We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Nidelven(Trondheim)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveler rating
225
177
67
21
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
177
67
21
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening buffetwafflesafternoon pancakesextra touchesincluded in the priceclarion collectioncomplimentary dinnernice hotelmusic themedvd libraryjam and creamcook your ownafternoon snackblackout curtainssmall fridgegreat roomby foot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 491 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stay at this hotel every time we go to Trondheim now. Its near everything you want to see, tourist attractions, cinemas, shopping center, theater etc.
The hotel is a boutique hotel, so you don't have to go far to shop or be entertained by various genres. Check out what's going on Olavskvartalet when you are there.
The service is excellent, nice and helpful staff, you always feel welcome here.
They have a good selection for breakfast, you can make waffles in the afternoon, and they have hot supper, it's perfect!
No tea and coffee maker at the room, but they serve coffee/tea/fruit downstairs 24/7. Free rental of DVD, nice!
The rooms are tastefully decorated, and are quite large.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luksus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I stayed here for 5-nights in Aug '09. It's located across the street from the Radisson Royal Garden hotel where I'd stayed on three previous trips to Trondheim. The Grand Olav beats the Radisson hands down.

The room is small but comfortable. My room came with breakfast and dinner included in the rate. Wireless internet access is available and there are PCs in the lobby as well.

To summarize, a very good business hotel in the middle of the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kmrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Clarion Grand Olav. The location is excellent - right in the city centre. Our room was very comfortable and it was the only place we stayed on our trip to Norway where we got a proper cot for our daughter and not just a travel cot - so big thumbs up for that! The added extras of the free DVD library and the evening meal were brilliant too.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cailin-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed at this hotel in connection with a bike race. Several extra touches, which don't usually happen at hotels, made the stay stress-free and enjoyable: free DIY waffles and coffee in the afternoon, DVD in room with DVD library in foyer, a selection of bedside books, and the staff didn't bat an eyelid when we wheeled our bikes into the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobjimfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We were given a room facing the shopping center but did not feel depressed as the mall is made of glass walls so we could see on the outside and also the cold wind couldn.t get in the room- we were sleeping with open window. The room was large and clean, with modern but elegant classy furniture, had a luxurious feeling.
In our 5 days stay room service seemed that did not change linen, did not wash the bathroom, only changed toilet paper and towels that were dissappointly old, worn and of poor quality contrary to the high standards of everything else in this hotel.
Breakfast was large and of organic ingredients, but with a smaller variety in the weekend. There was free coffe, tea, juice and waffles available in the afternoom, and free light meal - soup, salads, ham and cheese - in the evenings, so we ended up eating for free all day long. There is also a collection of 150 DVD movies you can watch in your room - although a bit dated.
We also liked that the stuff in the lobby were very discrete.
Parking is payed in the streets from 8.00 to 20.00 and 24h/24h under the hotel, so one may have to park away from the hotel to find a cheaper place.
Trondheim is a small city and this hotel is close to everything.
We loved our stay in the Grand Olav.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews