We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Bergen
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
229
26
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
229
26
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canopy room the blue room guest house is cobbled street living room train station residential neighborhood heavy suitcases spent nights a wonderful place to stay few minutes walk washer and dryer historic bryggen first floor bed was very comfortable location is fantastic main attractions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 257 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2015

Great location. Only a few minutes walk to catch the airport fly us shuttle that ripens every 15 mins. Very close to a co op. Beautiful, quaint street. Met by co owner Yvonne who was lovely. We stayed n the loft room I which was very spacious. It had a good sized double, really comfy and another two singles. Up two flights of stairs so you have to be careful when coming down. Staircase is pretty steep. It's a very nice guesthouse all in all. Great cleanliness and perfect shower with v hot water immediately accessible. Freedom to use living room, watch TV, well stocked kitchen too. Only wish they had a small tumble dryer simply because we got soaked by rain every day and couldn't dry clothes for next day properly. If we returned to Bergen we'd definitely stay there again. All in all, a very enjoyable stay. We opted for room only.

Date of stay: October 2015
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2015

This little guesthouse is superb and spotlessly clean. Comfy beds, nice lounge and a small kitchen. It is in an area of historic wooden houses but close enough to the city to walk easily. Nothing is cheap in Bergen but this place is excellent value. We met both the owners and they were charming and a great source of local information.

Room tip: Loft room would be quieter due to the wooden floors
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GreyNomad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2015

I stayed in the blue room for 3 nights in July. The booking process was very smooth. I booked with Yvonne who speaks excellent English. She ascertained that I was travelling Oslo to Bergen by train and picked me up from the train station. Yvonne is a very kind and helpful host. The accommodation is an old wood house behind the Byggen. There are three simply but beautifully furnished bedrooms. There is a lounge, dining room and kitchen. Yvonne is happy for guests to use the kitchen and cook their own evening meals. Breakfast consists of fish, meats, cheeses and cooked eggs.. I shared a bathroom with a couple in the other bedroom but this was not a problem. The guesthouse is excellently situated with two supermarkets nearby. When I was here the night never truly got dark, so I recommend you take an eye mask.

I wish I owned this place ! !! I shall definetly be back. Highly recommended !!!

Room tip: They are all lovely.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Angela075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2015

We stayed in the Loft apartment for 2 nights and could not have been happier! Renate greeted us upon arrival and was delightful!. She showed us to the loft, where 4 adults shared the room. The beds were beyond comfortable and cozy, updated bathroom with excellent shower, Nespresso and tea available in the room and natural light pouring in with our own balcony.
The next morning we came down to an abundant breakfast spread that more and filled us past lunchtime. It was all delicious! Upon our departure, Renate helped us order a taxi to the ferry terminal and she could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Having stayed in many B&Bs throughout Europe, this one stands out as amazing!

Room tip: The top Loft room was quiet and private, very lovely!
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JBHBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2015

We booked To Sostre on the basis of these reviews and found it as pleasant and accommodating as everyone has mentioned. It felt like home. It is steps from the newly-reopened (after years of renovations) St. Mary's Church and 5-7 minutes from the Hanseatic Wharf. Dining is close at hand and the sisters offer their suggestions in a handout in each room. One previous reviewer said parking is not convenient, but that it incorrect, as a single level indoor city parking lot (175 NOK for 24 hours) can be found a one minute walk to the west. We really had a great stay in a great property and recommend To Sostre without hesitation.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CasaRoscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews