bergen from the island of Askoy. He was super friendly and knowledgeable and made the trip enjoyable for us and most importantly back into shelter before the rain started. Thanks Frank!

The trip showed us beautiful views of Bergen with a short boat trip which is recommendable to really see the Bryggen area clearly.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Ana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank_NMG, Leder  at Norway Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

A boat trip over the city fjord before a hike are never wrong, remember our plan, next time you are coming skiing with Norway Mountain Guides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

The weather did not work out the best for us, but Frank still was able to make this an enjoyable and interesting outing.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Felfoldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank_NMG, Leder  at Norway Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

Ohh yes, this august 2019 we had a new record ( not a good one) more rain then in a 100 years back...but we still had fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2019

I booked this tour on a whim. I always hike independently and would never think to hire a guide, but I was inspired by these reviews to try it. I am so glad that I did!

I was in a group of three signed up to do the Vidden trail, with Frank Barmen as our guide. I had been excited to do the trek from Ulriken to Floyen - unfortunately, unusually heavy rain the night before meant the trails were likely too slippery to be enjoyable. Frank suggested we do something of similar length and difficulty and designed a less well-traveled route for us.

This was such a wonderful day. The terrain was beautiful and the views were amazing, and the hours and miles passed so quickly. Frank was focused on giving us the best experience possible and at several junctures he gave us a choice of routes. We were having such a great time that we always picked the longer option, eager to extend the trip as much as possible.

I would encourage anyone to hike Bergen with Norway Mountain Guides, even if you are a very experienced hiker. Frank's stories about Norway history and culture made this so much more than just a hike. I can climb a mountain or hike a beautiful forest any time I want to back in my home state of Washington, but this was a much different and much richer experience.

Frank was accommodating and caring - he is clearly passionate about sharing the natural beauty of Bergen with others. The other people on the tour, Laura and David, were great companions, too - I feel lucky to have met them.

Be sure to wear hiking or running shoes and bring several layers. The temperature fluctuated quite a bit through out the day, sometimes very quickly.

You won't regret doing a hiking tour with Frank and his guides. Yes, you can hike Bergen on your own and have a lovely time, but you should also take the opportunity to hike with a local person and learn all about Bergen and Norway while also enjoying the natural beauty.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Christine5210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank_NMG, Leder  at Norway Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

Christine, I become humble and thoughtful as I read this.
We want, and work hard for you to have the best possible stay in Bergen and experience the nature and the mountains that we do in a safe way, but this is just outstanding. Thank you so much for your wonderful words, it provides motivation for a small mountain company to work hard, to be able to do this 365 days a year!! You are always welcome back! Best regards Frankieboy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2019 via mobile

Booked on Viator, looked like an experience worth doing .. we were not disappointed.. met Frank as agreed ..

The tour was awesome and saw three of the seven mountains of on our trek that Frank changed due to the weather conditions ..

Together with Christine who was also on the trek we went to places with few people and was able to really enjoy untouched Bergen ..

I can’t recommend this enough .. frank was the best guide !!

2  Thank Z3774TEdavidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank_NMG, Leder  at Norway Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

Thanks David, next time l will set off some time for "after hike" to. The strange thing is that its normally that peaceful and not many people in the mountains around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews