We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“QUEEN ELIZABETH Fjords and Waterfalls” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fjord Tours

Fjord Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Choose Fjord Tours for great deals on vacations in Norway!Book fjords tours, hotels and exciting activities - all in one package! We offer a wide range of tours exploring some of the most popular tourist routes across this spectacular country. Whether you’re planning a long holiday in Norway or just a short break, let Fjord Tours be your expert guide - all year round. Fjord Tours combines beautiful fjord cruises with spectacular train and bus journeys. Enjoy a daytrip or a longer trip with stops in fairytale villages along the way. And thanks to the currently favorable exchange rates - there's never been a better time to visit Norway!
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“QUEEN ELIZABETH Fjords and Waterfalls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just spent 7 nights cruising on Queen Elizabeth too the Norwegian Fjords.What a joy,this was a first for my wife and I. Primarily we were very pleased that we were not the youngest on board,(63) A stunning vessel built in 2010 to a very high spec.
We found the trip via the Mail on Sunday a Getaway deal,and what a deal we seem to have had,very much cheaper than others we spoke to,for a balcony cabin with no restrictions.
We chose the "wine deal" for our dinner drinks and it was a cheaper option,drinks are expensive with 15% on top,good wines though.
We booked two excursions ashore which we enjoyed,non strenuous,good value,think we made the right chose with these as the weather was iffy.Be warned,this is a VERY wet country and even in August on a lake launch or up a mountain it was pretty darn chilly.
Take wet and cold weather clothes when ever you go.
In brief,this was a superb trip on a fabulous ship with unbeatable service and food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank PAW400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    55
    22
    6
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quick catamaran - not really the best for sightseeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went on the express boat Vingtor from Bergen Strandkaiterminal to Aurlandsvangen in the Sognefjord - and back the next day. Each way is about 5 - 5.5 hours. The catamaran is comfortable, spacious and seems very new. It can be hard to get window seats unless you are close to the front of the queue - and forget it if you board the boat on one of it's (few) stops in between Bergen and Flåm!

Getting to the outside deck proved a little difficult at first as it's not well marked. You have to go up the stairs just before the kiosk, on the right, as you face the front of the boat, and then turn left and got to the back of the upper cabin. There is also another door opposite the entrance door that goes to a small outside lower deck, but it's very noisy as it's right by the engine - usually less busy for photos though! The upper deck has only a few benches to sit on - so it's not very comfortable and it can be hard to find a space to sit anyway. It's also very windy up there (the boat can speed along at over 30 knots) - this makes it quite cold, even on a nice summers day, so bring a jacket with a secure hood! You can also access the front of the boat through a door at the front left of the upper cabin - but beware, the wind is enough to knock you over when it's going full speed - though the view is special, it's hard to enjoy it for more than a few minutes before you have to go inside.

The food is quite good - try the lefse! It's not cheap, but nor is it extortionate.

The ride is pretty smooth for the most part - it was only when crossing the (very infrequent) wake of other fast boats did it feel 'at sea' - good for people who are prone to seasickness!

Overall, the views are pretty stunning - especially as you get deeper into the fjord - but seem far away, as the Sognefjord is very wide and the boat basically travels up the middle. It's not really a sightseeing boat, but it's not really meant to be. It's an express boat to get you to and from various spots in the fjord where you can really experience the beauty of the area. If this is to be your only experience of the fjord, I would say it's best to take another cruise on one of the smaller, slower ferries, or spend a night or two somewhere in the fjord.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Go for it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went on the Rodne to Modelen - a four hour tour. Just beautiful. Boat was small and fast - not crowded. Plenty of room upstairs and down. The captain was very knowledgeable and polite - let us visit the bridge. Friendly staff. Modelen special and pretty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BobField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico city
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sognefjord in a Nutshell Tour - Simply awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Bergen a little more then two days and this 12 hour tour was absolutely incredible. We left Bergen by train in the morning, be at the station 30' earlier to secure seats since it can get a little crowded. Landscapes were beautiful! After changing trains you will reach Flåm, where you will stay for around three hours, you can have lunch over there and walk around a very nice area.
The best part of the whole tour was the boat one. It took five hours in a very comfortable powerboat to reach Bergen, the fjord is gorgeous, have your camera ready, you won't stop using it. We had quite a variable weather, sun, clouds, rain, thunderstorms, nothing affected the experience.
Absolutely fantastic, I totally recommend it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Pec0sBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
155 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good option to visit Norway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our tours - for Gudvangen and Lysefjord - worked well. The second, operated by Norled company, was perfect. The first one, although worked correctly, wasn´t supported by people of Fjord Tours on the sites, only a sympathic girl on the Flam station, who gave just the information about the scheduled time for the boat to depart. But everything that I payed was correctly served and the service desk always answered my previous doubts via e-mail perfectly, according to what was offered. I strongly recommend these booking as, unfortunately, although is a wonderful place, Norway is extremelly expensive and some surprises may occur in your credit card bill after vacations...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gljamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fjord Tours also viewed

 
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Fjord Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing