We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked, but a good recovery”
Review of Pensjonat Jarlen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pensjonat Jarlen
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We arrived about 2130 and they had concluded we weren't coming, despite my confirmed reservatiion. They put us up in the Thon Princess hotel just down the street instead and paid the difference in price. I think we got the better of the deal as the Princess included breakfast. It did take about 15 minutes for the desk clerk to call the manager and figure out what to do. So I can't say anything about the hotel other that they did make things right.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Clear directions were sent to me prior to my arrival, and it is about a 10-15 walk from the station. The room was a good size with a little kitchen (fridge, hot plates and sink) and a heated bathroom. It was basic but suitable for the price. Great wifi. The room was quiet - I could hear my neighbours coming and going, but they were pretty quiet. Helpful staff who let me use the washing machine and dryer for free. Nice location a short walk from the main street, and very secure, you leave your key at the front desk when you go out. Bring a sleep mask if you are there in summer because the sun doesn't set until 11pm and rises at 3am. Trondheim is absolutely stunning and I enjoyed my time there. Try a coffee from Dromedar cafe, there are a few in town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runitloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Centrally located and adequate for a city tri if you don't expect anything special but a reasonable price. Free WiFi, a little kitchen. Ordinary rooms, but hygiene could be much better with a dirty fridge and a Smela bathroom... Rooms facing the street are Esther loud due to single glazing and a tramway line passing by.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fuechtenkord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

basic, but clean, nice size rooms with wireless internet. Central and very convenient location, friendly and helpful staff. No elevator. 12pm check-out a plus.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Clean, nice size rooms, better than I expected! Central and very convenient. Great, helpful guy at the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This pension offers an hostel like accommodation. The low price is the only plus I can find about this hotel. The rooms are not really clean and they do not get cleaned during your stay (I've bee there for 4 days). The same is for towels, I got a single towel when I arrived and I never got a cleaned one in four days.

Definitively I regret I didn't spend a bit more for a better accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Japanninja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Excellent location, 2 minutes from Torg on foot; very comfortable room; nice bathroom with heated floor. The room is equipped with a kitchenette you can use for cooking easy meals. The wi-fi internet is for free. Unfortunately, in the absence of an elevator, at the check-in and the check-out guests are forced to carry their suitcases for two or three floors through the stairs. That doesn't change the fact this hostel is highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 24 in Trondheim
821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trondheim Vandrerhjem
Trondheim Vandrerhjem
#1 of 4 in Trondheim
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 24 in Trondheim
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 24 in Trondheim
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensjonat Jarlen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensjonat Jarlen

Address: Kongens gate 40, Trondheim 7012, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Trondheim
Price Range: $86 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensjonat Jarlen 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Pensjonat Jarlen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing