We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Location good and staff very pleasant and helpful. The dining room was beautiful, Our room was large but it was very noisy all night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeLegsIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    175
    92
    52
    21
See reviews for
92
153
32
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a Clarion Collection hotel, which means it offers certain facilities such as breakfast and free evening buffet, afternoon coffee and it also has a sauna area. The hotel is run down and the sauna area didn't seem to work. I recommend staying at the Clarion Collection across the street instead.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Cousy hotel, nicely decorated, breakfast and evening food included. Price around $ 200. Rooms a bit small but this is common in Norway. Good location, parking in hotel garage, friendly staff. I will definitely come back.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Runar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

A very pleasant hotel, nice clean rooms and a staff that did everything to make you feel welcome; waffles in the afternoon and a nice buffet dinner at night included. Yes - we did miss flat screen TVs; a more serious security flaw was that the doors to the rooms were very difficult to lock from the inside by turning the lock handle - some muscle required. Also - we were not aware you had to lock the door to the room with the key card - else the room was left unlocked.

Room Tip: You may want to request a room away from the street - the hotel is located in center of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bricabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Hello sir/madame

Hotel Bakeriet would like to thank you for your visit, and for your kind response at Tripadvisor.
It is pleasant for us to read about your satisfaction with the staff. We are focusing on service and the work that the staff is doing, and positive feedback on this means that we are actually
accomplishing what we are looking for.
Thank you!

As for the doors we are sorry that they are quite difficult sometimes, and we adjust them
often to make them more cooperative. Regarding the security, the doors lock within five
minutes, so your luggage should be safe even though you are not around.

Thank you for your visit, hope to see you again some time!

Kind regards
Team Bakeriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

This hotel is in the city centre and I it is very close to the airportbuses. As Norway is crazy expensive with taxis etc its good to be able to take the buses. Rooms are samll as always in europe but they were fresh and clean. In the evening they had a buffe with waffles and sandwiches wich was appreciated after beeing out all day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredrikHalmstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California/Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel has a great location, and charming history and friendly staff, but appears as a little worn and the amenities are below what you'd expect at this star and price level. We do like the pet friendliness of the property, although the pet fee is a little steep, frankly. If you're visiting during a weekend day (Friday night or Saturday night), make sure your room does NOT face the walkway between the concert hall and the hotel. People coming out from bars and restaurants well into the early morning, make a loud impression...

Room Tip: Away from the small side street to avoid the noise from bar visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levanger, Nord-Trondelag, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Reception/service:
We arrived around midnight to the Bakeriet to be clerked in by an extremely unprofessional robotic receptionist who had probably received little relevant training or supervision in his job (his main focus being taking my credit card,not really bothered to take us through the very basics).

On check out we were greeted by a nice girl with a beautiful smile.Minimum interaction, no question about the quality of our stay something one would expect to get from a standard hotel but really no real complaint as she was so very genuinely nice.

Room:
The room was big in size and very quiet(which was nice).The interior of the room apart from an old picture indicating the history of the hotel was extremely boring with depressing choice of colours. The room was quite warm(we had to keep the window open at night so that we could sleep).

It had an ironing table and an iron, very handy for many people,I suppose.

Bathroom:
Clean but old fashioned bathroom with little ventilation , very cheap quality hand soap and shampoo,no conditioner.

Food:
Breakfast:
Extremely cheap quality stuff, usual supermarket bread(only three types, something rather odd for a hotel called Bakeriet, they could have branded themselves as The Hotel where you get freshly baked bread in the kitchen on the day, but hey, this type of thinking simply does not exist in the hotel business in Norway).

Boiled egg was cold.There were eggs that one could fry oneself but could be making a selling point had there been a staff member taking your order and making it for you so that you'd feel pampered.

Coffee was self service from a machine and bad quality.

Vegetables(lettuce, pepper, cucumber and tomato:all Rema 1000 cheap quality stuff). cut and served with no dressing available on the side for those who have acquired a better taste!

Cheap quality picked beetroot and cucumber from a can probably bought from the same low end supermarket.

Little choice in what Norwegians call pålegg, cheap salami and sausage that you would not feed to your enemies, very cheap tasteless cheddar cheese, extremely low end brown cheese,I could go on for ever describing their breakfast but I guess you get the picture.

Dinner: was included in price but thankfully we're spared the torture since we arrived quite late at night.

Locality:
Close to the city centre and train station, airport bus virtually drops you off at the hotel doorsteps.

General:
Not good value for money, over priced, not recommended, try to find a better hotel in Trondheim(and good luck with that as hotel industry is in dire state in Norway!).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no

Helpful?
Thank Far S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.2 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Address: Brattorgata 2, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#10 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a peaceful haven in historical Trondheim. Hotel Bakeriet with its 109 rooms is located in the charming old parts of town and the house is inspired by its former history as a bakery. Included in all our rates are breakfast, and we even offer complimentary waffles during daytime, and a complimentary light evening-meal in the evenings. Coffee/tea is always free, and of course internet wi-fi access as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Trondheim
Clarion Trondheim
Trondheim Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing