We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all agreed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
To Sostre Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 19 Bergen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We fully agree with previous reviewers. The place was great, the girls so warm and helpful, and kind. We couldn, t fault it, and its close proximity to the centre is a big plus, also close by the bus stop for the airport. Well done Renate and Yvonne.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayjenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I spent our 1st wedding anniversary here and it was truly magical. Renate was so warm and welcoming that I felt sad to leave at the end of our stay. The shared bathroom was not a problem at all, in fact, it was the cleanest, freshest-smelling bathroom i've ever visited with a power shower to die for. Breakfast was divine with homemade museli, gorgeous melon, wonderful fresh bread and cold meats and cheeses. And best bit of all is that you're less than 5 mins walk from the fishmarket in the centre of town. You will not regret booking this place. In fact, you will fall in love with it like we did. Book it now.

Room Tip: We had the canopy room and we both agreed it had the comfiest bed ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shania941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We rented the little apartment in the To Sostre Guesthouse while in Bergen for a few days. Renting this apartment was the best decision that we could of made! It was very comfortable and lovely to stay in for my husband, teen-aged son, and myself. The apartment was very clean and at a great location. We had to supply our own food, but there were 2 grocery stores right around the corner. Yvonne was very helpful at giving us directions to the sites, as well as a cool record store for my son. She also allowed us to use her phone to call a friend in Oslo as well as our next destination. Staying at the To Sostre Apartment made us feel like this was our little apartment in Bergen. We felt like this was our home! The To Sostre Guesthouse is highly recommended! I would love to stay in one of the rooms when it's just my husband and myself travelling. Looking forward to staying here again sometime soon in the future!

Room Tip: Apartment has 1 bedroom, perfect for a small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I agree with all of the great reviews here. Yvonne was a wonderful hostess, patient and helpful with our plans to visit the fjord area. The B&B is super clean, breakfast is wonderful, and you can't beat the location. Coffee and tea in the room was really nice. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank suzQ000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Renate was great! There was a group of four of us from the States and we stayed for the week. Being able to use the tv room and kitchen was such a comfort after a long day's adventure. Loved the bright, cheery loft. I'm so glad I took a chance on staying here, in a cozy, welcoming, and friendly place instead of an impersonal hotel. It was so wonderful to talk to Renate about local stuff and Norway. She and her husband made such a beautiful couple on Constitution Day. Her bunad was stunning! This place is close to everything. Do not hesitate to stay here! Breakfast was fantastic, too!! Hope to come back one day with my family! Thanks, Renate!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Thank you for a brilliant place with brilliant personal! The room was beautiful and the breakfast delicious. I wish I could stay longer, but we have already booked for next year! Extremely recommendable! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IngunnSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A fabulous property just up the hill from the city centre. A great location to reach all the sites. Property is wonderful and you have full use of the kitchen and common rooms. Beds are comfy, bathroom modern and everything is sparkling clean. The area has many shops and restaurants and an easy walk to public transportation. Wifi is fast and reliable, and included. Breakfast is delicious and tailored to your tastes, whether eggs and toast or a light yogurt and muesli. Our host, Yvonne, speaks perfect English, and is very helpful for recommendations about what to see, where to eat, etc.. Definitely the place to stay in Bergen.

Room Tip: Blue room and canopy room are up one flight of winding stairs, and share a common bath. The loft roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 49 in Bergen
950 reviews
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#15 of 49 in Bergen
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to To Sostre Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about To Sostre Guesthouse

Address: Nedre Stoelen 4 C, Bergen 5003, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bergen
Price Range: $97 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — To Sostre Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in October 2009, To Sostre ("Two Sisters") is a charming family run guesthouse situated in the historic centre of Bergen. This traditional wooden house lies in a quiet, cobbled street and is just a short walk (5min) from the city’s historic water front and UNESCO world heritage site – "Bryggen." We offer comfortable rooms and a family suite, with a wholesome breakfast, including homemade breads and local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your To Sostre Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
To Sostre Guesthouse Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing