We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Oslo
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

The Radisson chain is a decent chain but as many of the chains local, smaller hotels this one is old but clean. Central location, only a 5 min walk from the main street.

The rooms are clean but small with decent facilities.

The staff are very friendly and helpful if you are lost :).

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W A, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Magnus C,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our central location and our friendly service.
We hope to welcome you back to Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel next time you visit Kristiansand.


Best Regards
Patrick Adolfsen
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    138
    98
    57
    16
See reviews for
75
74
25
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

A nice hotel central in Kristiansand, friendly staff and good breakfast. A good place to stay if you're in Kristiansand for business. I just slept there one night and didn't check out the restaurant. Clean and nice, value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Hilde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W A, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Google Translation
Kjære Hilde B.
Tusen takk for din hyggelige tilbakemelding. Det gleder meg å lese at du hadde ett hyggelig opphold når du var hos oss, og at du var fornøyd med frokosten og servicen fra kollegene mine.
Jeg videreformidler dine hyggelige ord til personalet.

Jeg håper vi får gleden av å ønske deg velkommen tilbake neste gang du befinner deg på disse kanter.

Med vennlig hilsen
Patrick Adolfsen
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The rooms are nice and big and had a great view. The bathroom had an 70s or 80s feel with orange tiles. Room service was great and I was able to have a late check out without any fees. Would try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eigil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W A, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Eigil, Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not fully satisfied with your room. Please contact us directly next time you are in Kristiansand, and we will be happy to give you another room with white tiles. I hope this will raise your impression of the hotel room.
I'm pleased to read that you were satisfied with our room service and the late check-out. Late check out is a part of the Radisson BLU service that we provide all over the world upon request and availability.
My collegues and I hope to welcome you back to Radisson BLU Caledonien Hotel next time you are in Kristiansand.
Kind Regards
Patrick Adolfsen
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights, overall quite satisfied!

Nice room, good view, and a large tv with HDMI! Had good company deals, but the meals at the hotel restaurant were amazing! Highly recommended!

Good party on weekends in the hotel bar, sadly everything in town stops at 0200..

The bathroom had leakage from the bath tube so there were always some water on the floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valaszkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W A, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Valaszkai,
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review about our hotel.
I am glad you you were so satisfied. Regarding the leakage from the bathroom we have already taken care of it to make sure this will not happend again.
I hope you will visit us the next time you are visiting Kristiansand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and was disappointed. It was scruffy to say the least. Broken sink in the bathroom, shower was poor, all the furniture was worn out and stained and finally I had a single quilt on a double bed.
The Restarunt downstairs has a very limited choice on the menu and the service is very slow. It is located right beside a storage container yard and is quite noisy.
So to sum up....
Old and tired
Average food
Poor service
Noisy location
Very over priced

Room Tip: Go anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W A, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Simon M.
Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel.
I'm sorry to read that your expectations were not met while staying with us.

We read all our reviews and use this usefull information from our guest to always deliver better experiences for our guests.
Since your departure we have renovated to floors in the wing you were staying, and we do hope that this will raise the first impression of the room.
We have also introduced our new Winter Meny in our restaurant.

I hope you will consider to stay with us again, and I promise we will deliver a better experience for you.

Kind Regards
Patrick W. Adolfsen
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kristiansand hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed at Radisson Blu Caledonien multiple times before. This is my 7th stay here. I just moved to Kristiansand as an expat and to be able to earn Club Carlson points, I chose Radisson Blu as my temporary lodging during 27 days. As I was a gold member, a smiley receptionist upgraded me from a business class room that I booked to a suite. I was welcomed by a plate of exotic fruits in the middle of Norway cold and that was really awesome!! Every morning, My room was cleaned very carefully. I love the bath robes they provide, which is a luxury that most other hotels in Kristiansand does not give. Additionally, hotel has special events such as ballroom events, Stand up shows, concerts and a piano bar. Actually hotel's lobby bar is known as one of the best places to hang out on Saturday nights. Many people from all around the town were coming to the event room at the second floor dressed up and looking good. All I had to do was to take the elevator from my suite down to the event room and have fun. It is a great hotel. the only disadvantage is the rooms and the furniture are extremely old. Kristiansand has a 2 brand new hotels: 1 Scandic and 1 Clarion. But the rooms at Radisson are much bigger than those. The elevator is extremely noisy though at Radisson. that was the only down side for me. I strongly recommend anybody to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Just book the business class room and ask for an upgrade to a suite if you arrive on a weekend day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel used to be number 1 in Kristiansand. The rooms are very dated and old. The look is from the 80's. Nice ppl working there. Nice bar. Boring food. Very nice location. Slow wifi compared to the competition.. Awfull bed. Seem to forget that the world moved forward. Very many tiny details could have been fixed easy.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GeirM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge
#7 of 19 in Kristiansand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sjoglott Hotel
Sjoglott Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand

Property: Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Address: Vestre Strandgate 7, Kristiansand 4610, Norway
Location: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel is situated by the seafront down town Kristiansand. The hotel is full of atmosphere and reflects a high standard and service throughout. Come and join us. Experience something different. We are not just an ordinary hotel. We can taylor anything from rock climbing to boat trips or salmon fishing. We suggest - You approve - We arrange it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kristiansand
Kristiansand Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing