We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice little guest house”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Skiven Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skiven Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 22 Bergen B&B and Inns
Mougins
Level Contributor
302 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very nice little guest house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was the first place we have stayed in with a kitchen to do our own cooking ,which was brilliant as we found Norway very expensive ,so we were able to prepare all our meals .Our room was very nice and airy and sharing a bathroom was no problem ,it was just opposite our room. The location was great ,in the old part with character but just a short walk to the harbour.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at Skiven Guesthouse for 7 nights and that place positively surprised us.
The guesthouse has good location, only few minutes walk to the harbour, Bryggen, city centre etc. The house is on small hill, in a nice area with a lot of beautiful, old houses. There are 4 rooms on the main floor, a shared bathroom (shower) and separate toilet. The shared kitchen is well equipped (a lot of dishes, pots, coffee machine), so there is possible to prepare any meal you want. We can also enjoy tea and coffee which were provided by the hosts. Whole house is clean and the owner - Elisabeth is very kind person, cares for it all the time.
Our room was quite big, clean and nice. There is also cable internet connection available (included in price), so if you bring your own laptop you can access to the Internet.
We can recommend this gusethouse definitely. If we visit Bergen again, we will be glad to stay in Skiven Gusethouse again.
Kind regards :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLF8380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed at Skiven for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay.

As you probably know if you are reading this, Bergen is a VERY expensive city to stay in. However, this guesthouse is very reasonably priced (600Kr a night when I stayed) and having access to a kitchen also means you dont have to pay 200Kr+ for a pizza!

Rooms are basic (no TV, shared bathroom) but fairly large and clean. There is WiFi which was a little tempramental when we were there, but I didnt expect it to have any so was a bonus

Around an 8-10 minute walk to the harbour, funicular etc

Would definitely recommend to others

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheesemason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We liked it here very much as it is good value for expensive Bergen. There is a kitchen to make meals and the room we had was a great size. The hosts live separately upstairs so it is no problem to come and go as you please. The location is also very convenient to town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank zodiac6573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Skiven Guesthouse for 5 nights. I had a conference at the close by Hotel Grand Terminus (which was expensive and also booked up) so this location was suitable for us.
There was only 1 English review and just a few photos of the property, so I was a bit nervous about staying at this location, but it was a pleasant surprise. The house is on a hillside, and the view from our window was wonderful. We could see the other beautiful houses in the area and the mountains in the background. There are 4 rooms on the main floor with a bathroom/shower and another bathroom, and a small kitchen. The hosts live upstairs. The beds were comfortable and everything was above all, very clean. The host cleans each room every day and makes sure the showers and kitchen are clean and tidy. We enjoyed the heated floor in the shower area. There was never a wait for the shower while we were there. There is a small grocery store in town, about 15 min walk from the house. The closest café would be near the train station, again approx 15 min walk away.
The host (I think her name was Elizabeth) was kind enough to wash a pair of jeans that I had spilled something on at no charge.
I would make two small suggestions for the owners, the first would be to place a heavier blind in the window, as we had a difficult time adjusting to the 20+ hours of daylight in the summer, and add a hook or two in the shower room for guests to use while showering.
Wireless internet is provided at no charge and there was an ethernet cable in our room, which was nice because we brought a laptop.
We were in room 2, which had a window facing out over the hill. This provided a nice view, but there is a path just below this window that is used by many people in the neighborhood, and almost each night I was awakened by drunk kids shouting and talking very loudly just below the window. So I might suggest closing the window.
As for the location, it was good for me, but you should consider that it is about a 15 min walk from the city center. This was no problem for us as we enjoyed walking along the beautiful brick streets and old houses. Also, there are many paths and stairways that are for public use behind the guest house. We found several paths up that eventually led us to join the main path leading to the top of the funicular station. These stairways and paths were one of the most enjoyable parts of our stay and I encourage you to explore the neighborhood using them.
This was one of my first stays at a guest house. Overall it was a great experience and I recommend this one. If we were to stay again, I might look for one with more of a communal space for visiting with other guests, as this is part of the fun of staying in a B&B or guest house.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a view, rooms 1 and 4 face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KipRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

My husband and I stayed in Skiven Guesthouse, which is in the lower part of Fjellsiden (the hillside), of a residential area close to the main station at the beginning of June. A reasonable price for expensive Norway, where we had a beautifully clean bedroom, shared bathroom, and a kitchen for our use. (No breakfast included) The hosts were lovely people and we got to chat with them a few times - they had, as well as most of the Norwegians we spoke to, excellent English, which put us to shame as we only had a few words of Norwegian!! We stayed at Skiven Guesthouse for four nights and couldn't have been happier that we had chosen to stay there. The area where the guesthouse is in is a little hilly, but didn't pose too much of a problem for us. (My husband is 62 and I am 52.) We found Bergen to be a very pretty and lively place. There was an international music festival whilst we were there, too, which added to the atmosphere!

Helpful?
3 Thank jasato56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#7 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skiven Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiven Guesthouse

Property: Skiven Guesthouse
Address: Skivebakken 17, Bergen 5018, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bergen
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing