We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.”
Review of Pensjonat Jarlen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pensjonat Jarlen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location.”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Centrally located and adequate for a city tri if you don't expect anything special but a reasonable price. Free WiFi, a little kitchen. Ordinary rooms, but hygiene could be much better with a dirty fridge and a Smela bathroom... Rooms facing the street are Esther loud due to single glazing and a tramway line passing by.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuechtenkord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
18
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

basic, but clean, nice size rooms with wireless internet. Central and very convenient location, friendly and helpful staff. No elevator. 12pm check-out a plus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Clean, nice size rooms, better than I expected! Central and very convenient. Great, helpful guy at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This pension offers an hostel like accommodation. The low price is the only plus I can find about this hotel. The rooms are not really clean and they do not get cleaned during your stay (I've bee there for 4 days). The same is for towels, I got a single towel when I arrived and I never got a cleaned one in four days.

Definitively I regret I didn't spend a bit more for a better accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Japanninja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trondheim hotels

Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Excellent location, 2 minutes from Torg on foot; very comfortable room; nice bathroom with heated floor. The room is equipped with a kitchenette you can use for cooking easy meals. The wi-fi internet is for free. Unfortunately, in the absence of an elevator, at the check-in and the check-out guests are forced to carry their suitcases for two or three floors through the stairs. That doesn't change the fact this hostel is highly recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I think the rooms must be recently renovated, because everything looked new. Nice furniture, a 32" widescreen TV, nice bathroom. We booked a double room, it costs just a little bit more than a single room, but one of the beds were so big that 3 persons could sleep there.

The staff was good and helpful. The location couldn't be any better. The Wifi internet is free.

Only thing separating this hostel from a hotel, is no breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonasFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

This inn provides hostel-like rooms with bunk beds, private bathroom and kitchenette. I wasn't expecting a lot of this place due to the price and the central location, but I'm still regretting not having spent a little more to overnight in a better inn / hotel.

The receptionist was not exactly helpful: the guy seemed really annoyed to be disturbed when watching TV and gave us the room key without any guidance. But the real disappointment began when we arrived in the corridor: a powerful urine smell prevented me from breathing. The room itself was tiny and noisy (bad isolation and leaking kitchen tap), and the old shower was incredibly inconvenient, almost causing flood each time it was used.

The central location is the positive aspect of this accommodation, but if you are not desperate to save money, do yourself a favor and try something else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nordavind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Trondheim
Thon Hotel Trondheim
#15 of 25 in Trondheim
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Augustin
Quality Hotel Augustin
#14 of 25 in Trondheim
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Gildevangen
Thon Hotel Gildevangen
#9 of 25 in Trondheim
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensjonat Jarlen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensjonat Jarlen

Property: Pensjonat Jarlen
Address: Kongens gate 40, Trondheim 7012, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensjonat Jarlen 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Pensjonat Jarlen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing