We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
87
25
18
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
87
25
18
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small lounge area newly renovated hotel first floor our room was spacious hotel experience lobby bar ground floor breakfast buffet hotel is perfect bergen city salmon few minutes walk great breakfast within walking distance yogurt fish market reception
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 140 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2019

From the moment we stepped from the taxi after our cruise, to be greeted by a most engaging smile from the young woman who took charge of our luggage and escorted us to Reception on the 3rd floor, we knew we were in a good place.
It was extraordinary to see how much the staff enjoyed dealing with their customers. We felt welcomed, as if we were the only guests they had seen in days. No query was treated with the special kind of weary patience sometimes reserved for seniors, but with a certain sparkle.
Our room on the 8th floor was spacious and comfortable, with a suspended rattan chair from which to view the pedestrianised square outside through the floor to ceiling windows.
As we wheeled our luggage out the following morning, the Housekeeping Manager appeared as if by magic and smilingly took over our bags and qaccompanied us to check out. We waited quietly in the lounge with our books and iPads for our late afternoon flight and were regularly plied with offers of tea, water, cappuccinos, as well as small gifts of confectionery and their special coffee beans, all delivered with enthusiasm and charm.
It’s as if the staff are sprinkled with stardust every morning (this is the land of legends, after all) - or else, they have a brilliant staff training programme. Professional charm is to be expected in top end hotels, but this was so much more. In 60 years of globe-trotting we have not experienced anything like it.
And I haven’t even started on the delicious food and the stunning decor........

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanzuky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorgeByScandic, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Norge by Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Dear Sanzuky,
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review Hotel Norge by Scandic! Happy guests like yourself is the reason why we go to work every day, so your lovely description of our helpful and smiling staff is highly appreciated. Thank you! We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, the food and decor.
Hope to you again soon!
Best regards,
Maren and the rest of the Hotel Norge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

I went there for food and drinks with my family and we enjoyed ourselves very much. The cocktails served were refreshing and new, and the food was very good. However the kitchen seemed to have been pressured because not all the plates were equal even though we ordered the same.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank synn_ves2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorgeByScandic, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Norge by Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hotel Norge by Scandic!
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere, drinks and food at our bar.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Maren & the Hotel Norge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

Aloha! What a fantastic stay we had at Hotel Norge! Staff, everybody, were super friendly! The room #1027 had great panorama to city of Bergen. We loved it!
In the morning, restaurant had fantastic breakfast to offer, starting with herrings all the way to great cheese.
The restaurant in first floor had great,super fresh and tasty food to offer, staff was great and friendly.
We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Norge. See you soon again!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank skirmantasj2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorgeByScandic, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Norge by Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Norge by Scandic! We are so happy to hear that you found the staff friendly, and that you enjoyed the view from your room and our delicious breakfast. Also very happy to hear that you paid Café Norge a visit, and enjoyed the food there as well.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best regards,
Maren and the Hotel Norge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019

Everything about our stay was fantastic and the Hotel Norge staff was simply incredible. Mr. Hansen, the concierge, and Mattis at check-in are especially memorable, but all of the associates at this property were courteous, friendly, and helpful.The hotel is centrally located and everything is within walking distance. Rooms were very nice and had some interesting twists that you don't see in the US. We loved them!! Will say there again and recommend that you do. Great experience.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkertrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorgeByScandic, Manager at Hotel Norge by Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Dear sir,

Thank you for your kind review! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip!

Best regards,
Mia & The Hotel Norge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2019 via mobile

I had the great pleasure of staying at Hotel Norge for a short business layover in Bergen. The staff was very forthcoming, and really delivered on their service value proposition. The employees were kind, smiling, and also managed to give a personal touch to it all.
Rarely have I felt the same kind of service level in a Norwegian hospitality environment. I hope to be back in the near future.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank MagnusBotnedal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorgeByScandic, Manager at Hotel Norge by Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2019

Dear Magnus,

Thank you for your kind review! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip!

Best regards,
Mia & The Hotel Norge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews