We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I spent a weekend with the family, including a toddler. First of all the rooms are more or less finally done refurbishing, and the new breakfast area was very nice as well. A new bar is soon opening, meanwhile a temporary bar is offered in the lobby lounge.

As a Club Carlson Gold, I was disappointed to not be upgraded to a better room when traveling with my family on a slow easter weekend with low occupancy. Though I did receive a nice welcome amenity of snacks and drinks in room.

The pool is now gone.

Staff are mostly very friendly and service minded, especially when our toddler threw up in the middle of the night, and they fetched towels and bed sheet immediately for us. We also had help in drying off a blanket, that was very important to us. Service always with a smile. The only service slip-up was that I asked for an extra bed to be removed at 5pm, and at 9pm a person came into our room, switched on the lights and asked if he was to remove the bed. The two points that make me unhappy about this is1) the bed was already rolled into the hallway by myself as I could not wait any longer to put the toddler to sleep and I had mentioned this fact on the phone, and 2) when the person entered the room my wife and toddler was slewing thereby waking them both. Total lack of discretion, probably due to lack of training/inexperience.

As the hotel is soon finished upgrading, I think this is looking like a good option in city centre going forward.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank view2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signe K, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share the feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards

Signe Kroknes
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 909 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

It used to be a run down hotel, but is now very nice inside. Rooms are very clean, great staff and even greater location. I have stayed at many hotels in Trondheim and this one stands out. The bus also stops right outside the door, which makes it even more attractive and convenient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Asim G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signe K, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time sharing this feedback of your recent stay with us.

We are looking forward seeing you here at the hotel upon your next visit in Trondheim.

Best regards

Signe Kroknes

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel is a building site inside and out, the staff are trying to cope against all the odds, there are no recreational or office facilities however there is a notice informing that there will be in the future,
I stayed here 4 months ago and it was nearly as bad then, by now I thought the work would have been completed, That will teach me to consult trip advisor before booking in future, I really think that prospective guests should be informed about major work in progress during the booking process,
On the positive side the refurbished rooms are clean and tidy albeit compact, and the breakfast is OK,

Room Tip: Stay away from the 6th floor inside facing rooms the only view is a roof and workmen.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signe K, Resepsjonssjef at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay.

We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services.
Unfortunately we are still in a process of renovating the hotel.

We would very much like to welcome you back as soon this is finished and hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Best regards

Signe Kroknes

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I love and respect Radisson Blu Hotel Chain.
For sure I will continue to use this Hotel company around the world.
Always, at 99% of the cases I found lovly and top quality Hotel and service.

But this one has really disappointed me !!

One simply reason:
The hotel accepted customers during its rinnovation and decoration work !

It was my first time in Trondhein and I want to enjoy this beautifully hotel ( from the web site )
with my wife.
Instead, we stay inside a working place.
Watch the picture , the breakfast location was like a Chinese Hotel....
.
When I book Radisson I expect a standard level of hotel. At least offer the room at 50 - 70% discount and inform the customer "you will stay inside a working yard.

This is not fair from my opinion.

Anyway,
I have to report that still the location is perfect in the city, the personal is excellent and very professional/friendly. Lovely as Radisson standard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I booked this hotel after staying there on business in 2013, during that visit the hotel was being refurbished so there was an amount of work being done around the hotel. I could not believe it was having a major refurbishment when I stayed there this February.

The restaurant was completely out of action and an alternative was being used, the gym and sauna facility was closed, the swimming pool has been permanently closed.

It is a pity the hotel did not make me aware of all the disruption when I booked it, I would have stayed somewhere else.

The business rooms are compact and modern but lack comfort, the funky headboard with strange lights built in make the room feel like some sort of modern experiment like the set of big brother. The bathrooms without a bath are modern and the wet room area is well designed. The "mini" mini bar which was some crisps and a small bottle of something that cost about £10 was poor.

The hotel did arrange use of a superb gym just down the street which worked out well as it was better than the hotel facility which was not available.

Trondheim is a nice place with some good bars and nice scenery, the hotel is well situated in the centre, but will stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: don't accept a business room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2-ERLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signe K, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay.

We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services.

Unfortunately we are still in a process of renovating the hotel.

We would very much like to welcome you back when all this is finished and hope for another oppoturnity to exceed your expectations.

Best regards

Signe Kroknes

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

If you like a room where you can't open the window, where you can hear everything said in the neighboring room, where the bar staff says "sure you can have coffee if you want us to try the coffee machine, but we don't think it works" and where the internet connection is so slow you can't open essential programs, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
3  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signe K, Resepsjonssjef at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014
Google Translation

Kjære Susanne

Takk for din tilbakemelding.

Vi er lei oss for at vi ikke kunne innfri dine forventninger.

Selv om hotellet er under renovering, så forplikter vi oss til å kunne tilby et godt produkt.

Vi tar dine kommentarer til etterretning og håper du tar turen hit når hotellet er ferdig oppusset i løpet av 1.kvartal 2014.

Med vennlig hilsen

Signe Kroknes

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a newish and modern hotel in a great position overlooking the river and has apparently won a number of design awards. One has to ask why. Most of the rooms look out onto a series of small atria - thus looking at the rooms opposite and quite close - indeed after an initial glance through the window there is no point in looking out again during your stay. The rooms themselves are unbelievably small and it is many years since I stayed in a modern hotel which provided a 4'6'' double bed and that placed almost to the wall in order to fit it in. And the bathroom was a joke - my wife remarked that you could not swing a cat in there but in reality there would not be room for you AND a cat!
The check-in area was dark and dingy with a very low ceiling. The restaurant overlooked the river and would have been quite pleasant had it not been from scaffolding all across the outside and badly worn and frayed carpeting at all the window tables.
We had been warned in advance that there was renovation work in the foyer (in a relatively new hotel?) but we were not prepared for the actuality. Areas of floor were missing the "marble" covering leaving areas of uneven surface mostly not indicated by visitape so almost everyone in our party tripped or jarred themselves at some time during our two day stay. There were bundles of electric cables hanging unprotected from the ceiling or emerging from the floor. Great areas of facing were missing from walls. The biggest joke was in the restaurant where the electric cables serving the hot food islands were suspended two inches from the floor. Yes it was most amusing to watch people tripping with their plates of hot breakfast. Health and safety? What health and safety? OH and to crown it all we were told that the indoor swimming pool had just closed down having been permanently condemned as unsafe.
Radisson should just close this place down and do a complete rethink and rebuild - it is an insult to have guests paying for these surroundings and having there wellbeing jeopardised.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signe K, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay.

We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services.

Unfortunately we are still in a process of renovating the hotel.

In the meantime we will tune our operations in the hope that we upon your next visit will be able to exceed your expectations.

Best regards

Signe Kroknes

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
913 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim

Address: Kjoepmannsgata 73 | P.O Box 956, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
#7 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#9 Business Hotel in Trondheim
#9 Family Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range: $134 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim boasts an exceptional design and a location next to the city’s beautiful Nidelven River. The central atrium sits under a glass roof, filling the space with stunning natural light. In addition to the sleek decor, the 298 rooms and suites feature amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet, mini bars and the Super Breakfast Buffet (included in each stay). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Trondheim
Trondheim Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Trondheim Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing