We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, pretty good hotel”
Review of Scandic Solsiden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Solsiden
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Just been staying here for business. Location is good, rooms are quite good and service was above normal. Some issues with the wireless, but this was solved quite effectively by calling the reception.
Clean rooms, except the bathtub, good bed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krissv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 471 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have stayed in Scandic Solsiden three times now and have been to a lot of other hotelrooms from other chains in Norway aswell. The quality of the room and the bed in Scandic Solsiden still is the best I have encountered as business traveller in Norway. Breakfast and lunch buffet are average qualitywise although they serve some different (asian fusion) dishes at lunch.

The room has a very good bed (mattress is not too soft), a desk with chair, a comfortable chair to watch the (big) tv in or to read a book, a mini fridge, a closet and a bathroom with big, wide bath with shower screen. Big enough and comfortable for 1 person or 2 persons who will not be in their room a lot.

Conference room was okay, but no daylight and a bit small.

The location is great. In the city centre. Next to a mall and close to the waterfront with restaurants and cafe's. You can easily walk to the tourist attractions.

I hope to stay in Scandic Solsiden again when I go back to Trondheim.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inge_Marlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Not worth the money charged and there are better hotels in the same price bracket within walking distance. Only tried this on as they were full. Next time I'd delay my trip, rather than stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinneff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Located within 20 minutes walk from the city center and Nidaros Cathedral, it is actually next door to the big shopping mall and lots of restaurants in the area of the old Trondheim port.
Underground parking with an elevator to hotel rooms.
Family room was fine but more space wouldn't be bad.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_RU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

As a lone female on a business stay,this hotel is perfect. Non-threatening due to friendly staff&good attention to security. The bar/restaurant is set out in a way that makes solo travellers feel at ease&free wifi is a definite plus.
Beds extremely comfortable&bathroom clean with powerful shower.
Food good,especially the vast breakfast menu.
Location good too,in all,a great hotel with a homely feel.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cru22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This is a standard hotel in Trondheim located just off the city center. The hotel is nice and modern with standard features and amenities. There is no restaurant in the evening and they only have a standard bar menu available. The staff are very friendly and helpful although I do feel it is overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eblac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Trondheim is a wonderful place. We were there on a summer day, and just loved it. The hotel is situated not far from the centre. About 10 minutes on foot. Directly opposite is a renovated harbour site with restaurants and terraces where yound and old enjoy their drinks.
The room was a bit on the small side, and again, here too there was no wardrobe. Had to live out of the suitcase for two days and nights. Strange.
Breakfast on the other hand was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hebbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
968 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scandic Lerkendal
Scandic Lerkendal
#11 of 25 in Trondheim
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Solsiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Solsiden

Address: Beddingen 1, Trondheim 7042, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Trondheim
#12 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range: $107 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Solsiden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scandic Solsiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Solsiden Trondheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing