We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The positives for this are the location so close to Trondheim S station (3 minutes) and for the airport bus stopping outside the door.
There was a dressing table/desk that when you pulled the chair out knocked over the samll table in the room.
The beds were singles with a cabinet between and were not overly comfortable. The lighting is just weird, the TV channels were not what were listed in the welcome pack and limited.
The shower room was great although the shower gel holder was dodgy and not very nice smelling shower gel.
Breakfast was truly appalling. Canned fruit. Mud (sorry coffee). Nice bread though, but no jam or marmalade.
The worst aspect of the stay was the snow ploughs every 2 hours scraping along the road during the night.
However for the price compared with reviews of other Trondheim hotels you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr8critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

Our lighting works with a main switch that is located next to the room door. That light needs to be on for the rest of lights to work. The reason being making it easier for our guests to turn off all the lights in the room with that one switch before they leave the room, which is a more eco-friendly option.

Our breakfast has three different jams: strawberry, orange and cranberry. I am not sure what might have happened on the day you stayed with us, but if there was none left I apologize for that.

I am sorry about the noises at night. This is arranged by the city town hall and it is unfortunately the only time when the roads are clear to work on removing the snow. I would like to take the chance to inform you that we do have upgraded rooms towards the back of the hotel, with views to the fjord, which are very quiet should you choose to stay with us again.

Thank you again for your feedback and we truly hope you will consider us again for your next stay in Trondheim!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    60
    71
    32
    7
See reviews for
20
58
31
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel was a 5 min walk from the train station and about 5 - 10 min walk to the main part of town.
The room I had was huge and on the very top of the hotel. The corner room was surrounded by windows and I would just sit there at night with a whiskey staring at the amazing view.
the breakfast wasn't too special, but still filled me up for the morning.
Pity about them no longer having a sauna as per their website, but no big deal.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room facing the ocean on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback!

I assume you stayed at room 702, one of our upgraded rooms with views to the Trondheimsfjord. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!

I wish you a warm welcome back on your next visit to Trondheim!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

A group of 7 of us visited for 2 nights for New Year 2013. For a 3* hotel, the Best Western Chesterfield in Trondheim is very reasonable in terms of price and offers quite a reasonable room. The room comes with quite a large table which we found useful for communal activities and the shower was nice and powerful, but the room was not perfectly clean, the bathroom was quite small and the beds were separated which is not ideal for couples. However, the location of the hotel was very good and the staff were very friendly going out of their way to help us celebrate New Year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

We truly appreciate the time used giving us feedback!

First of all, my apologies if you were not satisfied with the cleaning of the room. I understand this is an important issue and we try to focus our effort in providing a good service to our guests.

I am pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you were satisfied with the standard of the room!

I sincerely hope you will consider us again in the event of another trip to Trondheim! And again thank you for sharing your opinion with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I was in the cheapest type of rooms (economy with a shower), so something luxury cannot be expected. This type of room is sufficient for the stay when you only sleep in the hotel - then you can accept some small funny things like a window with the view to the wall of the next building which is 50 cm away from the window :o)

The room is exactly big enough for one person - it is typical IKEA style hotel room. The bathroom is almost the same size as the room (so is surprisingly big) and is very good equipped with good floor heating. The equipment anywhere in the room and bathroom is bright new. Room is clean with good Wi-Fi coverage.
The only disadvantage could be the heating in the room. There is only small electric heater which you have to operate manually. So in very cold days it cloud be not enough, but you can also use the bathroom floor heating to increase the room temperature.

The breakfast is OK, only bread could be better. During all day and night you can get a coffee or tee with some biscuits in the breakfast room for free.

The hotel seems to be busy with a lot of Norwegians - also during winter. It has great location: only few hundred meters from the railway station (and the Rockheim museum); in the front of the reception there is a station of the bus to/from the airport; only few hundred meters to the center of the city. The hotel is situated in the part of the town with a lot of pubs, restaurants and shops.

I can recommend this hotel. The price is on Norway OK.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ondrej N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you ever so much for sharing you opinion!

Certainly as you pointed out the economy rooms are a bit smaller and without views, hence the budget price. I am sorry to hear you found the heating insufficient. We will take a look at this matter as our goal is to make comfort a priority.

Thank you for a positive feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit. We do have some really nice upgraded rooms with views to the ocean, should you be interested in that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Civitavecchia, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

One of the best things about this hotel is its position: it is close to the central station and to most of the interesting places in Trondheim.

The room was large, with a comfortable bed, desktop, and a little sofa for reading.

The only minor remark was that the hotel was close to some place where youths used to gather and have loud chats until late. Given that our room faced the main street, you could hear them from inside. Anyway, the noise was still bearable and maybe worth being considered only for light sleepers.

The hotel was very nice and overall we would advise staying there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxonthenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback!

We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay with us. About the noise, I would like to encourage our guests to contact our staff in reception regarding noise late at night. The law in Norway is that no noise is allowed after 11 pm (even outside of the hotel).

Thank you for recommending us and we wish you a warm welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. 1st night room was at front of hotel--do not stay there! Extremely noisy. Staff was very accommodating and changed us to a room at rear of hotel, much quieter. Rooms are small by American standards but adequate. Reasonably priced for Norway. Like many hotels in this area, there is no A/C, usually no need. Room/bathroom was clean. Breakfast had good variety.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celtictxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback!

We are glad that you found out staff helpful and accomodating and that you had a good experience at our establishment!

We wish you a warm welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Chesterfield lives up to the standards expected of a Best Western hotel and is also very reasonably priced for a hotel in Norway.
The breakfasts were good with a reasonable variety of choices, the beds were comfortable, th cleanliness was fist rate and the staff were all very helpful.
The hotel is only a very short walk from the station and is also very conveniently located for the centre of the city of Trondheim. We were on the fifth floor and had brilliant views of the fjord and sunset from our windows.
Overall an excellent experience and recommend this hotel for both leisure and business.

Room Tip: West facing room on fifth floor or above will give superb views and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

On behalf of our staff I would like to welcome you back to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.2 mi away
P-Hotels Brattora
P-Hotels Brattora
#20 of 25 in Trondheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Living Scholler Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel
Address: Soendre gate 26, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Trondheim
Trondheim Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing