We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongly Recommended for Business or Touring”
Review of Scandic Bakklandet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Bakklandet
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Strongly Recommended for Business or Touring”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This was the fourth hotel we stayed at in Norway and although all were good, this was the best. Located across the bridge from the rest of the main hotels, on the edge of the old part of town, this fine, modern hotel makes the best of its location with its open, airy design and huge glass wall to display the river outside. Everything was spotlessly clean for all four days and the room was spacious and well-appointed. The staff were all courteous and very helpful. Breakfast is sumptuous, with more choices than you could ever hope to eat. It is also not the most expensive hotel in town. Strongly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jules8Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, Booking Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Su-Ping,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you here again for your future visits to Trondheim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    295
    79
    24
    4
See reviews for
106
263
48
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a very nice new hotel in Trondheim, Norway. The location is great and very beautiful, especially since it did not get dark at all while we were there during the Summer. The hotel staff was very relaxed and they were very helpful with information about the city and what to see and do. Breakfast is great with a large selection of food. The eggs would come with bacon on top. As I am not an egg eater, but love bacon I would ask the cook if he would cook me a couple of slices of bacon and he was happy to oblige. They also make these really thin pancakes that are great. There are many restaurants within walking distance, including Peppes Pizza, which I always seem to eat at when I'm in Norway. If you are on a budget, there is a Burger King just down the street, as well as many full service restaurants close by. I enjoyed this city and it seems more relaxed than Oslo. I didn't eat at the hotel except for breakfast, but they seemed to have a nice restaurant.

Our group had all arrived after a very long trip and it was nice that the hotel was very comfortable and inviting. This is one of my favorite hotels that I have ever stayed in. Just the right size with excellent service from the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room. I didn't have one, but some of our group members did and had a very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JASONR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We’ve stayed in Bakklandet twice with no regrets whatsoever! Nice personnel, nice/fine rooms, good breakfast, best location and we are very pleased.
The only thing that might have been improved is a parking place, which is close (same building) but is not protected. Our car was rubbed at the last night. It is only a GPS and sunglasses (?!) that were stolen, so we don’t care. We didn’t go to police, only reported the case to a receptionist.
The parking does not belong to the hotel, so this is not their responsibility. But management has to talk to Euro Park cause at the end of the day such experience will be attached to the memories of the hotel, right?
Anyways, it was a nice stay and we’ll come back when in Trondheim again!

Room Tip: First we’ve stayed in a room 305 (I believe that’s a correct number) for 2 days. And that room was j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Trondheim seems full of large modern hotels, and I have stayed in a few of them. Rica Bakklandet has a particularly welcoming and professional staff compared with other hotels in this price range. The restaurant is superb, and the situation - in Nedre Bakklandet, right on the river - is about as good as it gets.
Of coarse most hotels provide internet access, but some have less convenient/ functional login methods than others - at Bakklandet you use your own name and room number for very simple access to a well functioning internet. The rooms are furnished in a modest modern style, with rather humorous (if slightly garish) art works.

Room Tip: Room 311 is a decent sized single room, with large double windows that open out to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was super excited about this hotel, the rooms are modern and lovely, our room had an amazing view. The bathroom was well equipped with soaps, creams,shampoos and conditioners from L'occitane. The breakfast was the best one I ever had in a Norwgian hotel! Big selection and the staff served coffee at the tables. Great service over all! Would happily return for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripptrapp95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posterholt, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

In the first place when I entered this Hotel was the very kiendly and warm greetings from the Manager and his members of the hotel crew.
The room was excellent, all was very clean and correct.
The restaurant was just like a living room.
The breakfast and also the dinner were very good and there was so much to eat, it was delicious.

Room Tip: Rooms above the third floor are the most quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre8835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed for one night. Got a nice room, with a window and limited view. The room was clean and the interior was modern.

Breakfast provided a good selection of options and was tastefull.

The location of the hotel is excellent, short walk to the city, Bakklandet and Solsiden.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiljeogRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#8 of 25 in Trondheim
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bakklandet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bakklandet

Property: Scandic Bakklandet
Address: Nedre Bakklandet 60, Trondheim 7014, Norway (Formerly Rica Bakklandet Hotel)
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bakklandet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Bakklandet hotel is centrally located in the heart of Trondheim along the river Nidelven by Bakke Bro. The harbour, bus and train station are within walking distance. Our hotel has a restaurant that serves a hearty breakfast, as well as dinner with a wide range of international dishes and local specialities. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 40 participants. We also have a fitness room, as well as a relax lounge and sauna. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Bakklandet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing