We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our number one when we stay in Trondheim”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Steinkjer, Nord-Trondelag, Norway
1 review
“Our number one when we stay in Trondheim”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Cosy hotell located in the center of the city. Friendly staff, nice clean rooms, pictures and items conserved from when it was a Bakery. Well away from the busy streets. Inside Gym and outside area with city wiew on the top floor. No restaurant, but only a few minutes walk to Jonathan and others. Waterhole across the street. Gry and Per Terje

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per_Terje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello Per_Terje,

This was a great review for us - and I am so happy to be able to share your feedback with our employees. You focus on some of the very things we are proud of and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in Trondheim.

We look forward to seeing you again here at Bakeriet and wish you a great November,

best regards,
Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    183
    100
    53
    22
See reviews for
94
165
32
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Korsoer, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The first thing I saw was a beautiful and well-maintained building. When I got inside there was a pleasant mix of old and new but combined with respect for the hotel origin.

A very friendly receptionist made ​​me quickly detected and I got a cozy room away from the street so there was complete peace - On the other hand, the prospect of the roof facing the not the best, but something for something when you want to stay central.
At the top is a nice gym and a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the town center and harbour

Included in the very reasonable price was breakfast and dinner, free coffee in the restaurant all day and waffles every afternoon. Dinner is not flashy, but good taste and fine salad bar.

After I checked out, I had some waiting time in the city, and the nice receptionist offered both free coffee and chocolates while I waited.

Definitely a place I live again next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy_KMCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Willy_KMCK,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us valuable feedback after your stay!

The fact that we are a historical building is something we are very proud of, and the 150 years of bakery-history here is something we try to infuse into our daily workings, if it is show and tell to interested guests, or providing guests with homebaked bread, or even our small monthly beer-club - it all traces back to our history.

The training facilities is something several of our guests enjoy, as well as the complimentary waffles/evening meal after a day at work or after training. I am so glad to hear that my colleagues made sure you had a great stay, and will make sure that everyone here reads you review.

We try our best, and it is so nice when we do our best, and it is appreciated by you - our valuable and friendly guests.

We look forward to seeing you back here in Trondheim in the future,

best regards,
Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The room was tiny, and only had one window in the ceiling. My wife would've hated the bathroom light as being being insufficient for putting on make-up. Bed was OK. No mini-bar, and the TV was tiny. The lobby bar wasn't very inviting. Staff was as pleasant and service-minded as one should expect. An average experience, and I think next time in Trondheim I'll contemplate spending the necessary extra bit to get a better experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no

Helpful?
Thank Arild S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Arild S.

I am very greatful that you took the time to write us a review of our hotel after your stay. I must apologixe for taking so long to reply, but I have been out of the office for some time.

When it comes to the size of the rooms, I am sorry you got one of our smaller rooms - being an old building dating back to the 1860s we have many different shaped rooms, some bigger and some smaller. I can only ask that if you return please ask for a larger room and we will accomodate as best we can.

We have the last weeks taken measures in both the tv-section (we have changed 40 of our old tvs with newer flatscreen 32" models fitted on the walls. We hope to continue changing tvs as we go along, but already appx. 50 rooms now have newer and larger tvs. We have also takens measures when it comes to the atmosphere in the lobby-area and the dining-area focusing on making the public areas even more welcoming.

I am glad that all personell were pleasant, and that the beds were ok - it is important to have a good nights sleep.

I hope you will return to our hotel with our complimentary waffles and evening meal, and if you do, I hope your impression will improve even more.

Best regards,

Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed two nights in room 400. The bed was a bit small for two adults. The shower tiles could use a good scrub. Would have liked to have maybe a little information in the room about nearby restaurants. Breakfast was good. Waffles in the afternoon a great idea! Evening sandwiches
also very good service. Hotel staff very nice. The hotel is a bit worn but it also has a warm charm. I will definitely keep this hotel in mind for my next visit. The airport bus stops just 250 meters from the hotel.

Room Tip: There was no room service during our stay. 5 minute walk from "Solsiden". Room 400 overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetSnickerdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello SweetSnickerdoodle,

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is reviews like these that enable us to continually improve our services.

We have talked through you review, and would like to comment on the shower-tiles. Unfortunately the tiles in the shower are beginning to show signs of age - so even if our housekeeping-department scrubs, they may appear un-scrubbed. I can however assure you that they are clean. We pride ourselves in being a somwehat quaint hotel - hoping to provide our guests with a personal and homely atmosphere, and I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary waffles and evening meal.

When it comes to your room not being services during your stay - I am deeply sorry for this, and I assure you I have already talked about this at our regular meetings. I hope this incident doesn´t hinder You in coming back to us - so that we can excel in all areas next time you visit.

Best regards,
Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I spent four nights at Clarion Collection Bakeriet.
The hotel have a good breakfast buffet, comfortable rooms and central location. A good choice for any occasion. The staff is friendly and helpfull, and will gladly help you to find your way around town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecilieA503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Google Translation
Hei Cecilie A503

Tusen takk for at du tok deg tid til å komme med en tilbakemelding om vårt hotell i Trondheim. Det er veldig hyggelg å å høre at vi er både hjelpsomme, og vennlig, og ikke minst at våre fasiliteter som frokost fungerte bra.

Vi jobber hele tiden med å forbedre oss og våre gjesters tilbakemeldinger er noe vi har et høyt fokus på. Vi ser frem til å ønske deg velkommen til oss og våre vafler og kveldsmat neste gang du er i byen.

Mvh,
Ronny R. Reithe
Hotelldirektør
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

For a Brit any hotel in Norway will seem expensive, and whilst this hotel is not luxurious it is reasonably comfortable, clean and has friendly helpful staff. Accommodation is basic and good double glazing is essential to keep the street noise of partying revellers outside down. Breakfast is a buffet and a good selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogul79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello Mogul79,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on your latest stay here at Clarion Collection Bakeriet.
We are so glad that your stay was a good one.
As you say - we are not luxurious - but we strive to give our welcome guests the best service we can give, and we are so glad when things function as they should - from the breakfast, front desk and the cleaning. And even the double glazed windows!

Thank you for giving us this feedback - we always strive to improve, and have weekly follow-ups on all feedback received.

Best regards,

Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently spent three weeks touring Scandinavia by rail and, of all the hotels we stayed in, this was easily the best. The welcome at check-in was friendly and welcoming and our room was excellent. The breakfast was varied and plentiful, and our rate included an evening meal; Norway is an expensive country in which to eat out, so this was a real bonus. There is fresh tea and coffee on tap throughout the day and, amazingly, you can help yourselves to fresh waffles during the afternoon. More amazingly still, it's possible to do your washing - free of charge - in the small laundry room on the top floor. This hotel has one major problem - you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicktgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello Nicktgb!

It is with great pleasure we read your review of our hotel. We always strive to do our best - and when we succeed in doing everything right - we are excactly where we shoudl be. And I am so glad that all aspects worked as they are supposed to - from breakfast, waffles and of course the evening meal. We try our best in giving personalized and excellent service - and reviews such as yours are a good "pat on the back" - in stating that we are on the right track.

That our guests can use the washer/dryer on the 6.th floor is something we hope is appreciated by many, and it is good to see that this was a good initiative from our part.

We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Trondheim, and of course here to Clarion Collection Bakeriet!

Best regards,
Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.2 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Address: Brattoergata 2, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#10 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a peaceful haven in historical Trondheim. Hotel Bakeriet with its 109 rooms is located in the charming old parts of town and the house is inspired by its former history as a bakery. Included in all our rates are breakfast, and we even offer complimentary waffles during daytime, and a complimentary light evening-meal in the evenings. Coffee/tea is always free, and of course internet wi-fi access as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Trondheim
Clarion Trondheim
Trondheim Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing