We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made us feel special”
Review of Spisekroken

Spisekroken
Ranked #5 of 375 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Norwegian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vågen
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Made us feel special”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We celebrated a birthday at this wonderful restaurant. My sister made the reservations in the states and mentioned my low-sodium requirements in the comment section. Not only did the server and chef pay close attention to my meal, making wonderful substitutions, but they also paid great attention to the birthday celebration. We loved this place! Food was excellent, atmosphere is charming and service was gracious and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    184
    47
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
167 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A gem in Bergen”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I booked this restaurant knowing that I would most likely propose to my girlfriend prior to dinner. The meals are at a fine dining level similar to what we are used to in Copenhagen, and although being a little more expensive, they represent true value for money in this crazily expensive country. The dishes are primarily Norwegian flavours (wild meats, fish) but are well presented and tasty - I got the Veal. The service was great, and the waitresses were able to explain the menu in English with no problems. The wine was reasonable, and believe it or not they had the cheapest pint of Calrsberg we saw the whole weekend in Norway (70NOK). The restaurant is in a genuine and non-tourist area on the hill overlooking Bergen's harbour. All in all, if you come to Bergen you must go to this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MylosReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy and nice restaurant with good food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

You must reserve a table in advance, but if you get in early you might be lucky anyway.
However, the chances are few that you are able to get a table in this restaurant unless you book in advance.
The restaurant is nice, cozy, small and intimate, and they have around 7 tables both upstairs and downstairs.
The service was good, and the Italian recommended wine was very good.
The main course was very tasty.
The first courses were also good, but too small, not very hot nor extremely tasty, even though the recipe/mix of ingredients was quite good.
The desserts might be more impressive (but we did not try that because they did not have any options that were both free from gluten and milk).

Altogether this is a place to try in Bergen.
Just remember to reserve a table unless you are a person of luck!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady83_SouthNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent ages trying to find this restaurant as it was Number 1 at the time on trip advisor and we usually find that it lives up to expectations. On this occasion sadly it did not score an excellent for us which was disappointing. To note there was only one waitress I mentioned in an earlier review too ) who was doing her best but very rushed and sadly did not have the time to go through the flavours of what we where eating as highlighted by others. Maybe the chef was overwhelmed too on this occasion ?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annyalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We called into this place on a Tuesday night after walking past a couple of times during a weeks holiday. It was fully booked but the waitress asked if we could come back in 1 hour, so after a great cocktail in No Stress (also fab) we headed back and had an absolutely lovely meal, all three courses were yummy and the waitress took the time to explain every detail. The cost was actually ok and no more than you would pay in good restaurants in the UK. If you are in Bergen and want a treat, this is your place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kempo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spisekroken also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Spisekroken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing