We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre ++”
Review of Maltid - CLOSED

Maltid
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Here at Måltid we love to surprise our guests. Inspired by the Nordic kitchen and based on natural and locally sourced ingredients, we aim to create new, exciting and clean tastes.Nature decides our menu. Therefore it changes according to the seasons and the access to fresh produce. The wine menu is tailored to suit the dishes, but we also have a separate wine list for you to choose from.You are most welcome to pop in and have a drink at the bar, enjoy some light meals or chose all the dishes on the menu. The choice is yours!
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is an upmarket fine dining restaurant where the food is treated as artwork. It was really good, completely weird and different but in a good way. Be warned its pricey but worth a visit

Thank Skedunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALTID R, Leder  at Maltid, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thanks for visiting us.
I am sorry that you felt our restaurant is expensive, we should not be much more pricy than the other restaurants in Kristiansand.
Welcome back :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 153 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

Fantastic food, --and wines ! A culinary experience! Service is great , the atmosphere good.
Despite it is expensive, it's worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ellen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALTID R, Leder  at Maltid, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Ellen h,

Thank you so much for liking our restaurant, and for writing about it here at TripAdvisor.

Welcome back :)

Best Regards,

Linn Mjelde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Dining at Maltid is a taste explosion.

We went for the full 8 courses plus wine selection. These came with 5 mises en bouche and 2 digestif dishes. It was not cheap, but it was worth it.

The service was attentive, the food was overwhelmingly wonderful, and the wines. Oh, the wines! Since moving to Norway I have often yearned for fine wines in restaurants. I found them at Maltid. Given the quality (and the cost of buying wine in Norwegian restaurants), the 'vinpakker' offered at Maltid are very reasonably priced.

What makes Maltid excellent is not just the locally, ethically produced food, but the thoughtfulness that goes into the flavour combinations. The chefs should be proud. The presentation and service do justice to the food.

Go with an open mind and a hunger for good things. You won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALTID R, Eier at Maltid, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear Kate M,

Thank you!
We really appreciate good reviews!
We are working really hard to give our guest an experience not only good food. So thank you for enjoying our work :)

Have a good easter!

Yours sincerly,
Linn Mjelde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The thyme has a pedigree to show to, the stones on which food is served on are seemingly hatched out from Erik the Reds own private mountain, and the pine-tree ice cream tastes like... pine tree. My pallet at least, does not care for brown-cheese infused fish deconstructed with red tea leaves and local crab filled with hoof- reduction. Just because it´s different and exotic, does not make it tasty no matter how extravagant and exotic they make it sound or how adventurous they make you feel. They´ve been on TV. And in Norway, that´s quite something.

The deer they serve, for example, is bred. Meaning bred, like on a farm, behind a fence! Just… how is does that match the "authentic, using local environmentally friendly ingredients"- image?

We asked for some eco-meat. No options. The vegetarian among us was served the blandest mushrooms he´d ever had.

And the prices are juuuuuuuuuuuuuust thievery. Even for upscale dining. In Norway.

Our waitress was a russian model who spoke neither English or Norwegian, moved like a robot. And if you DARE ask for something a little different, like "why would you serve in-bred deer and moose instead of real game meat?" Or "why does this clam come with goat cheese from France instead of Norway?"They will just ignore you.

They won't hear your real questions. Because some famous people were there once and said it was so extravagantly great, so they now they can. Because it´s Måltid. If Janteloven was a person, this would be his restaurant of choice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
10  Thank Cee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALTID R, Leder  at Maltid, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Cee F,

Thanks for your review, we appreciate all kinds of feeback we can get. It is the only way to get better.

Anyway, in this matter we wish you at least could be honest. The dishes explained is nothing we have ever served in our restaurant. Yes, we have served both brown cheese and pine-treee ice cream, but never in combination with fish. Red tea is not used in our restaurant at all because of the use of only Norwegian products, the same with French cheese.
Neither do we have models hired as waitresses, russian or not. I could go on...

We understand our restaurant was not for you, but your review is not very polite and I can not take it serious.

I hope you are honest in the future.

With Regards,

Linn Mjelde
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent local food, great service and warm atmosphere. Certainly the best restaurant, by far, in Kristiansand maybe even in Norway.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kyllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALTID R, Leder  at Maltid, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Kyllen,

Thanks a lot for your great review!

Welcome back any time :)

Yours sincerly

Linn Mjelde
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maltid also viewed

Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
 
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
 
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing