We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Reviewed January 17, 2012

A really pleasant, modern and airy hotel that still felt warm and welcoming in the depths of the dark northern winter. The room was perfectly presented, the communal areas light and relaxing and the staff are fantastic. The bar is cheap (by Norwegian standards), the bar staff were great and it stayed open late. What could be better for a business trip?!
The hotel is only a five minute walk from the quayside restaurants across the water and ten minutes walk from the city centre. Ideally located.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthe H, Sales manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Duncan,

It is amazing to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us.

We thank you for sharing your pleasant words. Do not hesitate to visit us again anytime and we will be more than happy to serve you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 913 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

This hotel is well located next to the water and close to the city center. It has a beautiful design. Breakfast is great, and personnel friendly. I had a room on the top floor (6th), it was OK but a little outdated. It needs some upgrade. But bathroom shower etc worked perfectly. Perfect bed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sreinyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I did a 5 day business stay at Royal Garden. Overall I liked it very much, but there were few things that catches my eye.
The room was very well set up and very, very clean. The bathroom was usable, although the shower handles were somewhat stuck and needed some brute force applied initially to get the water running. There were not a lot of pillows and the ones present were not very high, so I had somewhat hard time taking a good night sleep.
there was a heater below the window, but it was turned off and it took some brain power to set it up.
The breakfast was excellent, with a great choice of items and fresh fruit juices.
I've also tried the fitness area, but got disappointed and never repeated. The reason for this being that the fitness room was very small with only few very basic appliances. I've tried the treadmill, but it didn't worked at all, so I had to use the bikes as a poor substitute. No free weights either, just 1 and 2 kg.
The pool looked very well setup, but I didn't tried it.
The hotel is excellently located in the center of the city right next to a stop of the airport shuttle service.
As everything else in Norway it was on the expensive side.

Room Tip: take a room with a view to the river. Should be on the high floors.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkodinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

When this hotel was new, it was a 4 star by all means. They have lived on (and off!) that for quite some time now and need to do a few things here and there to get this joint up-to-date.

The rooms, once so nice and shiny, now in need of make-over. "Keep bathroom door closed under and after showering or fire alarm will go off!" - What's this - Russia anno 1970?

The location is great, the bus from the airport stops just outside (great!), the breakfast was nice, it was clean and the service ok. But I expect more from a Norwegian 4 star hotel than an average experience (being a Norwegian myself). And it is not cheap.

Renovate the rooms, get rid of some old carpets, shine it up, and I'll come back with a smile, not just with a "fair enough".

But to my foreign readers - it's a fair, good and safe choice and I think you will like it.

Room Tip: Ask for riverside
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leon_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Check-in was trouble free. Reception area and room was clean and well cared for. Even though I had a first floor room (123), the room was very quiet.Water pressure in shower was good. No flat screen tv. Breakfast was plentiful and of excellent quality. Airport bus passes outside of front door. Train station is within short walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontheroad5056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This hotel is fabulous, right on the water's edge and ideal base for exploring Trondheim.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandB264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthe H, Sales manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear RandB264,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments.

Please feel free to come back whenever in the future. We will be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I have stayed at many Radisson Hotels over the years and have enjoyed a friendly reception and excellent service. This is the first time in Trondheim. The hotel is clean and spacious but very impersonal, cold and sterile. On arrival the lack of parking near the hotel was a problem and also expensive. I parked a short walk from the hotel and paid half the price of the hotel garage and less than the parking outside the hotel. WHY the difference? The allocated room 213 was very small and the lack of an outside window meant the air conditioning was on all the time. This led to a dry atmosphere, dry skin and thirst in the night. As the majority of the rooms have the same layout with all rooms facing into a central atrium this is a major problem. The bathroom needs to be modernised. Some work has been done but it could be better. The breakfast room is too small for the number of guests and had queues. The galleriet bar was empty and the food on offer was unappealing so we ate out. The lack of free tea and coffee facilities in the room or public areas was also an obvious omission. I complained on check out but the receptionist was not interested and suggested I contact the management. In contrast my family arrived late at night in winter at Alesund and waited in the Radisson Hotel there and were offered free coffee and help even though they were not guests! In general I have enjoyed the service I have had at the many Radisson Hotels I have used in Scandinavia and the rest of the world. I will continue to use them but never in Trondheim. It is too big and impersonal. I had a colleague ask me today where he should stay and of course my reply was anywhere else but.....

Room Tip: Due to the galleried layout with three main buildings linked by glass roofed galleries most rooms fa...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
913 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim

Address: Kjoepmannsgata 73 | P.O Box 956, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
#7 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#9 Business Hotel in Trondheim
#9 Family Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range: $134 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim boasts an exceptional design and a location next to the city’s beautiful Nidelven River. The central atrium sits under a glass roof, filling the space with stunning natural light. In addition to the sleek decor, the 298 rooms and suites feature amenities such as Free high-speed, wireless Internet, mini bars and the Super Breakfast Buffet (included in each stay). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Trondheim
Trondheim Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Trondheim Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing