We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, quaint hotel in a great location in a beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, quaint hotel in a great location in a beautiful city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed two nights in room 400. The bed was a bit small for two adults. The shower tiles could use a good scrub. Would have liked to have maybe a little information in the room about nearby restaurants. Breakfast was good. Waffles in the afternoon a great idea! Evening sandwiches
also very good service. Hotel staff very nice. The hotel is a bit worn but it also has a warm charm. I will definitely keep this hotel in mind for my next visit. The airport bus stops just 250 meters from the hotel.

Room Tip: There was no room service during our stay. 5 minute walk from "Solsiden". Room 400 overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetSnickerdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello SweetSnickerdoodle,

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is reviews like these that enable us to continually improve our services.

We have talked through you review, and would like to comment on the shower-tiles. Unfortunately the tiles in the shower are beginning to show signs of age - so even if our housekeeping-department scrubs, they may appear un-scrubbed. I can however assure you that they are clean. We pride ourselves in being a somwehat quaint hotel - hoping to provide our guests with a personal and homely atmosphere, and I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary waffles and evening meal.

When it comes to your room not being services during your stay - I am deeply sorry for this, and I assure you I have already talked about this at our regular meetings. I hope this incident doesn´t hinder You in coming back to us - so that we can excel in all areas next time you visit.

Best regards,
Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    175
    92
    52
    21
See reviews for
92
153
32
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I spent four nights at Clarion Collection Bakeriet.
The hotel have a good breakfast buffet, comfortable rooms and central location. A good choice for any occasion. The staff is friendly and helpfull, and will gladly help you to find your way around town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecilieA503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Google Translation
Hei Cecilie A503

Tusen takk for at du tok deg tid til å komme med en tilbakemelding om vårt hotell i Trondheim. Det er veldig hyggelg å å høre at vi er både hjelpsomme, og vennlig, og ikke minst at våre fasiliteter som frokost fungerte bra.

Vi jobber hele tiden med å forbedre oss og våre gjesters tilbakemeldinger er noe vi har et høyt fokus på. Vi ser frem til å ønske deg velkommen til oss og våre vafler og kveldsmat neste gang du er i byen.

Mvh,
Ronny R. Reithe
Hotelldirektør
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

For a Brit any hotel in Norway will seem expensive, and whilst this hotel is not luxurious it is reasonably comfortable, clean and has friendly helpful staff. Accommodation is basic and good double glazing is essential to keep the street noise of partying revellers outside down. Breakfast is a buffet and a good selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogul79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello Mogul79,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on your latest stay here at Clarion Collection Bakeriet.
We are so glad that your stay was a good one.
As you say - we are not luxurious - but we strive to give our welcome guests the best service we can give, and we are so glad when things function as they should - from the breakfast, front desk and the cleaning. And even the double glazed windows!

Thank you for giving us this feedback - we always strive to improve, and have weekly follow-ups on all feedback received.

Best regards,

Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently spent three weeks touring Scandinavia by rail and, of all the hotels we stayed in, this was easily the best. The welcome at check-in was friendly and welcoming and our room was excellent. The breakfast was varied and plentiful, and our rate included an evening meal; Norway is an expensive country in which to eat out, so this was a real bonus. There is fresh tea and coffee on tap throughout the day and, amazingly, you can help yourselves to fresh waffles during the afternoon. More amazingly still, it's possible to do your washing - free of charge - in the small laundry room on the top floor. This hotel has one major problem - you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicktgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello Nicktgb!

It is with great pleasure we read your review of our hotel. We always strive to do our best - and when we succeed in doing everything right - we are excactly where we shoudl be. And I am so glad that all aspects worked as they are supposed to - from breakfast, waffles and of course the evening meal. We try our best in giving personalized and excellent service - and reviews such as yours are a good "pat on the back" - in stating that we are on the right track.

That our guests can use the washer/dryer on the 6.th floor is something we hope is appreciated by many, and it is good to see that this was a good initiative from our part.

We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Trondheim, and of course here to Clarion Collection Bakeriet!

Best regards,
Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I must admit, this is one of my favourite hotels in Trondheim. I think it has something to do with the atmosphere in the hotel and the fact that I used to go there to buy buns while I was a student and the place still was a bakery.

It's also a very quiet hotel, despite the fact that it's located almost in the towncentre and close to the railway station. There's not much traffic in the quite narrow streets surrounding the hotel and thus little traffic noise. If you get a room in 5th floor you may also have a view to the fjord and the coastal express harbor.

The rooms are quite different in sizes and shapes. This time I got a pretty much standard room, while my mother got a room with her own little hall before entering the bedroom. You can see that the rooms have not recently been renovated, but still they are in pretty good shape. My room was clean, my mother has a better eye for dust and discovered some that had to be wiped off a surface in her room :) .

The staff is very helpful. When i told that my mother is an elderly lady and prefer to have her room not so high up in the building (easier to use the stairs one floor down than 4 in case of fire alarm), the receptionist immediately searched for a room that was on a lower floor than 5th floor where we originally had rooms reserved. 2 minutes later the problem was fixed and my mother was well situated in a room on 2nd floor.

We both had quiet rooms with no disturbances from traffic,

Breakfast is good, but maybe a bit dull? Even my mother who don't travel a lot commented that: "There was more choices for breakfast at the hotel we used last year." Some ordinary muesli would have made an improvement for me. However, coffee is good, bread is very good (as should be expected in a former bakery) and there is enough cheese, sausages and jam to satisfy me. It also has to be added that even though the breakfast is quite plain, it's possible to make waffles later on in the afternoon, and the hotel even has a simple (but good) buffet for evening meal between 18 and 21 in the evening, so all in all they come out on the positive side.

I'll be back - some day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CillaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hello CillaN!

We are delighted to read that we are one of your favourite hotels in Trondheim!

It makes us both happy and proud too hear that the work we do in all departments focusing on service and delivery give results, and I promise you that we are working on improving the breakfast even more by collaborating with some of our sister-hotels as we speak. And it is good to see that both the waffles and evening meal help give our guests the best.

Being a former bakery it is without a doubt expected that we have tasty bread, so I am pleased to see that we deliver on this.

We look forward to seeing you again here at Bakeriet - and thank you for taking the time to write this review. Reviews like this help us focus our work - and it is also a great inspiration to receive positive feedback.

Best regards,
Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Clarion Collection Bakeriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel Bakeriet is not a luxury hotel. But what you loose in luxury, you get back in atmosphere and charm. This hotel is an relaxing oases right in the middle of the city, situated in a side street, with very little traffic. There are some bars and restaurants near by, and in the night you might hear some people shouting, but not at all disturbing. It is possible to sleep with an open window, if you want to. There is car-parking in the basement, not expensive compared to other parking in Norway. The rooms could need some painting and refurbish, but they are clean. The hotel itself is an old bakery, and in the breakfast hall you can see a lot of memories from the past, including an old bakery oven. The glass roof makes it bright and nice.The breakfast itself is not special, but gives you all you need with eggs and serials and nice bread. The people working in this hotel are very nice and smiling, and the reception staff are characterized with a very high service level, and always with a smile. In the afternoon you can make your own waffles for free, and in the evening there is some food available until nine, if you get hungry. This is also for free, one out of many things that make this hotel special. If you are looking for a modern hotel in glass and steel, go somewhere else. But if you are looking for a hotel that gives you peace and relax, and make you fell like home, this is the perfect place. You should try it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up, and you can sleep with an open window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oslo_NorwayKnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello Oslo_NorwayKnut!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor - it was a great pleasure to read your review this morning, and it is great to see that out focus on service and cleaning has paid off.

I agree that some of the rooms are in need of some paint, and assure you that this is an ongoing project here at our hotel, so hopefully we will be able to freshen our product even more.

As you say so good - if you are looking for glass and steel hotels try something else, but if you like a cosy hotel trying to give personal and relaxed service - then we are your choice.

Thank you again for giving us constructive feedback - it is feedback such as this that tells us what we do right, and what we need to focus on in order to become even better.
We look forward to seeing you again here at Clarion Collection Bakeriet in atmospheric Trondheim.

Best regards,
Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is not a traditional hotel in the sense with a bar and restaurant , but have more of "beeing home" atmosphere where you have to do things yourself.
Frontdesk is the heart of the operation --they have the information ---they have the bar and they have the very serviceminded attitude. Information is beeing given to you and all additional questions beeing answerd as best they can, which is very good.
Breakfast is a buffet where you have to fry your own eggs. The boiled ones are in place together with everything else you need. I have seen better breakfast buffets , but this one is more than good enough with a very nice staff cleaning tables and keeping it up. The breakfast area is nice and light with windovs as a roof.
I have two personal standards for the room I am staying in for me to like it --good bed and good shower . Both gets top score from me. Cleaning staff for the rooms doing a great job (I stayed for 6 nights in single beroom with a single and a half bed) and I came back every day to nice and tidy and clean room.
From 1500 to 1800 you could make your own waffeles in the breakfast area. There were newspapers in the morning.
The hotel is situated centrally in the center of the town. There is also food in the afternoon and evening ,but this was a service I did not use, but I believe all meals in the hotel are complimentary.
If you like luxury this may not be the place for you ,but if you like a "homy" informal atmosphere with eceptional service and a central location this may be it.
This is a hotel I will visit again.

Room Tip: I had a single room which I was satisfied with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd Ragnar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello Lloyd Ragnar B,

It is with great pleasure we read your review of our hotel - the things you choose to highlight are some of the things that are important to us. And we are pleased to see that all our staff are welcoming - we hold our attitude in high regard, and always aim to please. We are as you say, not the fanciest hotel around, but we try to deliver a close and personal experience to all our guests. And as you say - all meals are included - so next time try our evening buffét as well as the waffles.

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we are always looking for ways to improve ourselves, and feedback such as yours give us a valuable "pat on the back" - stating we are on the right track! And we look forward to seeing you again here in the fantastic city of Trondheim.

Best regards,
Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.2 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Address: Brattorgata 2, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#10 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a peaceful haven in historical Trondheim. Hotel Bakeriet with its 109 rooms is located in the charming old parts of town and the house is inspired by its former history as a bakery. Included in all our rates are breakfast, and we even offer complimentary waffles during daytime, and a complimentary light evening-meal in the evenings. Coffee/tea is always free, and of course internet wi-fi access as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Trondheim
Clarion Trondheim
Trondheim Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing