We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ting Hai revisited”
Review of Ting Hai

Ting Hai
Ranked #36 of 56 Restaurants in Arendal
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Norwegian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Ting Hai Restaurant was established in 1977. Today, it is Arendal's oldest restaurant and Norway's 4th first Chinese restaurant.At Ting Hai you will find a variety of cuisines, but primarily Chinese and South East Asian food. The owner, Tony Lim, was born in Singapore and raised in Malaysia and many of the dishes carry the exotic and spicy touches of South East Asia.
Prestfoss
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Ting Hai revisited”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Last Sunday my family visited the Chinese restaurant Ting Hai in Arendal once again. After a few months with a new concept, we were eager to see if they could still follow up on the earlier visits last autumn: and they did.

We were quickly seated with a smile and the menus. The waitress suggested drinks and food in a good manner.

It didn't take long to get drinks and food, and the chef came to ask us if everything was to our satisfaction. We were asked several times during our meal if everything was okay, which we definitely answered in a positive way.

Ting Hai has really managed to convert the old restaurant into a new concept with great service. We recommend visitors to Arendal to try the menu, and for drinks we especially recommend to try the self made ice tea. Great experience!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rune69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Prestfoss
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Still great service and food”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I visited Ting Hai after the reopening this summer, and now (Oct 1, 2012) we came back to check if everything is still the same.

I am glad to say that we (me and one of my sons and both my parents) enjoyed a terrific meal once again - the service is exquisit just like the food.

Now, we enjoyed our meal on a quiet Monday afternoon, so I guess the staff had enough time to chit chat with us.

I still recommend visiting Ting Hai if you would like great food and personal service. And the prices are good (for Norwegian restaurants....)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rune69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestfoss
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“New concept, same perfect service”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Ting Hai Restaurant is one of the oldest Asian food restaurants in Norway. Over the years, the menu has not had many changes - the restaurant needed "something new" and a face lift.

Yesterday we went to the reopening of the restaurant and was surprised at how nicely everything was - the food and the service was just perfect.

Ting Hai has reduced the menu and focused more on exciting new flavours and dishes from South Asia. As a "heavy" tea drinker, I was surprised to see that the Lim family (this is indeed a family owned restaurant) offers a great variety of Asian tea. Perfect!

The most special thing in the restaurant except the food is of course the service of the Lim family and their workers. You feel welcomed and taken care of all the time during your stay!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rune69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ting hai house”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

What a great jewel of the orient on the hill going out of town. The best Chinese cuisine you could ever want to eat to great Cantanese traditions. Immaculately clean, good and quick service from nice staff. Even the NORWEGIAN FOOD is as good as you would expect from any other 5 Star establishment. Make this a must for lunch or night out. I stayed in the suite which was clean, comfortably furnished with more space than the other hotels in the town. Great room price...and will stay here again and again. Dave P. Abu Dhabi, UAE.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saeby Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice, and good prices”
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Nice, and good prices

Helpful?
1 Thank Gyvelvej10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ting Hai also viewed

Arendal, Aust-Agder
Arendal, Aust-Agder
 

Been to Ting Hai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing