We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room and friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Gildevangen
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice room and friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We arrived very late for our reservation: an airport security strike closed the airport we were traveling out of, so we drove instead, arriving at 5 in the morning. We would only have time for a nap and a needed shower before checkout. The desk staff who greeted us was quite helpful. He extended our checkout without us requesting. When he realized we'd likely be sleeping through breakfast, he offered to box something up for us. (Which they did. It was waiting for us when we did check out.) He helped us with the instructions on the parking meter. Later desk staff were extremely helpful in directing a phone call we received, and even chased us out the door when we received another phone call while we were loading up our car.

The room itself was large and nice, with a queen sized bed, modern shower, and bathrobes - quite different from the Thon we had visited earlier on the trip. I would have liked to stay here for more than just a nap.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slushypipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    167
    89
    24
    5
See reviews for
48
92
42
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
572 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I booked this because most of the other hotels in Trondheim were booked. After a very nice stay at the Thon Hotel Kristiansund, we were expecting another spacious room with amenities such as a bathrobe, slippers and bath items.

The room at this hotel is very small, there are no amenities in the room, and the customers at the bar in the corner of the building were making a lot of noise until close to midnight.

I would recommend NOT booking here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigIsleFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times, and it is always a pleasant experience. Friendly staff at the desk, and the rooms are clean although a bit on the smaller side, perhaps. Relatively quiet area of town, at least in midweek. Free wifi for hotel guests is definitely a good thing, and you can upgrade to better speed for a modest price. Breakfast was OK, not more nor less.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing as they are newly renovated, and choose one that faces north (away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Very centrally located hotel, just a couple of minutes walk from Trondheim train station. The hotel seemed to be newly renovated, stylish decorated and fresh looking rooms. Not a huge sized room but it did the job and a very nice and soft bed ensured a comfortable night. The shower was also near to perfection (water pressure, amount of water etc). The buffet breakfast was "standard hotel", but I missed proper yogurt & muesli - therefore I won't give top marks this time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This hotel, altho poorly marked, was convenient to the train station and the center of town. The front desk was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MerlinSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed one night on a meeting trip and stayed on the 2nd building, which is connected by an overpass. Very clean and quiet. Only 5 minutes walk to the city centre.
The only thing I was disappointed with was the breakfast. They have the regular continental breakfast with cold and warm selection of food. Unfortunately, the warm food are not exactly warm. Cold scramble egg doesn't taste that good.
Other than that, it is a very nice hotel with reasonable price as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anakbabiilang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

As you may have read.. Hotel is close to some bars... I was in 204 and even with my trusted ear plugs I could hear the noise below. Best try somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheshamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.2 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Gildevangen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Gildevangen

Property: Thon Hotel Gildevangen
Address: Soendre gate 22B, Trondheim 7010, Norway (Formerly Tulip Inn Rainbow)
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Gildevangen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Gildevangen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Thon Gildevangen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing