We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marilyn R
San Clemente, California, United States

Charming hotel in a great location; walk to harbor, sites

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 10, 2019
We loved this very charming hotel! Very good rooms & beds, though some rooms are quite small. The staff was helpful & cheerful. They serve REAL and excellent breakfasts AND it is CLOSE TO HARBOR & OTHER SITES....we could walk & explore so many wonderful sites.
Date of stay: May 2019
Room Tip: Ask for a larger room. I.E. we had a lovely room with a view.
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JanPetterE5, General Manager at Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted, responded to this review
Responded Jun 11, 2019
Dear Marilyn, thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback as your feedback is extremely important to us. It is great to read your positive comments about the hotel, helpful staff, breakfast and location. We'd love to welcome you back again soon. All the best and krgds Bergen Harbour Hotel Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$307
  • Expedia.com
    $294
  • Vio.com
    $274
  • Hotels.com
    $294
0.1 miles from Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$205
  • Expedia.com
    $204
  • Vio.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
    $204
0.1 miles from Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$233
  • Hotels.com
    $222
  • Strawberry Hotels
    $253
  • Expedia.com
    $222
0.2 miles from Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$162
  • Strawberry Hotels
    $202
  • Algotels
    $150
  • Expedia.com
    $185
0.3 miles from Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$156
  • Booking.com
    $139
  • Lol.travel
    $128
  • Expedia.com
    $139
0.6 miles from Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$175
  • Strawberry Hotels
    $198
  • Lol.travel
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $174
0.2 miles from Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$273
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $272
  • Priceline
    $273
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $273
0.2 miles from Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$128
  • Strawberry Hotels
    $145
  • Lol.travel
    $124
  • Expedia.com
    $127
0.4 miles from Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$116
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $116
  • Hotels.com
    $116
  • Priceline
    $116
0.6 miles from Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted
Free Wifi
$448
  • Official Site
    $510
  • Vio.com
    $398
  • Expedia.com
    $496
0.2 miles from Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bergen
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
66
49
16
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
66
49
16
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish market great location an extra pillow minute walk from the harbour small hotel great breakfast reception staff walking distance street noise lovely hotel would definitely stay here again central location edward shower casting bryggen norway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 153 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2019

The hotel is modern, people are friendly, but this is honestly the smallest hotel room I have ever lived in. And it wasn't cheap, either.

The room is very modern and very clean. I might have wanted a bit more variety for the breakfast.

Don't know if I would come again, at this room size vs. price.

Room tip: Check the room square meters before booking. 9 sqmeters is *very* small.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainer1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JanPetterE5, General Manager at Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Dear Rainer, thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback as your feedback is extremely important to us. It is great to read your positive comments about the hotel, cleanliness and friendly staff. We have different room categories which we hope we can show you upon your next visit to Bergen. Krgds Bergen Harbour Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

My large family booked 5 rooms for a weekend at the Bergen Harbor Hotel and we could not have picked a more perfect hotel. It is small, so the level of service was spectacular and we felt as if we were the only guests in the hotel. Edward was so warm and friendly, making us feel like we were staying in his own home. He helped us with everything we needed from booking a cab to the train in Arna, setting us up with a crib for a baby and supplying the “big” wine glasses to drink our red wine from as we joked that it makes every wine more enjoyable. The hotel is right in the middle of the action, yet one block off on a side street so it is cozy and quiet enough. The bonus is the small bar that you can decompress at after a long day of sightseeing, which is perfect for a group or two. You are always welcomed with a smile and can do attitude. The beds are comfortable and rooms while small as every room in Europe is, were high functioning and freshly designed. It was our favorite accommodations in our top to bottom journey through Norway. Highest of recommendations and thank you Edward for going above and beyond for our nutty bunch of travelers from the UK, USA and Denmark.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Bossapplesauce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JanPetterE5, General Manager at Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Dear Ashley, thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback as your feedback is extremely important to us. It is great to read your positive comments about the hotel, location, comfy beds and friendly staff. We will for sure share your nice comments with Edward and the rest of the team. We'd love to welcome you back again soon. All the best and krgds Bergen Harbour Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Bergen Habour Hotel 11-12 May 2019. The hotel has a great location right in the center of Bergen. The fish market is a stone's throw away from the hotel.
The room, 805, we stayed in was with a unique view. Of course spotlessly clean, nice service. We will gladly come back and highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank PeterAnkerMoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JanPetterE5, General Manager at Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2019

Dear Peter,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback as your feedback is extremely important to us. It is great to read your positive comments about the hotel, location, view, service and cleanliness. We'd love to welcome you back again soon. All the best and krgds Bergen Harbour Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Despite arrived quite late due to delays in my flights, the welcome was very nice and the check-in very swift. The room, standard with Queen bed, was small but very cosy and nicely decorated. Good shower with floor heating.
Stayed here for 3 nights centrally located and near Bergen Havn (+/- 300m)
Breakfast, which is served from 07.00 to 09.30 (weekdays), is good, but limited, and served in the Belgio Gastro pub.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 208erwinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JanPetterE5, General Manager at Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Dear Erwin, thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback as your feedback is extremely important to us. It is great to read your positive comments about the hotel, nice welcome, location, cosy room, and breakfast. We'd love to welcome you back again soon. All the best and krgds Bergen Harbour Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated for exploring the historic parts of this beautiful city. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the bedding exceptionally comfortable and the breakfast (included in the room-rate) offers a wide selection of delicious fresh food. All this at a very competitive local price.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with VisitNorway.com
Thank markcC9891AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JanPetterE5, General Manager at Bergen Harbour Hotel, WorldHotels Crafted, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Dear Mark, thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback as your feedback is extremely important to us. It is great to read your positive comments about the hotel, location, comfy bedding, breakfast, and friendly staff. We'd love to welcome you back again soon. All the best and krgds Bergen Harbour Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews