We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings.....”
Review of Britannia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Hotel
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Britannia is in a really good central location, handy for visiting the Cathedral and museums and with a wide choice of restaurants nearby.
The building itself looks impressive from the front. Inside the reception area is fine with a wide desk, pleasant seating areas, 2 computer terminals and lifts.
We had a room on Floor 2 along at the far end of a corridor. The building seems to be quite a rabbit warren, with long narrow corridors going off in different directions. At this point it all begins to feel a bit soulless and lacking in atmosphere.
The room was supposed to be a twin bedded but we were given one large bed with no division up the middle, in a rather dark and dingy room with windows opening on to a concrete wall. You had to have a light or two on all the time. The bed was comfortable enough but the pillows were really soft and your head sank right into them, making a restful night difficult. There was a large tv on the wall with several channels including BBC World.
The bathroom was a letdown with the loo being really cramped and the water in the shower and wash hand basin never seemed to get beyond lukewarm .
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and efficient service from waiters and a very nice manager who would top up your coffee and clear plates promptly..... so that was all fine and probably was the highlight of the day.
I just have many mixed feelings about this part of the trip.... the hotel was ok mostly but just didn't work for me mainly due to lack of atmosphere. I suppose it depends on which room you get as there seems to be a huge variation in quality. Some of the twin rooms we passed were definitely a lot nicer than ours.....much bigger and brighter with daylight streaming in. As it was only a two night stay we didn't bother to ask for a change. If the stay had been longer then we definitely would have.
I love hotels with character and history, which is why I chose the Britannia, but I did find it all just a bit dull really..... maybe my expectations were too high. Just a bit "meh".

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank NorthStarFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear guest,

As we are glad to see that your initial first impression of our hotel was positive, we have registered that you have had a negative experience with the hotel room itself, and the overall atmosphere inside the hotel.

We would appreciate the next time you stay with us that you notify us as soon as possible if your room isn`t to your liking, so we can have an opportunity to ensure you have a comfortable stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 574 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel has one of the best spas I`ve been to, mostly due to a lot of different saunas and a peaceful cocoon room. They lack a bubble bath, though. One drawback is that the two times I`ve been there, several different parts of the spa has been out of order. This doesn`t change the overall rating as there is still enough to choose from.

Spa is included in the price. Treatments are extra, and very pricey.

I`ve stayed in a deluxe room both times, and they are very nice. I love the way they have furnished them in a classic, but cosy, mansion style. Comfy beds.

Good location, probably five minutes walk to Nidarosdomen.

Great breakfast in a lovely indoor "garden". I`ve also been there on a conference, and the conference facilities are good.

Room Tip: Rooms in the spa side of the hotel are more convenient, as you have to change in your room before wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calyptomena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review, we welcome you back at a later date.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in april 2012.We arrived friday and left sunday. At the start we had to change rooms due to smell of smoke. On saturday jewellery both from me and my husband was lost from hotel room during the day when we were out shopping. We found out about this saturday evening and reported at once to the reception. We then made a report to the local police and had several meetings with the hotel administration.
We had a very disappointing and awkward feeling in meeting with the head of the hotel where they let us know that they had no responsibility what so ever for things in the hotel rooms. So, if you are going to stay here...put everything of value in the safe !!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siegbrit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

It is the most beautiful hotel I have ever visited. The rooms are ellegante and the cleaning staff do an excellent job. The breakfast at the hotel is very good, and the surroundings in the dining room is fantastic. The spa facility is the best I've experienced at a hotel. I recommend Britannia Hotel to those visiting Trondheim!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norwegian82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm for Britannia Hotel with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Britannia Hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Britannia hotel is a very nice, cosy and amazing hotel! Well renound for its great history and hosting of celebrities! The hotel has a very location in down town Trondheim with shopping, sightseeing and restaurants close by. We had a very nice stay there, rooms and food is amazing, and we have no problem recomending this to others!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-Mogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for recommending Britannia Hotel! We appreciate your compliments and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Britannia Hotel lies in the centre of Trondheim close to Restaurants, pedestrian area and shops. Though the rooms (we had a Business Room) look pleasant and clean, the lobby and Restaurant do look a bit dated with their dark pieces of fornitures and worn out carpet. you fell they'd need a renovation. Breakfast in the Palm Haven Restaurant is rich but the very shape of the Restaurant makes it narrow and noisy. The best thing about this hotel is certainly the Spa, we managed to visit with our three kids (allowed to get into it from 17.00 until 19.00). Staff, atmosphere, swimming pool and Hammam are great! It's worth a visit while you are there. Even the Conference rooms which we saw from the outside look elegant and professional.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbieadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write down your experiences at Britannia Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our spa. Welcome back to Britannia Hotel on your next visit to Trondheim.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed two nights here in june 2012, and was very satisfied.
The hotel in itself is good (rooms are tidy, breakfast plentyful), but the SPA is what makes this hotel really worth a visit. You just ask for some bathrobes and slippers at the front desk, and take the elevator down. Here you can choose between a pool, salt-water-pool, saunas and a cold pond. It's really relaxing.
The staff are friendly, and even let us check in at 10 in the morning!
Location is great, in the middle of Trondheim city centre, and in a quiet area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinho89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your compliments on our spa. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Augustin
Quality Hotel Augustin
#14 of 25 in Trondheim
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#5 of 25 in Trondheim
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.3 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel

Address: Dronningens gate 5, Trondheim 7011, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#11 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range: $107 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Britannia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia closed its doors in June 2016 for a full refurbishment of the entire hotel. The prestigious Britannia Hotel will re-open in February 2019. The prestigious Britannia Hotel is centrally located and offers great accommodation when in Trondheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Trondheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing