We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveler rating
114
13
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
114
13
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sized walk in shower fantastic bed awesome hotel cod nespresso machine viking cruise edvard grieg amazing breakfast visiting bergen historic building breakfast buffet quiet room nice bathroom location is great comfortable hotel star hotel rooms are small
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 132 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2019

My positive experience with this hotel started with arriving at the reception; all staff is very service minded, the rooms and all details within them have high standard, and the hotel comes across as luxurious but still with affordable prices. It is located in the center of Bergen with walking distance to central places to visit such as the seafood market and the Fløibanen funicular. I can really recommend this hotel to both business travelers and for people visiting Bergen as tourists.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArneSolheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMG14, Owner at Opus XVI, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Dear valued guest

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback from your recent stay at Opus XVI, we are thrilled to read you had a wonderful stay with us.

We do hope you will find time to visit us again in the near future, we are looking forward welcoming you back.

Sincerely
Britt & Alexander Grieg with colleagues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

We had a great stay here, one we thoroughly enjoyed. Room was great, shower was great, breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly. Will certainly return here should we visit Bergen again. Thanks!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Paradigm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMG14, Owner at Opus XVI, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear valued guests

Thank you for taking time reviewing Opus XVI after your recent stay, we are truly pleased to read you enjoyed our hotel.
Your feedback is hugely encouraging for the team, and we are looking forward sharing your lovely comments with our colleagues.
We hope you will find time to visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Britt & Alexander Grieg with colleagues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019 via mobile

Opus XVI is a really nice hotel to stay in. The receptionists are friendly and welcoming and gives you a strong first impression. Our room was delicate and nice with a fantastic bed, nearly worth the stay alone. Nice bathroom with delicate white tiles and two good shower options. Nespresso machine in the room is always good. Just in the middle of Bergen, very easy access to Fisketorget, Torgalmenningen, Lungegårdsvannet, Bryggen and all shops. Excellent quiet location. Breakfast buffet was impressive with lots of fresh fruits and fresh juices. Wide choice of spreads. Very well done. The waiters need a bit more professionalism and this hotel would get a 5 buttons score from me. Highly recommendable place to stay in Bergen.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank EricSteira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMG14, Owner at Opus XVI, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2019

Dear valued guest

Thank you for taking time writing such a wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at Opus XVI. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your visit, from our colleagues service, bedcomfort, location and our Opus XVI breakfast. We are continously working for improvement, thank you for letting us know how you experienced your stay with us.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Britt & Alexander Grieg with colleagues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

As Bergen was the final destination of our Viking cruise, it was great to be able to spend a couple of days on our own to explore the town, First on our list was to check into our Hotel. What a surprise Opus XVI was; a hotel where you are treated as a member of family.

Centrally located within the main square, the renovated former bank provides luxurious accomodation and sumptuos food. The beds ! What can I say except they are remarkable. Large, comfortable with great pillows. The room has plenty of space (deluxe) with windows that you can open or air-conditioning/heating should you need it. Bathroom has a bath and a large shower (seperate), plenty of room and great quality towels and hairdryer. Tea and coffee making facilities are also within the room. The breakfast was great with an extensive array of offerings. If you want to venture out for diner, all you need to do is walk around the corner and you have a number of options available. The hotel is about 20 minutes walk to the railway station (at the most). Bergen is easy to navigate and the Opus XVI is a must to stay.

Room tip: Ask for a room that faces the courtyard.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susanmaryclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMG14, Owner at Opus XVI, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Dear valued guests

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to OPus XVI, we are so thrilled to hear that overall you enjoyed a fantastic stay.
It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed so many aspects of the property, from a delicious breakfast meal to comfort in our rooms.

We will certainly share your kind feedback with the wider team and we do hope it won't be long before we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Britt & Alexander Grieg with colleagues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

The bed is extremely comfortable. The breakfast is more than anyone could want. The staff are informed and very friendly and helpful. The location is central right in the middle of everything. I highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sstilwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMG14, Owner at Opus XVI, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Dear amazing guest!

It is a pleasure to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at Opus XVI. We are delighted to understand that you enjoyed everything from the bed, the delicious breakfast and service from our colleagues.

We will certainly share your feedback with the team and we hope it won't be long before we can welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Britt & Alexander Grieg with colleagues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews