We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice charming restaurant, a bit expensive, but worth it.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AiSuma

AiSuma
Ranked #13 of 264 Restaurants in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European, Scandinavian, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We serve food inspired by the Italian kitchen and wine that completes the meal. Enjoy a meal in Trondheim's oldest warehouse.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice charming restaurant, a bit expensive, but worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had dinner on a Saturday evening. And a small advice; don't go here without a reservation. It is a popular place, not a drop-in restaurant. The waiters are all very effective and smiling. But I think they could have been some more. When all the tables were filled up, we sometime had to wait quite some time in order to get contact with "our" waiter. The restaurant it self is a nice place in an old wooden house by the river Nidelva, but with some modern interior, a lot of lights and special effects. I find the place charming, with it's own style. The food is nice, we had lamb and fish and all the dishes where prepared just as we wanted. Nice wine, dessert and coffee. Someone might find it a bit expensive, but compared to other restaurants it was as we expected. The only thing we could complain about, was that heat in the room. It has an open kitchen in the middle where three or four chefs are preparing the food. And that also increased the heat, in addition to smell and smoke from time to time. I think they should have renewed the exhaust fan system. But besides that, we had a lovely evening and I am sure we will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oslo_NorwayKnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    118
    47
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As a solo business traveler, I'm conflicted”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

As a solo business traveler, I'm conflicted. On the positive side, it is beautiful... a lovely view of the water, with rustic wood interiors, but modern & eclectic furnishings. When traveling alone, I rarely feel so comfy. The food (the little that I got) was delicious... but that takes me to the negative...

First and foremost, I do not consider myself cheap. I will happily spend quite a deal of money on a good meal... it's one of life's greater joys afterall. And, granted, I expected Norway to be expensive. But, I disagree with the reviewers that felt this was a well priced option. I ordered two appetizers (which is usually enough for me): the scallops and the mushroom ravioli. The scallop dish consisted of two very small scallops and the ravioli was two equally small pillows. This alone was over $40 and I was far from satiated. Add in the two (small) glasses of the house red wine, and my total bill was over $60 (excluding tip). Even after having spent over 4+ years in London, I felt this was a bit much. Adding insult to injury, the service was soooooooo slow, albeit very pleasant. It appeared that my waiter was serving half the entire restaurant, which was not especially small. But kudos to him for all-in-all being very nice.

That said, I'm conflicted. This might be a bigger condemnation on Trondheim than the restaurant, but I still felt it worth of pointing out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Atalanta2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over-cooked and over-priced on over-time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Posing as Italian, this riverside restaurant is an overblown mediocre fastfood place, but with a painstakingly slow service. Last time around we had the fixed three-course meny and waited more than an hour. The king crab was covered in melted cheese and grilled almost to charcoal. The main fish course drowned in industry sauce. The dessert was a straight panna cotta with berries and a vanilla sauce, the best part of the meal by far. The athmosphere is loud, and somehow charming. The service was apologetic, but inattentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skrubbetusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must visit place in Trondheim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Along the river in an old warehouse where the raw wood of the construction is kept visible as much as possible. You step into history and get a modern well prepared meal. Book in advance (online bookings available).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomasEliasLupus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Ai Suma delivers! Nice environment, friendly staff and very good food. And, the place isn't ripping you off. Ai Suma would impove into a full score if the tables weren't stacked to densely and if the service were lifted to a little bit more professional level. Tourist in Trondheim? Ai Suma is a very safe bet.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteinarFuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AiSuma also viewed

Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 

Been to AiSuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing