We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent - second stay”
Review of Abra Havn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kristiansand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abra Havn
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Certificate of Excellence
Larvik, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Still excellent - second stay”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here last year and again this July.
Still an excellent place, fun for both children and adults. This year we had a house by the canal with excellent view of the boat in the morning. The apartment have all you need, clean, modern a good beds. I still miss bed railings as the beds are quite high for children.
There are activities in the afternoon/early evening, so you must walk around the area when you're not in the park.
This year we had booked the pirate breakfast and I really recommend it, even if it can look at bit expensive at first. You sail with the pirate ship Den Sorte Dame to breakfast in Dyreparken. The pirates give quite a show during the boat trip, singing and dancing, and this continue during the breakfast. There was a good selection of food, many choices for children and adults. After the breakfast you travel with Den Sorte Dame back to Abra Havn and during the trip back you will either experience a hunt for a treasure (every child got a golden coin) or a "battle" with another ship. My son was over the moon and as the Sabeltann show in Dyreparken is too late for him, this was a good replacement.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbraHavn, Director of Sales at Abra Havn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Google Translation
Hiv o hoi fra Grashavet!

Tusen takk for at dere har funnet veien til Abra Havn på ny - det både gleder og varmer virkelig! Høres ut som dere har fått smaken på ekte sjørøverliv. Hvis dere tenker på å returnere til oss neste år, kan vi varmt anbefale kveldsforestillingen med Kaptein Sabeltann - magisk, morsomt og spektakulært!

Vi ønsker hele familien en riktig god sommer, og hils dine småpirater fra oss - for i Abra Havn er det de som tross alt er hedersgjestene:)


Eng:
We are very thankful for Your second visit at Abra Havn - and many thanks for the review. Wish you all a happy summer and hope to see You back another time! Give Your little pirates a warm regard from us!

Sjørøverhilsen
Rolf,
Abra Havn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    92
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
426
1
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Charming "old village" with state of the art accomodations, with a fridge and a small kitchen. Once the amusementpark Dyreparken closed, the kids had lots of exploring and playing around inside the village. Only drawback was a too small selection in the village restaurant. Still think I will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreasBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbraHavn, Director of Sales at Abra Havn, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Google Translation
Hiv o hoi fra Abra Havn!

Tusen takk for din tilbakemelding på oppholdet i Abra Havn. Vi håper små og store sjørøvere hadde det kjempegøy hos oss. Vi har i år jobbet frem et nytt bespisningskonsept i sjørøverkroa og vil fortsette og viderutvikle dette slik at vi kan tilby et enda bredere utvalg av mat i fremtiden

Velkommen tilbake!

Sjørøverhilsen
Abra Havn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Children LOVES this place, they don't need to have know of Kaptain Sabeltann before, they will learn a lot just for the days there. Pirates come in the morning singing and are back in the night doing a small show and games with the children.
Recommend breakfast with the pirates fun for the parents too.
Small apartments so possible to make you own food.

But ONE BIG problem staying with children more then 1 night, MISSING of cleaning doing the stay. We stayed 3 night and there was no cleaning do, with small children and nothing to clean with is a bad idea. And waste forehead full didn't find extra bags or something, missing tea towel.

There is no closet space for clothes so you will be living in your bags if you stay more the one night. (I was with a family of 4 in 3 nights)

Good family feeling....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mes-petits-amis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbraHavn, Director of Sales at Abra Havn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hiv o hoi

Tusen takk for at dere besøkte Abra Havn - og det gleder oss å høre at dere har hatt det fint hos oss. I Abra Havn har vi sluttrengjøring, men dersom du bor lengre enn 3 netter tilbyr vi en mellomrengjøring. Uansett skal vi sørge for at det er nok søppelposer og oppvasktabletter tilgjengelig slik at gjester kan ha det rent og trivelig under oppholdet. Vil benytte anledningen til å ønske dere hjertelig velkommen tilbake til oss ved en senere anledning

Eng:
Dear Pirates!
Many thanks for the review, we are grateful and so pleased to hear that you had such a great time. In Abra Havn we have cleaning after departure, but if you stay longer than 3 nights we offer all guests a light cleaning of the cabin too. Anyway, we must ensure all guests that there are enough equipment in the cabin to keep it clean during the stay. Thanks for letting us know, feedback is a gift!




Sjørøverhilsen
Abra Havn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a truly magical experience for the whole family. I have two kids, who absolutely loved exploring this amazing pirate themed village. There are great activities for kids here, such as breakfast and dinner with pirates, We stayed here in 2013, and my children hasn't shut up about it since. The atmosphere here is great for adults too. The apartments are nice and clean, and each apartment has its own little area outside. This makes it really easy to relax after the kids have gone to bed, and you can sit outside, watching the little lanterns reflected in the water.

The price may seem quite steep, but you really get a lot more than just a place to stay. You get entertainment as well, and this pretty unique atmosphere that I suspect will be hard to find in any other place. If I should wish for one more thing, it would be a great place to eat within the complex.

We have already booked a new stay there this summer, and we are looking forward to coming back, and bring out our inner pirates once again.

Room Tip: For an extra fee, you get to decide the location of your apartment. I truly reccommend one of those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verdsvandraren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbraHavn, Director of Sales at Abra Havn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hiv o hoi fra Abra Havn!

Tusen takk for tilbakemeldingen på deres opphold og det er ingenting som gleder oss mer enn at små og store har hatt det bra! Det høres ut som dere sitter igjen med masse sjørøverminner. Vi jobber videre med utviklingen av bespiningskonseptet i Abra Havn og kan fra årets sesong blant annet friste med planke-tapas!

Vi håper å se dere igjen til nye eventyr i verdens sjørøverhovedstad

Eng: Many thanks for Your review of Abra Havn. We are pleased that you found our place and enjoyed yourselves during the vacation! We hope that you still got great memories from your trip. We are constantly working on our concepts to meet our guests also when it comes to food and beverages, and have developed a new concept of tapas for this season

We hope to see you in the future

Sjørøverhilsen / Best regards
Abra Havn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ski, Norge
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

All rooms are built as pirate homes/apartements in low buildings mostly around a pool. Apartment is ok for a small family of four, maybe even five. Captain Sabretooth (Sabeltann) has combats by ship in this pool several times a day. You can also have breakfast with the pirates - recommenndable. Lots of activities for both children and adults. Very good access to Dyreparken by boat or by foot (approx 10 minutes walk from main entrance). It is expensive but worth the money. Cooking possibilities in each apartment with dishwasher.

Room Tip: if you can - by the boardwalk round the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DagIngvald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbraHavn, Director of Sales at Abra Havn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hiv o hoi!

Tusen takk for din tilbakemelding på oppholdet i Abra Havn - og veldig hyggelig å høre dere har hatt det så fint. Vi håper både små og større familier finner seg vel tilrette i våre trivelige sjørøverkåker. Her finner man alle type leiligheter fra 2-6 sengeplasser med 1-3 soverom

Du kommer alltid tilbake!

Eng: Many thanks for Your review of Abra Havn - and it is a pleasure to hear that You had such a great time. We hope that our piratecabins are suitable for both small and bigger families. We got different cabins that varies from 2-6 beds and with 1-3 separate bedrooms.

Hope to see You again in the future

Sjørøverhilsen / Best regards

Rolf T. Øygarden
Sales Manager
Abra Havn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hareid, Norway
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Haven`t you been here? you miss something.
This is a great place to stay, both for kids and adults..
This place have been built up as a pirate place. AND IT IS...
We all loved it. It can be expensive but its worth the money..

Best attraction in Norway...

Room Tip: Get a cabin by the sea..Like house number 3 or 4. They are suitable for 3-4 people..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbraHavn, Director of Sales at Abra Havn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear pirates of Abra Havn!

Thank You so much for the review on Tripadvisor. We are so glad that you found Our place and chose to stay with us.

We hope to see You all in the future

Pirateregards
Abra Havn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed one night for the Kaptein Sabeltann show. Two room apartment with small kitchen area. Great pirate ambiance, this is the only real theme park I Norway. Kids loved. I recommend it, although it is a bit on the pricey side for longer stays. Room is very comfortable. Food service options a bit limited.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredrikG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbraHavn, Director of Sales at Abra Havn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Google Translation
Hiv o hoi!

Tusen takk for din anmeldelse av Abra Havn og vi setter stor pris på å høre at dere har hatt det bra hos oss. Vi håper å kunne se dere på andre siden av Grashavet ved en senere anledning

Eng.
Thank You so much for Your review of Abra Havn. We are delighted to hear that You had such a good time when visiting us. We hope to see you guys back in Abra Havn later, the world capital of pirates by the Sea of Gras!

Sjørøverhilsen
Anra Havn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.1 mi away
Dyreparken Hotell
Dyreparken Hotell
#6 of 19 in Kristiansand
430 reviews
6.0 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
582 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scandic Sorlandet
Scandic Sorlandet
#10 of 19 in Kristiansand
294 reviews
6.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
609 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sjoglott Hotel
Sjoglott Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abra Havn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abra Havn

Property: Abra Havn
Address: Travparkveien, Kristiansand 4609, Norway
Location: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABRA HAVN Abra Havn (eng. Abra Port) , is a pirate hotel resort based on the universe of Kaptein Sabeltann (eng. Captain Sabertooth)Stay, live and act like a real pirate in this uniqe city of 171 piratecabins nearby Dyreparken in Kristiansand. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing