We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
818 results
Traveler rating
351
295
107
39
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
351
295
107
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel renovated room late check fantastic breakfast nice selection small things interior design room facing breakfast buffet nice room the main street train station single room nice staff city centre lobby parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 818 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2019

Nice hotel in the center of Kristiansand. Consistently high standard of hotel and all its amenities. Staff are perceived as pleasant and very service friendly!
The breakfast was very good and with a selection that should be in the taste of most people, and with the same standard as the rest of the hotel.
Recommended!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Venture22169126464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennethrP7006JE, Direktør/General Manager at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for a really nice review. My staff and I are looking forward to welcoming you back. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

Hotel is nice, but the interior design and furniture are too elaborate, ornate. This is giving a sense of kitsch to the ambientation. Rooms, as all in Clarion's chain, are too dark because of the furnitures and floors (dark moquette/carpets).
When we arrived we asked some suggestion to the guy who was at the reception (parking, dine, sighsteen), but he was not helpful at all (he was very kind, but he seems didn't know anything about the city). The lady who was at the reception next day was much more helpful and talkative. Breakfast was really nice and rich.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Piergiorgio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennethrP7006JE, Direktør/General Manager at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Piergiorgio.

Thank you so much for a kind review. I’m sorry you didn’t find the first receptionist helpful. We are training some new receptionists for the moment. I’ll let them know. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

I’ve stayed at this hotel for business on numerous occasions, but this time it was for a family vacation and a visit to Dyreparken.

The hotel was, as always, neat and clean. The service is impeccable and all in all it makes for a nice experience for both adults and children.

The hotels location very near the town square also makes it convenient for going out for dinner or a walk along the city beach.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ahoistad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennethrP7006JE, Direktør at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Hello ahoistad!

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are looking forward to seeing you again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019

Lovely hotel! Stayed a night with my husband and we were not disappointed. The person who did the interior design for this hotel certainly knew what they were doing. I really loved the whole historical look with the staircase, fancy lobby, and room interior.

We especially had requested a room with a bathtub and were not disappointed! The staff had also left a congratulation card in our room as we had just gotten married. The indoor balcony with a view straight to the lobby was an interesting detail.

The breakfast was wonderful as well. The breakfast buffet was very organized and even people with food allergies/intolerances had been taken into accord. I loved that there was a nice selection of gluten free breakfast products.

Location wise the hotel is in a very ideal spot right next to a big shopping street and has access to buses that can take you all over the town, to the zoo and to sørlandssenteret shopping mall.

The only negatives I could really think of would be lack of windows (for those that want windows, we didn't mind the lack of them) and the room temperature options. Even the lowest temperature felt quite warm. The bathroom floor heating was quite nice but I think it also played a big part with the warm temperature. Also, the ritual shampoos in the bathroom might be bad for people that aren't good with strong scents.

I did not have a chance to try out the sauna, gym or other facilities so I cannot comment on those due to our short stay.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Inkswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennethrP7006JE, Direktør at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Dear Inkswan.

Thank you so much for your complementary review. Hope to see you again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

Always friendly greetings in this hotel, situated downtown Kristiansand.

Easy checkin - 2 mind max.

The rooms are Nice, so is the bathroom.
Excellent breakfast, Nice reception and a good bar.

All you need really.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank GourmetFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennethrP7006JE, Direktør at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Dear GourmetFoody!

Thank you so much for your review. We are looking forward to seeing you again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews