We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveler rating
134
267
112
32
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
267
112
32
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelshopping centrelarge grocery storemodern buildinghandy locationrestaurants and barsairport busan ironcomfortable stayhotel breakfastthe riverbreakfast buffet was goodwalking distancenice bathroomhotel is locatedparking garagelocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 555 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Trondheim is a wonderful place. We were there on a summer day, and just loved it. The hotel is situated not far from the centre. About 10 minutes on foot. Directly opposite is a renovated harbour site with restaurants and terraces where yound and old enjoy their drinks.
The room was a bit on the small side, and again, here too there was no wardrobe. Had to live out of the suitcase for two days and nights. Strange.
Breakfast on the other hand was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hebbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Clean, modern and relatively Eco conscious. Park in multi storey next door - basement level has connecting door to hotel. Ring bell or use your key card when you get it. Everything efficient including free wireless, shower, fast lift etc. Breakfast ok. 10 minute walk to town centre. Shopping centre right next door to hotel. All in all good stay - could be anywhere but alll goooood! Ate at sushi just outside front door. Very nice and not too expensive by Norwegian standards.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarveysAunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

I've stayed here once or twice before. It wasn't my favourite Scandic in town - now it's the only one! It's a nice modern building but it feels cramped with its tiny reception and bar area to its broom cupboard size room. Mine was pre-booked and pre-paid for the best deal. This also meant the smallest too. It was even smaller than my previous night's stay in a Scandic in Oslo.
My view was straight into the windows of an appartent block. Hmm.
The mini bar was empty with a notice about the lobby shop on the door. It didn't stop it intermittently humming all night as it was still plugged in and cooling. The sandwich I bought with a drink from the lobby shop was in date but dry and stale already!
Next morning breakfast was great as always. As was the free WiFi, one of the best things Scandic do for business travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This hotel is in a great location next to the Solsiden shopping center, the first stop of the airport bus (Flybus). If you need groceries or anything, shops and restaurants are right next door. Three more grocery stores and two bakeries are within two blocks, across the street and up the hill, on the way to the fort.

Our room overlooked the beautiful breakfast atrium where we had a wonderful Scandinavian breakfast the next morning. I was initially concerned that we would be awakened early by clicking glasses and other noise from the breakfast preparations, but our room was as quiet as could be. The beds were extremely comfortable, so the perfect combination of quiet and comfort provided the best night's sleep we had in Scandinavia.

The buffet breakfast included artisan breads such as cranberry-walnut and carrot pumkin seed, fried eggs, bacon, crepes, yogurt drink, ham, and cheeses. There were also scrambled eggs and potatoes, but these were cold, as if someone had forgotten to turn on the warming table.

The hotel was also in a good location to see the sights. We initially headed up the hill to the fort to get a view of the city. I recommend stopping at a bakery on the way to get a sandwich for a picnic at the fort, where you can enjoy a beautiful view of the city, the river, the bay, and the hills beyond. From the fort, we got our bearings and proceeded to walk down the hill over the historic bridge and along the river to the famous cathedral.

Trondheim and the Scandic Solsiden were so nice, that I would have liked to stay another day (or two or three), but we had already booked a trip on the overnight train to the Arctic circle and sadly had to leave. The train station was a short walk away, along the harbor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

This hotel is outside the main centre of the city in the up and coming slightly trendy ex-harbour district of Solsiden. Having said that it was only 10-15 minutes gentle and pleasant walk to the centre of the city and to the railway station via the pedestrian and cycle track footbridge. Indeed we found the location to be excellent for our purposes and actually preferred it to the location of the city centre hotels. There are a number of restaurants and bars on the waterfront in the immediate vicinity.

As a Scandic chain hotel you know roughly what to expect, and this hotel was a typical business oriented example. However, it is well suited to the leisure guest as well and we had no complaint during our stay there. It is a fairly large hotel and therefore a little impersonal, and while service was fine it lacked the personal touches and there was no real interaction between the staff and the guests except as necessary to function.

Our stay was prepaid through Expedia on a non-refundable basis. In this way we secured excellent rates and this made it extremely good value. A 3 night stay here was very enjoyable. The room was good and very clean, and the breakfast buffet was extensive and well prepared.

We would have welcomed extra pillows, a room safe and tea and coffee-making facilities in our room, but none of these is common in Norway in this class of hotel and these are minor criticisms.

We would happily stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who wants good value and is comfortable in this type of hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvertravelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews