We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A affordable and good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Trondheim
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    133
    106
    35
    12
See reviews for
46
66
67
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norge
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Alright, this hotel is situated VERY central in Trondheim, but it's expensive and old. Our room was very little, not very clean and it still costs Kr 990 plus a few houndred for parking nearby. One night was enough for us here. Very disapoiting and not very romantic.The breakfast was like a standard norwegian hotel meal, with egg, bread, coffee and everything else you need.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in the center of Trondheim and it's ok for one night and not more. The rooms are clean, but they need a renovation very soon. We we're on the top floor (6) with a nice view direction to the ocean. Breakfast buffet was about average. No parking available and the next car parking is 200m away.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank fjeril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortenberg, Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel location is really great, very much in the heart of the city centre. The rooms are modern and recently refurbished, as the rest of the hotel.
The breakfast buffet is good.
I would certainly recommend the hotel, mainly based on it's super location.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurentBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed in this hotel 30.06-01.07. Had a dog with me, so was given a room on the 6th floor usually occupied by smokers. Very helpful people at frontdesk/reception.
Room ok, but nothing more than that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lf_Norway_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
201 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Hotel very central. Pretty basic, especially the bathroom. Good breakfast served on the 3rd floor with good views of the street. Given the current prices in Norway, we can consider this hotel a good value for money. It has a bus stop right outside the door connecting to the train station and boats.

Room Tip: given that the windows isolate well from outside noise, the rooms overlooking the street are more pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alsansil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Good quiet hotel. Rooms not large, but quite good. Our room had two lounge chairs a small table, TV, desk and chair. Room was clean. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. About 30-45 minute walk from the Hurtigruten terminal, although bus 46 stops outside the hotel doors
Hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of all the tourist sites. There is no restaurant, but an excellent breakfast room with plenty of food available.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet area, but probably rooms at the back away from the city traffic would be bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
843 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Gildevangen
Thon Hotel Gildevangen
#9 of 25 in Trondheim
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Trondheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Trondheim

Property: Thon Hotel Trondheim
Address: Kongens gate 15, Trondheim 7013, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Trondheim 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Trondheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing