We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what it says on the tin..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Living Scholler Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Booked this hotel as a cheaper option to the hotel booked by our conference.
Great location near to shops and bars.
Room quite basic, but very clean and well appointed.
Best thing were the staff who were SO helpful, whether it was directions, Internet access or local information. They helped with providing late checkout too.
Could have done with blackout curtains given that it stayed light all night in June...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    46
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
18
35
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel looks a bit like a hostel when comming in the lobby, or in the room. The beds are nevertheless very, very nice and the staff is friendly. The rooms look like they haven't had much maintenance, but are clean.
All in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forde, Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

I booked this hotel online based on location and price and we were needing a three person room. First thing to say is that the staff at this hotel were really great. They tried what they could to make the situation better. We were staying at the hotel due to treatments at the hospital the next day so it was communicated that we would like a quiet room. When we first checked into our room it appeared to be not the most clean room but we just accepted that due to the price. When we started using the facilities such as the bathroom we saw just how dirty the place was. Slops on the walls, hair in bathroom, unidentified slops on bathroom door, bedding was stained, floor was sticky and filthy. We called down to reception and explained the situation. The night reception man C was very accomodating and friendly. He tried his best to suggest he would clean the room but we just wanted a new one. There were none available. In the end we ended up getting sheets and more sheets to cover all of the floor and the beds so we could create a "sterile" cover to sleep on and walk on. I am not exaggerating either......it was that dirty. I will give them the benefit of the doubt and hope that not all the rooms were as bad as ours. The staff said that the room would be shut down after our stay and cleaned. I hope so for the next person who will stay in room 417. We were given a few dollars off our room but in my mind we should have been refunded totally and invited back another time on the house!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank can-nor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trondheim hotels

Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

I chose to stay at the City Living Scholler Hotel for five nights, as an alternative to the hotels offered by the conference I was attending, which costed at least 250USD a night each.
The room was fairly small but nicely equipped with a desk, a flat TV, a fairly large closet and a decent bathroom. The one thing I didn't know about before reserving was that THERE IS NO ROOM CLEANING SERVICE (well, only once a week). I was a little surprised at first, but ended up appreciating the fact that I didn't have to hide all of my valuables every morning.
In that sense, this hotel is more like a residence. It has FREE LAUNDRY SERVICE on every floor. Staff was friendly and helped me find some good place to eat.
The Hotel is very very conveniently located half a block from the major bus stop (that takes you to the university, for instance), and only a few blocks away from any attraction.
I'd recommend this place to students and young travelers who are willing to put up with making their bed and cleaning their own rooms every day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alemenchaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

This hotel is good alternative for youth on a budget. Nice clean rooms, some with small kitchens. No minibar, no breakfast. We found it comfy that we could leave the room knowing that it would not be cleaned before we checked out. Not recommended for couples and people with luxury needs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoogland, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

This hotel offered half price discounts (probably continuously) but they do not tell you one forehand that that is becausse of their 'cheap concept': you room will be cleaned not more than once a week, you won't be provided with clean towels, no shower gel (except for toilet machine soap). I have found puke in the elevator, in the stairs to the fifth floor and as I speak their a blood stains in the elevator. I had room that was located at the open space in the middle which is full of cigarette butts and a very noisy machine that will keep you awake at night. In sum it is just a very dirty place and I'm not sure if Norwegian health authorities comply with this.
Then there is the secret fifth floor which is hard to be found and closed off (elevator goes to the fourth). I was told this is for the manager (never seen him in a week time) which is unlikley as the map shows that it is whole floor full of hotel rooms. It maybe none of my businees but I noticed people looking at me from the fifth and that is very unpleasant if you do not know if these are tourists, locals managers or what?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchguest333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Small Fake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

Not sure if this qualifies as a hotel nightmare experience, but it must come mighty close. Arrived mid-day to a locked office. Entered 'superior' room with a balcony about 3:30 pm. and noticed strange smell. Opened fridge and got hit with a stench something like a rotting carcass full of fish guts baking in the Sahara sun, that permeated the room instantly. Informed front desk of of this fact and were told that 'all the help had gone home for the day' (at 15:30) and that she might be able to come up and spray it later. Since the hotel was fully booked, husband opted to move fridge to balcony, and we wiped up the rotting fridge residue from hell. After a decent night's sleep, I heard the husband curse at full volume from his early morning bathroom visit- and knew things had gotten worse. Evidently, he was greeted with a most unwelcome cold puddle forming at his feet, that grew and grew, until he realized it was coming from the floor drain, and this was just the brush your teeth water, and we were on the top floor.
For those of you still reading this who will stay here- there are no hooks or towel bars in the bathroom, they cut costs here to save us money. They have a great location, and the manager seemed truly mortified when we hastily left the following morning, and gave us a small discount, she may have seen the John Rambo look in the husband's eyes. Stay at your own risk, ignore the stains on the furniture, and whatever you do- don't open the fridge.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank americanshepherdess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.3 mi away
P-Hotels Brattora
P-Hotels Brattora
#20 of 25 in Trondheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Living Scholler Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Living Scholler Hotel & Apartments

Property: City Living Scholler Hotel & Apartments
Address: Dronningens gate 26, Trondheim 7011, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Living Scholler Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Trondheim, City Living Schøller Hotel provides air-conditioned accommodation right across the street from Stiftsgården royal residence. It offers rooms with cable TV and free Wi-Fi.The spacious rooms at Schøller Hotel feature wooden floors and modern furnishings. Each room has a refrigerator and a kettle.DVD players and movies can be borrowed in the reception at Hotel City Living Schøller. Shared on-site facilities include a fully equipped kitchen and laundry room. Breakfast can be purchased and delivered to the room.Torvet, Trondheim’s main square, is located 200 metres away, and offers shopping entertainment and nightlife. The Nidaros Cathedral is an 8-minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Living Scholler Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing