We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$121
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/21
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Expedia.com$121
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
106
103
55
23
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
106
103
55
23
24
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 311 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Unique place with acres of woods, gardens and paths. Can spend the day relaxed or exert within the premises. Clean and spacious rooms in the new building with balconies reaching tree tops. Pool was ok but renovation will do a lot of change. (baby pool too shallow??) Staff was nice.
visiting Kandy city center will take time in traffic hours.

Room tip: Rooms in the upper floor of the new building are better if you look for views.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank palinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan R, Front Office Manager at Tree of Life Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review on tripadvisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Tree of Life. I have shared your comments with the team, and they must be very happy to hear their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

While thanking again for staying with us and please come and stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

We ended up at Tree of life after terrible experience at Serendip Stone. What to say? Indeed it needs to be updated, but as many others hotels of its kind. What bothered us is that the swimming pool is really dirty, more than in others hotel and that food is again not suited for European kids at all. Service and people are very nice as many others in Sri Lanka.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank lo006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan R, Front Office Manager at Tree of Life Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review on tripadvisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Tree of Life. I have shared your comments with the team, We have already addressed to the management regarding your concern areas and they will do their maximum to improve all this areas.

Thank you once again for staying with us and hope to see you again in the future !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2016

after adaaran club rannalhi our next stayon19 july was in hotel tree of life. this resort consist of about 65 acers of land with hilly tracks for walking and cycling.its a very beautiful natural resort to live if you want silence. only a few rooms were occupied. there was a complete silence except wind blows ma.king my children scared.dinning room and food was on average. a cat and flies were accompanying and sharing your food all the time.staff was nice and cooperative. swimming pool was not used for swimming.there was no WIFI faciliyy in rooms but at specific places it was free,maintinence of room and amentese were on the average.any how its a nice hotel for those who want complete silence and found of joging hicking cycling and natural beautiful landscape.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drnisarraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan R, Front Office Manager at Tree of Life Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Dear Reviewer,

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Tree of life. I have shared your comments with the management team and the staff too.We have already addressed about your concern ares to the relevant departments and we will do the maximum to rectify this issues. Thank you once again for your Positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you again to Tree of life in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2016

The resort is placed in a very scenic location. The environment is ideal to wind down and just take in the natural beauty of the area. The rooms are rather specious and comfortable.However, unfortunate the food was terrible, which was the worst I had come across in my country except breakfast. Overall it is a good place for BB stays but do not go for HB or FB

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sehananthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan R, Front Office Manager at Tree of Life Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on tripadvisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Tree of life. I have shared your comments with the Management team, We had our meetings and we shared your comment on the food and our chef and the team already aware of it and do the needful. Thank you once again for your Positive feedback and hope to welcome you back to Tree of life in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

We visited this hotel in 2013 but couldn't write a review due to unforeseen circumstances. When we arrived at Kandy, we checked in at the Tree of life hotel and the guy informed us when we specifically asked about our upgraded room, ensured us that it was the 'Villa room' that we were supposed to have been allocated to.  There was no fruit basket present as stated in the itinerary and the room had cob webs on the ceiling with a very run down bathroom.
My husband made it very clear, when booking the holiday that we did not want to stay in any hotel where building work was taking place. There was building work taking place at the Tree of Life at that time.

Nevertheless, after an almost 6 hour car journey we were hungry and ordered room service.  Both my husband and I ordered the same fish dish, and not only were we given chips instead of parsley potatoes, the mushroom and spinach parcels were not there. So, we called room service again and were given a bowl of parsley and some ketch up! After further conversations back and forth 20% was taken off of our bill.

Later that evening, we arrived back to our room and to find faeces on our bed and on the side of our bath tub.  We went to speak to someone in reception quickly and with a lot of difficulty explained to the receptionist what had taken place.  When a member of staff came into to check the room, he looked very nervous and started apologising profusely opening all the cupboard doors and drawers in the room.  Also, a member of staff wearing overalls was sent to check the bushes and the grounds of the hotel with a torch.

By this point, it was about 8.30pm and pitch black in a very mountainous and hilly area with very little lighting and whilst this staff member frantically loaded our luggage on the tuk tuk, we were directed 'straight' in the dark. With little vision we got lost and walked back to be directed to our rooms. We were told we would be placed in the 'best room' by the front receptionist with 2 floors. The bathroom door wouldn't close properly and there was a leaking shower. We proceeded to dinner straight after.

From our research afterwards, we were terrified and shocked to find out that the actual faeces was of a snake and there was no real action or enough done to ensure our safety but just made to walk in the dark by ourselves with no real direction!
At the restaurant, my husband ordered the same dish he ordered during the day and to our order was wrong again. Even after we asked for Parsley potatoes instead of chips, and asked if they could provide the mushroom and spinach parcels which was stated as part of the meal. So, we asked again and were given mushrooms on the side. There were also deserts and green teas listed on the restaurant menu that we were told were not available even though it was provided in our room menu service which again, is not acceptable for a 4 star hotel, when in fact green tea was provided in our room.

We wanted to leave the next day was brought the general manager to us who apologised and promised to 'look after' us and directed us to a VILLA room which was supposed to be the room we should have been checked into. We left our things and went out sightseeing.

On our return to the Tree Of Life hotel, now in our changed Villa room after using the toilet and bath tub to wash my feet, my husband and I started noticing a very bad sewage smell seeping into the bathroom, we were moved a few doors away to another VILLA room. Subsequently, during our 2 night stay in Kandy, we changed rooms four times and got to stay in our upgraded VILLA room ½ a night and missed out on the opportunity to enjoy and explore the surrounding area due to the constant changing of rooms.

What really shocked us was the lack of information and response given to us when we found faeces on our bed and bath, bearing in mind there may have been a potential snake in our room. Having done our research we now know that the common krait is a nocturnally active, terrestrial snake, which lives close to human dwellings but is not vicious by nature. It creeps into houses over the ground or through the roof and exhibits arboreal tendencies. It has also been observed that bites occur at night while the victims are sleeping. WORST EXPERIENCE OF OUR LIVES!

Room tip: Don't bother here!
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RABEYA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews