We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tonsberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Excellent! Very friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. Room are quiet so you can always guarantee that you can get a good nights sleep. I spend over 100 nights a year in hotels and this is one of my favourites.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Glen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Glen J.

Thank you so much for giving us you feedback from your stay here on TripAdvisor.
It really means a lot to us to here from your guests, and i am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay.
You are welcome back at any time, and i hope to see you soon.
Have a great day. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 629 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Large twin room with larger than usual beds, great view on the seaside, good service. Short distance to restaurants and bars. Shopping a 10 minute walk away. All in all I think the hotelexperiance was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Hans Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Hans Erik K.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.
I am so glad that you had an excellent stay, and that the room and service was to your expectations.
Hope to see you back soon, and wish you a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

A straight forward Quality Hotel. By the water, a five-minutes walk outside of the city center, probably a very nice location during summer. Rooms practical, well-kept, good beds, quiet - based on other reviews there can be more noise during the summer season. Decent breakfast a big plus, supports recent trend of improving Norwegian hotel breakfast standards. Omelettes, pancakes and the possibility to make real black tea. Minus: Necessary to pick up internet password in reception. And that dispenser with awful skin-drying soap-shampoo all Norwegian hotel bathrooms currently are infested with.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank ingme2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear ingme2013
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay, and enjoyed the breakfast at our hotel.
The housekeeping department has been notified about your comment on the soap shampoo.
For internet password we have the code of the day that you can get by calling the frontdesk, or by getting the paper version directly.
If you are, or want to become a Choice member, you have the number on your Choice card as a password during your hole stay on all Choice hotels.
This is free of charge and should be presented to you as an option for wifi during check in.

We hope to see you back again soon, and again thank you for taking the time to write this review. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Did not stay in a Quality hotel before, but in various other ( chain) hotels in Norway. As such I was happily surprised to find, also in this hotel, the usual good standard!
Lots of wood, practical, clean, Scandinavian design! Sumptuous breakfast buffet, lots of candles ( I stayed around Christmas), in short: all ok!!

Room Tip: water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polarlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear guest.
We appreciate you taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor.
In our constant strive to improve ourselves, is the feedback from our guests are the most valuable.
Welcome back any time. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice people here from front desk to bars and restaurant
5th floor nice rooms breakfast very good selection
Location for a walk along waterfront excellent this also gives good eating opportunities
Not sure why the bar was not well supported but again pleasant and friendly staff
Good stay for me well done

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Richieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Richieleeds.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review from your stay on tripadvisor.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, facilities, and staff.
I will notify the bar manager about your feedback, and hope to see you back again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well, the hotel is good, but the pool was closed. It's only open during summer. Really stupid actually. But the food was okay, and the rooms are really nice. The service on the other hand, is typically Norwegian; okay, but never more.
As a business hotel it's quite good though, because it has several good quality conference and meeting rooms. On the real downside they're not able to stretch power in the conference hall, so after 12 hours of meeting, no one has any power left on their PC or iPad.
Total, I think it's average, because of the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SinDue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear SinDue.

First i want to thank you for your review on tripadvisor. This helps us to become better in the future.
The hotel pool is outdoor, and that's why it’s only open during summer.
I am so glad to hear that you liked the rooms, food, conference rooms and facilities.

You say that the service was ok and average, but we want, and it should be more then just ok and average.
So we will have extra focus in every department at the hotel, so we can become much better!
I don’t know why stretching power into the conference hall was a challenge during your stay, because it is possible in all of ours conference rooms. We would really appreciate If you could send us an email about what conference you were attending, to our conference manager, so we can look into this, because this should not be an challenge. email: martin.kjenna@choice.no

I hope you have a beautiful day, and hope that you will visit us again if you are in Tønsberg city. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I'll start with the reasons I'm withholding the 5th star, because Quality Hotel Tønsberg is amazing and I wish we'd known about these things before:

1. Rooms in the red building directly behind the main hotel building seem to be smaller. We were initially given a room on the 5th floor on the red building (it's just across a little courtyard) and we were shocked at how tiny it was. To make matters worse, the slopping roof of the building cut into the ceiling of the room so dramatically that crouching was necessary over more than 50% of the floor space. This was our first hotel room in Norway, so we had no idea if this was standard of if we'd just been given a very poor room. It turns out that this was a very poor room (which is disappointing because like everyone else in Tønsberg that weekend, we were paying extremely highly rates because the Slottsfjell music festival was in town).

2. The very poor room situation was resolved by our 2nd issue with the hotel. Because of the aforementioned music festival in town (which we attended during the day), there were after parties hosted at the hotel's restaurant/bar each night. Our room looked down on the restaurant across the courtyard, and as the weather was warm we had our windows open at night. Even when we eventually shut our windows, the after party was so loud and continued so late (seemed like 3 in the morning...maybe we're just too old) that we lost a lot of sleep.

When we went down to complain, the young woman at the desk immediately offered to move us into a quieter room. Not only was the room now in the main hotel building on the other side of the property away from after party, it was easily three times the size of our previous room. Most importantly, the new room (300-something) had NO sloping ceiling intruding in the room. Lesson learned: if your room seems shockingly bad, it probably is. We were so happy with our new room that we really wish we'd said something on the first night (instead we moved during our 3rd day there so just had 1 day in the nicer room).

Onto the positives: amazing staff! Everyone was so friendly and helpful that we were sad to leave them. We loved a guy with glasses and beard who worked the night shift and made us to-go breakfasts on our last day (Scandinavian-style open faced sandwiches). When we told him how much we loved the hotel's sit-down breakfast, he assured us that it was the best in Tønsberg and he knew because he'd eaten them all! We also had a nice chat with Marius, who told us funny stories about working for EPCOT in Florida and shared his experiences at the music festival with us.

The other best thing about this hotel: the breakfast! It was the best hotel breakfast I've ever had. They host in a huge facility where I'm sure they also do business meetings/meals, so we never had a problem finding somewhere to sit. Breakfast featured row-after-row of goodies, including pancakes, eggs, waffles, bacon, sausage (of several types), cold meats, cheeses, fish products, bread products and, best of all, smoothies! I'm sure I consumed at least half of my daily calories on the smoothies alone. I had major breakfast-related depression when we had to leave too early to catch our train on our last morning in Tønsberg (but as mentioned, the staff made us to-go breakfasts so we didn't go hungry).

All in all, as long as you avoid the 5th floor of the red building (room numbers in the thousands, ours was 3000-something) and there's not a major music festival in town with lots of after parties, this hotel should be great for you.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the 3000 number ranger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quinn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Quinn M.

Thank you for you review on trip advisor. We are so glad to hear that you rate our hotel as 5thstar, and that you had a nice stay with us, but i am sorry to read that we didn’t reach your excitations with the room standard in the red building.
They are a bit smaller then the one on the main building, so i understand that you question this since the price is the same.
The weekend of the festival is full of music and party along the pier next to the hotel, and also during night in our hotel restaurant, and you should have been given this information upon your reservation so i must apologize that this.
I am so glad to hear that the receptionist gave you another room you was satisfied with, and that the service from our staff and standard at our breakfast was as we expect and want it to be! :)
Pål (the man with the glasses) and Marius says "thank you for your kind comment", and we hope to see you back again soon.
Have a great summer! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonsberg
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Tonsberg Brygge
11.6 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Klubben
Quality Hotel Klubben
#3 of 7 in Tonsberg
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wilhelmsen House
Wilhelmsen House
#4 of 7 in Tonsberg
21 reviews
20.3 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 4 in Larvik
1,186 reviews
19.9 mi away
Son Spa
Son Spa
#1 of 1 in Son
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Tonsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Tonsberg

Address: Ollebukta 3, Tonsberg 3126, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Tonsberg Municipality > Tonsberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tonsberg
Price Range: $132 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Tonsberg 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality hotel Tonsberg is full service conference hotel, located on the end of the pir in Tonsberg, only 7 minutes from the train and bus station. With 292 guestrooms and 25 conference rooms is there many possibilities for a good conference experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Tonsberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn tønsberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing