We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
Nearby Hotels
Scandic Solsiden(Trondheim)
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$246
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$223
Comfort Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$234
$194
Quality Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Nidelven(Trondheim)
$197
$180
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,392)
Filter reviews
1,392 results
Traveler rating
788
419
123
40
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
788
419
123
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky bartop floorrock museumrooftop restaurantexcellent breakfastcity centreamazing hotelnice viewmodern hotelcruise shiptrain stationbusiness and pleasureomeletbreakfast and lunchfew minutes walkrooms are nicebusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 1,392 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

You expect a new hotel to be so much more. The check-in process was speedy and ok, and the rooms are just fine. But when you start to look into the details the hotel looks worn and a little bit dated.

There is this thing about norwegian hotels and quality. They just never make the cut.

What I didn't like:
* extremely boring bathrooms
* when we asked for the missing shampoo and soap in our room, we were handed the from housekeeping in the hallway (we asked a person we passed in the hallway)
* bad selection in the minibar
* the coolness (or W hotel impression) they try so hard on, just doesn't work

What was good:
* speedy check-in

And I almost forgot the most improtant thing...OVERPRICED...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stig H, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Hi Medinski

Thank you for your staying at our hotel and for your honest review. We always aim to be improve, and will use your feedback to evolve and become better.

Hope to see you again!

Best regards Stig Hillestad, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel, the interior is stunning and the roof top bar just amazing. The staff are beyond helpful, you feel really pampered, especially in the bar. Breakfast is plentiful and good quality there is even a buffet table specially set up for children which is a lovely idea. I would love to return

Room Tip: Try for rooms on the upper levels, the views are incredible
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieAnne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stig H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear ValerieAnne99,

Thank you for your stay, and thank you for taking the time to write this nice review! Welcome back to Clarion Hotel Trondheim.

Best regards
Stig Hillestad, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here with the family in Mid june. My wife was at a conference here, and the staff and service were phenomenal. The hotel has a great view of the fjord, and the rooftop bar and restaurant were amazing. The breakfast buffet had a large amount of herring, salmon and great light blintzes. The city of Trondheim was amazing. I highly recommend the hotel and area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bones57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stig H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Bones57,

Thank you for visiting Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, and thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the service, food and location. Hope to see you again!

Best regards Stig Hillestad, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim has been operational for just one year. In this short period of time, this hotel has become a favourite among new hotels in Trondheim. It is conveniently situated at the Brattøra harbour area, with express boats to the region of Trøndelag and the city of Kristiansund docking near by. Cruise ships to Trondheim are similarly docking just outside the hotel. The coastal express "Hurtigruten" - a favourite means of tansportation for tourists in Western and Northern Norway, is just a short walk away.

This hotel co-operates with a huge congress centre next door and is already recognized as the largest congress hotel in Norway. During the summer months, however, the tourists are the most important guests. And they have the option of a wide variety of activities. In the hotel itself there is the rooftop Astrum bar with probably the best sunset view in Trondheim and a splendid view over the Trondheimsfjord with, amongst others, the fascinating small island of Munkholmen. At the ground floor, the Restaurant Atmosphere is a pleasant place to be for breakfast, with lots of regional specialities from, say, the nearby region of Røros. The staff is attenative and many seem to be worthy candidates of "employee of the month" awards. The staff at the reception desk is keeping up with busy periods in a professional and friendly manner. A detailed request by e-mail to the hotel on the night before our arrival, was promptly and adequately answered by Philip at the reception desk. One of the many Swedish staff working in Norwegian hotels these days.

The Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim has no swimming pool inside the hotel. However, just next door is the "Pirbadet", the largest public swimming pool in Norway, with lots of activities for children. A good selection of saunas as well. Not so stylish as a hotel spa and pool area. But the children will love the "Pirbadet". Entrance fee is 100 kroner for hotel guests, training including sauna is free ! Just ask at the reception desk before heading for the swim.

Another favourite just outside the hotel is the museum "Rockheim", the national museum of Norway for popular music from the 1950's until the present day. A fascinating museum with lots of fascinating surprises to the visitors. The city of Trondheim has of course many other tourist attractions to boast of. Not the least the huge cathredral "Nidarosdomen", the final stop for those pilegrims walking all the way from Santiago de Compostela in Spain through Europe up to Trondheim in Norway.

The hotels rooms are modern and pleasantly furnished. My wife and I had the junior suite 819 which has the size of a flat. Modern bathrooms with all the necessary accessories. The only surprise was that it seemed difficult to get cold water from the tap. There was an abundance of hot water, but sometimes it is important with cold water as well. After all, the best drink in Norway is cold water from the tap, which is perfectly safe to drink in Norway.

This hotel has probably the most elegant hotel lifts in Norway. However, the all-mirror lifts may be less practical when guests with lots of heavy suitcases fill up the lifts. During our stay at this hotel, it was necessary to replace one of the mirror walls in a hotel lift.

A very pleasant and elegant hotel. Recommended to everybody !

Room Tip: Our Junior Suite 819 had a wonderful size with an excellent bathroom. For "fjord view", however, a more standard room is recommended.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank torolav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stig H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear torolav,

Thank you so much for visiting us, and for taking the time to write this nice review! I am so proud of the employees at Clarion Hotel Trondheim. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards Stig Hillestad, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Very nice new hotel just by the water and next to ferry . Very spacios and modern facilities and very clean and on top a 5 star fantastic breakfastbuffet and most surpricing for a cheap price at that in norway where evereything are expensive

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mosa642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stig H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hi mosa642,

Thank you for visiting us and thanks for taking the time to write this nice review! I hope to see you again at Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim.

Best regards, Stig Hillestad, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews