We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh fish and bacalao. LOVE.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ravnkloa Fish Market

Ravnkloa Fish Market
Ranked #31 of 264 Restaurants in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Norwegian, European, Soups, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Ravnkloa web site is in Norweigian but many words are easily translatable. The market is mentioned in Lonely Planet as one of the three best seafood markets in Norway. Ravnkloa is a traditional fish market w many varieties of fish for purchase. This is largely a place for locals to purchase their seafood. The market also has prepared selections for take out and also will prepare some selections for eating there. We had the best seafood in Trondheim while there. We went for lunch everyday and sampled the traditonal fisksuppe, fishcakes, cod fish balls, etc etc etc. Even cod tongue which tasted so much better than it sounds. This entry is not meant to be published as a review. This was to suggest that you list it for future travelers to Trondheim. If you list Ravnkloa, please let me know and I will write a review, all of which will be 5 stars..... Thank you
Kragero, Norway
Level Contributor
156 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and bacalao. LOVE.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is my favorite place to eat in all of Norway. It is a fresh fish market that has tables on the river to eat from a menu. Each time I come, I always hope to order something new, but end up sticking with my favorite bacalao.

If you haven't tried bacalao, you are really missing something special. It is a red fish stew with just enough spice to keep it interesting.

In any case, the environment and laid back feeling of Ravnkloa will definitely make for a pleasant afternoon with friends and family.

Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great selection of fish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you are looking for a place to buy fresh fish over the counter, this is the place to go! It has even got an outdoor café (in the summer).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorgenkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting place to visit and eat lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This IS a fish market with a small eating area on the side. If you are interested in seeing local sea food this market is a must. The eating area is small and the selection is limited but they will take items straight from the cooler and cook it for you. We also bought bread, meats and cheese at the non-seafood counter for a traveling lunch the next day. Friendly, helpful service. And you are right on the wharf. After lunch take a harbor tour that leaves from the dock just outside the restaurant; some history, some sightseeing and fresh air.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonD7908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
227 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal close to jetty for boat trip to Munkholmen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had lunch here while waiting for the boat to Munkholmen. It was interesting to see the types of fish for sale, and I enjoyed my meal. I had the tasty Baccalao as well, and was impressed enough to cook it for myself when I got home! While you are at Ravnkloa, Munkholmen is well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeelKippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you're a fish you'll hate this; if you're a fish-lover, you'll fall for it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Visited on 2 July 2012.

This is a fantastic fish restaurant by Trondheim harbour. it's actually a fishmonger's, so you'll see a lot of fresh fish on display with local people buying it to take it home.

The restaurant side is smallish and the selection is not as large as for the fish you can buy and take home. However, it is delicious.

I had the Bacalao: simply superb; my partner had the prawns and they too were very good.

There a good wine list; we had the house white, which was quite good.

Prices are not too steep either (by Norwegian standards): 1 Bacalao + 1 prawn + 1/2 caraffe of house white + complimetary bread 465NOK (£49.69). I would go back just for this place!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank balzac70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ravnkloa Fish Market also viewed

Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 

Been to Ravnkloa Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing