We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in downtown Kristiansand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay in downtown Kristiansand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

A great looking hotel, newly renovated. Reception made us feel very welcome, and was helpful in helping us find different places around town.
Our room, a Standard room, looked and felt fresh, both in the sleeping area and bathroom, and had a view down to the lobby. I really liked the combo of lush velvet and modern steel that our room had.
Breakfast is included, and gave a good variety of food and drinks, typically continental style.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunloverS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    208
    63
    24
    19
See reviews for
83
162
28
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Definitely not cheap but well maintaibed. New rooms with modern desing are perfectly clean. Double room really small , hard to place two big suitcases. Very limited place to work. Big LCD with widest choice of channels we met in Norway. There is a safe in room which is also rare for Norway. Hotel is centraly located with public parking in front of. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waldemar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Perfectly acceptable hotel in the center of Kristiansand. Staff was very friendly. Clean rooms and breakfast was great, but lots of little things were lacking. Rooms were very small (even compared to other European hotels) and as another reviewer wrote, there was not enough room to work. If you weren't careful flushing the toilet, it would continue to run all day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliassen, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for rating us at TripAdvisor. We love to get feedback!

Regarding your comments we will continue our good work on breakfast and cleaning. When it comes to size of room, and place to work; please tell our booking of your needs, and they will provide you with a room suited for you at your next stay.

Welcome back to Clarion Hotel Ernst!

Mikael Eliassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
190 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel had alsways been there, centrally located in Kristiansand close to the train station and the main city streets. We were positively surprised by the new modern lobby, the alternative choice of colors, decoration adn details, and above all a very nice and friendly service.
The breakfast was wonderful and the room very nice.
Absolutely a place to recommend.

Room Tip: I guess far from the bar?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathiOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear guest!

Thank you so much for your respond. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that both service and quality was fulfilled.

We have been working hard with our breakfast, and is therefor glad to see that you pointed out this particular.

I hope that we can wish you welcome back to our hotel.

Yours sincerelly

Mikael Eliassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Satyed at the hotel for one night in business travel context. Small rooms with no desk to work on. But - comfortable and good furniture. I will recommend it for hooliday and comfort. Breakfast is really good. Good location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear guest!

We are very happy to see that you have rated us on Trip Advisor, and that you have had a nice stay with us.

If you come back again, please ask the reception for a room with desk. Most of our rooms have a desk to work on.

Welcome back again!

Yours sincerrely

Mikael Eliassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Clean and great location. Breakfast was wonderful. Eat a lot because food in restaurants for lunch and dinner is expensive. Complimentary coffee and tea all night. Don't forget to bring a bathing suit because there is a great spa downstairs. Really, really nice. Sooooooo Scandinavian! Also you can book a facial or massage. Love it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julesofjuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Absolutely a hotel worth staying at. The service was very nice and I liked the trendy interior, even if it might be a little dark to some people. The room was spacious and with everything I needed and the location of the hotel was perfect. We had dinner in the restaurant - that was very ok, but no uniqe experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hildegull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliassen, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Ernst, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear guest!

Thank you so much for your positive response.

We will use your comment on the restaurant to improve our product, and hope that we next time can give you a even better experience.

Yours sincerelly

Mikael Eliassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge
#7 of 19 in Kristiansand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Kristiansand
Thon Hotel Kristiansand
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Ernst

Property: Clarion Hotel Ernst
Address: Radhusgt. 2, Kristiansand 4664, Norway
Location: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kristiansand
#5 Family Hotel in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Ernst 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Kristiansand
Clarion Kristiansand
Kristiansand Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing