We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good though being made better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Trondheim
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a good radisson blu property,centrally located and having been to Trindheim twice before ,made me wonder why I didn't stay here before. The hotel is being renovated and I am sure it will be great.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and the room was good. Better rooms are likely to be available after reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAVI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil V, General Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice feedback, and for taking your time to write to us.

I`m really looking forward to welcome you back here after 15. Of April , when renovation is completed.

Kind regards
Kjetil Vassdal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 972 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Arrived hoping to find a 4* hotel but instead got a 2* room similar to a Travelodge. It was very small and cold. Despite a small heater provided it was not great. Major renovations and scaffolding up and expect drilling etc from 9-7pm. Swimming pool was out of order due to renovation but we were not informed of this when we booked with Expedia!
Breakfast quality poor compared to other 4* hotels.
Consider seriously before you book as there are other better quality hotels nearby.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Beachbaby85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil V, General Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I`m very sorry that your stay here did not live up to your expectations. As you saw we are renovating our hotel, and within 15. Of April, it will be totaly renovated. I really hope that I can welcome you back then, and you will enjoy both Trondheim and Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel.

Your feedback regarding our breakfast are of course passed by to our head chef and restaurant manager.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Kjetil Vassdal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A comfortable hotel about five minutes walk from the Central Station and the bus station. We travelled there by airport bus which meant it was very convenient for us. It is also about 10-15 minutes easy walk from the city centre. The hotel was undergoing some renovation when we were there (December 2013) but this wasn't a nuisance. The hotel will look great when it is finished.

Loved the terraced café/bar and the breakfasts which were simple and wholesome. We had booked this hotel as it has a spa and were disappointed that the swimming pool was cold and the whirlpool was five minutes on and fifteen minutes off. Can see this would be a problem if the hotel was very busy. I appreciate that the hotel is 'eco' but why oh why not have a warm pool? Also we felt a bit sorry for the stuffed bear apparently shot about ten years ago and now mounted in lonely splendour watching the renovation work.

Overall, good value worth it for the location.

Room Tip: Aim for one overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 900Lancasterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil V, General Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your good feedback, and for letting us know about your stay here with us. I`m glad you enjoyed it, but also sorry since our renovating effected your visit to our swimming pool area.

Hope to see you again soon, we really look forward to welcome you back to our hotel which will be fully renovated after 15. Of April this year.

Best regards
Kjetil Vassdal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked here in July for one night's stay in November and got a really good deal. At very short notice (our Hurtigruten ferry was cancelled) we needed to stay another night in Trondheim but the last minute room price was too high so we stayed at the nearby Clarion Collection Bakeriet instead on the second night, which was fine but not a patch on the Royal Garden. The Radisson is a really classy hotel, undergoing some renovation at the moment so suffering a bit. However, it's still well worth coming to. Superb choices for breakfast. Excellent pool and gym facilities. Great location in city centre, by the river and close to fab restaurants. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, which is why I've not given it full top marks.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue_marieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

You expect a very nice experience when staying at this hotel. Long history, classy interior, great look from outside. Went there with my wife to have a great stay when visiting our student daughter in Tronheim. But we were disappointed. Ok, they are renovating, but during the week-end no work was done anyway. The room was smaller than expected. I am not a fan of air condition, especially when it is centrally controlled - meaning you cannot turn the heat up or down. So it was a bit too cold during the day and too warm during the night. To switch it off is no option since you cannot open the windows. Result: Bad sleep, even though the beds are good. The breakfast was very average in a large noisy room with no small tables for two or four persons. Hoped for a nice and peaceful Sunday morning breakfast, but it was very crowded, the coffee was weak ... And these minor issues like having a small cup for the jam, or cutting up more of the fruit. Showing that they have not thoughts things through, and the customer experience is not what comes first.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henning D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel is doubtless among the better city hotels in Norway. It has a central location in Trondheim on the left bank of the river (Nid). I was given a newly refurbished room on the first floor (247 -- this is the second by Norwegian counting). The size was generous and the furniture and decoration was of good quality and delicate style. The TV was big and had good signals (HD). The wi-fi was included in the room rate (10 mb ps.) and so was the tasty breakfast. I have been staying at many different hotels in Trondheim, but my first night at the Royal Garden Hotel will make it an easy and deserved choice in the future. Nice staff & bar. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thauken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed here for two nights as part of a group of friends. The location of the hotel is very good, the breakfast the same. There are som issues with this hotel, most of the windows does not open to fresh air, but to a indoor atrium. There is also a lot of renovating going on, but I gguess it will be better once finished. We had a renovated room, and it was nice. The beds and pillows are to die for, some of the best I have tried in a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 24 in Trondheim
1,481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 24 in Trondheim
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.3 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#5 of 24 in Trondheim
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 24 in Trondheim
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim

Address: Kjoepmannsgata 73 | P.O Box 956, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#9 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range: $111 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim boasts an exceptional design and a location next to the city’s beautiful Nidelven River. The central atrium sits under a glass roof, filling the space with stunning natural light. In addition to the sleek decor, the 298 rooms and suites feature amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet, mini bars and the Super Breakfast Buffet (included in each stay). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Trondheim
Trondheim Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Trondheim Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing