We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the middle of Trondheim”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Stayed here for a night during a business trip to Trondheim. Hotel is very central in Trondheim. 30 minutes with the bus from the airport.

Had a Business Class room. The room was in a newly refurbished section of the hotel, and the room was quiet. The room had a king size bed, with the standard amenities on a Radisson SAS Business Class room. Free Internet is also available. The room and the bathroom was clean. The persons working in the reception was friendly.

The breakfast was a average hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank haakonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 922 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2008

We stayed one night here as part of the Hurtigruten 'Visit Norway' package, so have no comment about price.

What is good? Central location, architecturally pleasant conversion of old warehouses on the river, clean, efficient service, spacious room, Scandinavian standard breakfast. I left my camera behind, and having given my details [in English] by phone from Trondheim railway station, the camera arrived next week at home Edinburgh, UK, well packed. Well done.

What is bad? Nothing really, but it was all a bit 'Scandinavian bland', in a way that fellow travellers, who stayed at the Britiania said the Britiania was not.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tommyatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

The most positive things to say about this hotel is that it had free wireless internet access and that it is very close to the city centre. Also I quite enjoyed the huge breakfast buffet, although the restaurant was very full and we really struggled to find a suitable place for all five of us.

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. On the second night we had an early check-in at the airport. It was great to find out that they did a special breakfast for people checking out early, however, the first I knew about that was when I checked out in the morning. Luckily it was early enough to take advantage of it before heading out to the airport.

I had a rental car while I was there, and on the first night I parked it in the underground garage. I was surprised to find out that it was not manned 24 hours a day and that I couldn't get my car out until 8am on Saturday morning. Luckily it wasn't the day I needed to get to the airport early!

The second night I found a parking space some distance down from the main entrance to the hotel. This turned out to be free between 8pm and 8am, so saved me NOK 185 for parking! And of course I didn't have to deal with the problem of getting the car out before the garage opened.

All in all the hotel was OK, and very conveniently located. I stayed in two different rooms during my stay. The first looked pretty worn down, while the second one had obviously been done up recently. So it seems the hotel is being renovated in stages and this may explain some of the inconstancies in some of the reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheEagleGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

This was my second stay at this Radisson. The check-in was smooth and took less than 5 minutes. Rooms are of average size and are comfortable. There are no individual a/c controls, which I found to be a bit strange.

An annoying thing about the hotel is the fact that the rooms do not have any ironing facilities. You cannot ask housekeeping to bring one up to your room either. You have to go down to the basement and use the common iron/ironing board.

The breakfast spread is decent and is included in the room rate. The staff were really good. Overall, a decent business hotel but need to do more to bring the standard up to international levels.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kmrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We passed one night in the Trondheim's Radisson. The staff was not wellcoming and the buffet breakfast was huge but not good. The room was quite big but unpersonal. The good point is the central location of the hotel and its design. This is not a good Radisson for me (we visited a lot around the world (20 in all continent) and it's definitly the worst one).

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Julnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Recently stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay here. The location is central - we got the bus from the airport for 80NOK per person and the bus stopped right outside. The bedrooms were fine, quite spacious, with really comfortable beds and duvets. Slept really well here, even during the day when we had an afternoon nap and it was lovely and peaceful. Tried not to use the mini bar as the prices were quite expensive - 34NOK for a small bottle of water. The breakfasts were good though, with a wide selection on offer including lovely fresh warm bread and rolls, fresh fruit, assorted cold meats and fish. Used the pool once during our stay - it was deserted so great to have it to ourselves. The saunas were separate for men and women so husband and I had to do our own thing. Being a large hotel, there seemed to be events on every evening with conferences but the noise didn't bother us at all, even though our room was quite close to the main lobby. Have stayed at other Radissons and this one was just as modern and clean, with good service as the others.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ll23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel in August 2006.

We didn't spend an awful lot of time in the hotel, but we found it a nice central choice in Trondheim, within a few minutes walk of shops and restaurants.

The room was spotlessly clean with wooden flooring and a very comfy bed. We also had a pretty nice view from our room of the waterfront.

Breakfast, as is usually the case in Radisson hotels in Scandinavia, was more than adequate with many items to choose from.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again, based on even this short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelic_Moley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#5 of 25 in Trondheim
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim

Address: Kjoepmannsgata 73 | P.O Box 956, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
#7 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#9 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#9 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range: $126 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim boasts an exceptional design and a location next to the city’s beautiful Nidelven River. The central atrium sits under a glass roof, filling the space with stunning natural light. In addition to the sleek decor, the 298 rooms and suites feature amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet, mini bars and the Super Breakfast Buffet (included in each stay). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Trondheim
Trondheim Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Trondheim Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing