We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
On Top of Bergen - Public Tour
32

Book in advance
from
$179.44
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Norway Mountain Guides
from $179.44
More Info
from $192.05
More Info
from $120.87
More Info
from $756.54
More Info
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
213
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
213
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an excellent guide norwegian culture guided hike local guide great hike day hike hot drinks snowshoe frank tobias pace company terrain knowledge nature taught summit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 217 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2019 via mobile

Daniel - our guide - led us all through the mountain Floyen, with breathtaking views, tasty snacks (the guide thought of it in advance and treated us) and all sorts of conversational topics. He introduced some interesting facts, historic events and folk stories.
The tour was called ‘On top of Bergen’. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank olenkarook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank_NMG, Manager at Norway Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Very nice to hear, nice to have a colleague like Daniel who has worked many years as a mountain guide but also studied history. Thank you so much for choosing Norway Mountain Guides to be Your guide in Bergen! From Fjord to Mountain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

We had an excellent time on our hike above Bergen. Our guide, Daniel Strand, was knowledgable, enthusiastic and professional. If you enjoy a good walk (ours was 15km/9.5 miles) and majestic views, you won’t go wrong here.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 2tbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank_NMG, Manager at Norway Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Coming form the great mountain nation Austria With all the beutiful nature, it makes me really happe to hear that you enjoyed Your tour With Norway Mountain Guides and Daniel "On top of Bergen".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019

We met at the benches in front of the tourist office & Frank, our guide, was carrying a sign for Norway Mountain Guides. I arrived early & was a little nervous as I was traveling alone, but was quickly put at ease. Frank was very friendly & after filling out the appropriate paperwork we walked across the street to purchase a ticket on the first bus to the Ulriken Funicular as well as a ticket for the Funicular itself. This bus & Funicular ride were an additional fee. I think it was roughly 100 kr. The hike can proceed from Mt. Ulriken to Mt. Floyen or from Floyen to Ulriken & Frank suggested that we start in Ulriken. We boarded the bus & shortly after we arrived at the Funicular. We boarded the Funicular & up we went to the start of the hike. The views already were beautiful. Once we began hiking though it became clear why this is the most popular hike in Bergen! The views & landscape were magnificent!! It was hard to believe that we were directly above Norway’s 2nd largest city as the terrain was untouched, pristine & gave the impression of being in the complete wilderness. There were mountain lakes to swim in & mountain streams to drink from, there were herds of sheep & lush farmland below & rocky & moss covered terrain on the trail which made it easy to understand how the legends of the trolls were born. Every turn offered a more beautiful view & truly was unbelievable! Although we saw very few people along the 13km route it did become more frequented as the day progressed. It was a confusing path that was marked by piles of stones & the occasional directional sign. I was very pleased to have Frank with us. He was incredibly pleasant, knowledgeable & amenable. His primary goal was to make sure that we enjoyed the trail. He adjusted the pace according to our needs-speeding up & slowing down according to the terrain. It was an incredibly long hike but I left wanting more. At no point was I ready for this trail with its remarkable views to come to an end. Furthermore, the lively discussions along the trail were almost as interesting as the views. Frank doubled as a history, economics & sociology professor as our group, entirely made up of Americans, peppered him with questions about the Vikings, World War II, healthcare, infrastructure, commerce & industry, kindercare, maternity & paternity leave, the environment, the government, natural resources-you name it. Frank earned his stripes & gave us all an incredible understanding of the history & present day Norway as well as a love of the landscape. It was an extraordinary day!! I highly recommend Frank & would have done every hike he offered, but sadly we had scheduling conflicts. Next time for sure!!!!

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Peppypam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank_NMG, Manager at Norway Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

OHH, what can l say, but thank you some much for Your kind Words. You have really taking Your time and put in a long review With so many details, this makes it easier for other users of Tripadvisor and make me very proud as a manager for Norway Mountain guides, again thank you so much and Your are allway welcome back all the way from the US.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2019

Frank barman led a small group of us on this tour and it was gorgeous. We got very lucky with beautiful weather but what made it special was franks description of the geography as well as social, economic and political history of norway. We basically asked him every question under the sun during the leisurely almost full day hike and he was totally accommodating and was clearly very proud of his heritage. beautiful landscape and preservation of it. I would definitely recommend the hike and the flexibility offered makes it a good option for most as long as ypu have a decent fitness level. And bring layers!!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Trek79982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank_NMG, Manager at Norway Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Bergen Classic are like you mention intended for those with a good Fitness Level( If not the tour " On top of Bergen are a better choise) You guys were certainly in a good shape. Thank you so much for great Company!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2019

Beautiful local hike in Bergen tailored to our wishes (big family, all ages) ! Would definitely recommend !

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Justine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank_NMG, Manager at Norway Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

Great that it was possible to make the hiking feel good for all ages, it was a hard nut for me to find something that could be for your all, but you were all so sporty and fast hikers, so no worries! All the best, Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews