We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Prinsen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thon Hotel Prinsen
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night only on a driving tour up the coast. We found the hotel surrounded by roadworks which made parking an issue, but this was no fault of the hotel, however this took the edge off our stay.
The Egon restaurant was good for meals and breakfast and we found it a convenient stroll to go sight seeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    78
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
32
32
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronnoysund, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A lot of construction work and one way streets made finding the hotel a slight problem but thats not the Hotels' fault. Its situated very central and is close to many points of interest so you would not often be in need of any transportation if you choose to stay here.

We stayed in room 624 (on the 6th floor) and we were 2 adults along with our 4 children. This room is large and for a family. We were delighted with the size and comfort of the bathroom and the bathtub was very confortable to lie in. There were two almost queen sized beds and also a fold-down couch more than adequate for our two youngest chidren and about 140cm wide.

The staff were cheerful, polite and helpful all the way and assisted with parking to the rear of the hotel. A very pleasant experience indeed.

I was very impressed with the breakfast buffet that was served in the neighbouring restaurant "Egon". The times you can eat breakfast are also generous on weekends and open until 10.30 am on a Saturday and 11 am on Sundays. There were smoothies and pastries and all sorts of eggs, bacon, smoked salmon and much much much more. The bread freshly baked and many kind to choose from.

We will definately be back and we will want the same room ! Thank you Prinsen Hotel !

Room Tip: I would guess that there is more ambient noise toward the ground level since you are in downtown Tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business trip. Arrived at midnight on first night, but hotel staff still on hand to offer help. Really pleased with location. Has all the facilities you'd need. Stayed on 5th floor room. Good sized room with large en-suite bathroom, desk and sofa. Restaurant is a Egon, a national chain of pub-style restaurants that offer a good range of meals. Menus available in the widest variety of languages I have ever seen. (7 I believe)

Location is fantastic. Right in the central city district, near to the big Trog shopping mall. Easy walking distance to most sights around the city and in a very convenient location to where the Flybussen coach from the airport stops. The Flybussen service is really very good. Wi-Fi on board 225 NOK return per person. Takes approx 35/40 mins.

I'll certainly stay here again when I return to Trondheim.

BTW - There are at least three Thon hotels in the central area. Be sure that you get the right one. There is one directly across the road from the Flybussen coach stop but it is not the Prinsen. The Prinsen is about 1 min across the road to your right when you get off the Flybussen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Thon Hotel Prinsen is a really nice hotel with a good location in central Trondheim. The hotel is up to date, and the rooms are nice. The breakfast buffet provides what you need as is served in the next door restaurant "Egon". Poor sleep quality was due to the fact that there was a lot of drunk students yelling in the street just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Thon Hotel Prinsen has a good and well equipped conferencing facility.
Friendly staff and spacious rooms and lobby area.

The lunch scores max and gives you the very needed refueling during a conference to keep you focused.

Small technical problem with projector was professinally handled by the conference host and gave us little to no worries.

Room Tip: Nice location close to "everything".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gjardar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
299 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We attended a Christmas party which was held at the Thon Hotel Prinsen. It had been there the previous year too and we expected that it would be nice again. Unfortunately it was pretty disappointing, from the beginning to the end.
The party was supposed to start at 7pm, but instead getting rid of our wardrobe, we had to wait until exactly 7pm to let through to the wardrobe. So suddenly there was a huge amount of people who wanted to do the same, because there Christmas party started at the same time like ours. It took our people very long to get rid of their coats and we started between 8pm and 8.30pm instead of around 7pm. Since we were a quite big group with over 160 people and they didn't have enough waiters, it took them a very long time to serve every one a drink or even take care that every one had a water glass. That wasn't the case last year.
The ones who are vegetarians were supposed, like last year, to get a plate with a vegetarian main dish. -Not this year. They had ordered so and so many vegetarian meals, but no one in the kitchen or of the waiters knew about it and after asking a couple of times, we found out that there wasn't any vegetarian main dish. Which left less than a handful of different items to pick from the very meaty buffet for the ones who don't eat meat nor fish.
After the dinner a band started to play and the people started to wander around, get a drink from the bar and find another seat somewhere in the foyer and start to chat with the others. This year the bar couldn't take the orders, cause there were so many people who wanted a drink. It took you ages to get through, order a drink and pay for it. And then the next obstacle was the missing seats. Last year they had little sofas gathered around knee high tables where people could gather and chat without sitting in the room with loud music. This year they had taken all the sofas away and when we asked if they could open the piano bar, which was a room right next to the foyer, we got the message: nope, it's used as a storage room.
This year the Thon Hotel Prinsen was more interested to make as much money as possible = holding as many Christmas parties as possible at the same time with as few waiters as possible. It was badly organised and for us the last time that we went there. We can't recommend it either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very nice hotel as every Thon hotel I have stayed in Norway. In the middle of town. Nice and healthy breakfast buffet. Clean rooms and friendly service. The room I got was rather small but spotless and quite sufficient. Had a room facing the street but did not have any noise from traffic in the room.
Pretty nice restaurant on the ground floor where breakfast is also served. Recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Dónt think it matters. If facing the street is good then I suspect other rooms would be as sleep com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonaslill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#2 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.5 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Trondheim
Thon Hotel Trondheim
#14 of 25 in Trondheim
3.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Park
Comfort Hotel Park
#9 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Prinsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Prinsen

Property: Thon Hotel Prinsen
Address: Kongens gate 30, Trondheim 7012, Norway (Formerly Prinsen Hotell)
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Prinsen 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Thon Hotel Prinsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsen Hotell Trondheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing