We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hotel!”
Review of Comfort Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Park
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Trondheim
Reviewed July 23, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we got a quiet room with a view to what the receptionist called "an atrium". What we got was a room with a view to a brick wall. We asked for another room and then we got a room that hasn't been renovated for several years. The walls were yellow of nicotine and there were several large holes in the walls. But that wasn't all, the ceiling above the bed was covered in yellow spots, maybe some sort of water-damage? So yet again we asked for another room and then had to wait for three hours untill it was cleaned and ready for us. The room was okay (at least no holes in the walls) though a bit small and smelled like man sweat. We opened the window to get rid of the smell but it continued to be there for our entire stay.
We will not recommend this hotel for anyone! If you want a great hotel in Trondheim then try Rica Bakklandet Hotel (our friend stayed there the same weekend and when we visited her it looked amazing!)

Room Tip: Get a room with a view to the "park" behind the hotel (it really is just a small lawn).
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Maria-Rosa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin N, Front Office Manager at Comfort Hotel Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Maria-Rosa.

Thank you for your review of our hotel, we always want to improve and need feedback from our guests. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We agree that some of our room needs an upgrade and at the end of this year we will start the renovation. We hope to be able to improve the impression you have and hope that you can send us an e-mail at co.park@choice.no so we are able to contact you. Again thank you som much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 475 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had an excellent room at the back of the hotel facing onto a pretty park and beautiful yellow building. The front rooms face onto a busy road so if you like quiet, request a back room with park view. Several rooms face into the building well which is less attractive.

It is easy to get to from the airport or station as the buses pass right in front of the hotel. Easy few minutes walk to the centre of town, the cathedral and other points of interest. The hotel also has bicycles for the use of their guests at no extra cost and if you follow one of the 3 tourist routes marked on the map you will get a good look at the city.

The breakfast was plentiful and the staff very helpful. We were there on a long weekend and nothing was open but the man at reception asked around and found an open supermarket for us.

We we very happy there during our stay in Trondheim and would happily recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking park at the back are quiet and pretty outlook. Rooms overlooking main road would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kleonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

As usual in Norway, the price per night remains quite expansive (> 100€). The hotel is of very good quality -- on the top of it, I was lucky: the hotel was fully booked and I got a large room for the regular price.

Perhaps one criticism: the breakfast buffet is boring. I generally don't appreciate the "sausage and cheese" continental breakfast, and I thus have to rely on coffee, bread and cereals. Very few sorts of bread, no cookies... not interesting at all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel was easy to find, it is in the town centre and right on the airport bus route. Staff very friendly and helpful, all spoke exceptional English (my Norwegian is limited).
Room was basic,small but clean and as I was not spending any time there except for sleeping it was adequate. The quieter rooms are worth asking for as some face onto the main road and are noisy.
Breakfast was OK which consisted of a decent buffet which if you fill up on helps to reduce the cost of eating later in the day.
Overall I would recommend this to people.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Was very impressed with this hotel on our visit to Trondheim at the weekend. I asked for a room away from the main road and was given a comfortable quiet room on the fourth floor. Shower room had underfloor heating which was nice and the shower was very good with a good flow of water at high pressure. Beds were comfortable and my partner and I had a good mights sleep. There is no kettle in the room but this is offset by the fact you can have free hot drinks from the lobby area - tea, coffee, hot chocolate.

There is a buffet breakfast with a hot meal as well as the usual cereals, good range of tasty bread, juices, cold meats, cheeses, hard/soft boiled eggs, frankfurters, sauteed potato, scrambled eggs and more. Great way to set yourself up for the day.

Staff were polite, helpful and efficient. There is also a computer next to the restaurant which you can use for free to access the internet. There is a bar also.

Good location and not far to walk into the centre of Trondheim. Free parking out on the street at the back but only between certain times in the evening until morning but you can buy a daily permit for around ten pounds sterling.

Overall Id recommend this hotel especially as we got a good rate - 3 days for the price of two.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overloking the park at the back or the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntWallop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Breakfast was really nice, room was ok (everything was very clean, desk with chair etc.), Internet was fast. Coffee and tea were complementary in the lobby.

Good business hotel! Close to cathedral and main city square. Room was cleaned every day.

Very nice staff! I have seen 3 different people from the staff (1 man and 2 women) – everybody was very positive and helpful :).

Let me give you the example: when I have ordered a Taxi in the reception desk, taxi was late and nice lady called Taxi company without being asked to check if the Taxi was coming. Simple and costs nothing, but not actually many people in the reception desk will do this without being asked.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula_Januszkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The hotel staff is very sympathetic and helpful. The hotel have some suites with kitchen, what is a good idea considering that going out to eat in Norway is quite expensive. Also some good courtesies like free expresso, tea and hot chocolate 24 hours at the lobby. Just take care with the TV, as film channels are paid: if you do not understand Norwegian, you will be charged later without realize what you were doing. Also a good sauna on the roof. Excelent continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows to Prinsensgate. They are a lit bit noisy in the morning due to the traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 24 in Trondheim
985 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 24 in Trondheim
1,481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 24 in Trondheim
821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Park

Address: Prinsens gate 4A, Trondheim 7012, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#8 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range: $114 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern city hotel in the centre of Trondheim is within walking distance to all places of interest as well as to NTNU Campus Gloshaugen. Select a comfortable room at reasonable rates, and enjoy your Trondheim visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing