We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straight forward hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tonsberg
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Straight forward hotel”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

A straight forward Quality Hotel. By the water, a five-minutes walk outside of the city center, probably a very nice location during summer. Rooms practical, well-kept, good beds, quiet - based on other reviews there can be more noise during the summer season. Decent breakfast a big plus, supports recent trend of improving Norwegian hotel breakfast standards. Omelettes, pancakes and the possibility to make real black tea. Minus: Necessary to pick up internet password in reception. And that dispenser with awful skin-drying soap-shampoo all Norwegian hotel bathrooms currently are infested with.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ingme2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear ingme2013
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay, and enjoyed the breakfast at our hotel.
The housekeeping department has been notified about your comment on the soap shampoo.
For internet password we have the code of the day that you can get by calling the frontdesk, or by getting the paper version directly.
If you are, or want to become a Choice member, you have the number on your Choice card as a password during your hole stay on all Choice hotels.
This is free of charge and should be presented to you as an option for wifi during check in.

We hope to see you back again soon, and again thank you for taking the time to write this review. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    206
    79
    30
    12
See reviews for
52
131
35
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
217 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Did not stay in a Quality hotel before, but in various other ( chain) hotels in Norway. As such I was happily surprised to find, also in this hotel, the usual good standard!
Lots of wood, practical, clean, Scandinavian design! Sumptuous breakfast buffet, lots of candles ( I stayed around Christmas), in short: all ok!!

Room Tip: water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polarlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear guest.
We appreciate you taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor.
In our constant strive to improve ourselves, is the feedback from our guests are the most valuable.
Welcome back any time. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice people here from front desk to bars and restaurant
5th floor nice rooms breakfast very good selection
Location for a walk along waterfront excellent this also gives good eating opportunities
Not sure why the bar was not well supported but again pleasant and friendly staff
Good stay for me well done

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Richieleeds.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review from your stay on tripadvisor.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, facilities, and staff.
I will notify the bar manager about your feedback, and hope to see you back again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well, the hotel is good, but the pool was closed. It's only open during summer. Really stupid actually. But the food was okay, and the rooms are really nice. The service on the other hand, is typically Norwegian; okay, but never more.
As a business hotel it's quite good though, because it has several good quality conference and meeting rooms. On the real downside they're not able to stretch power in the conference hall, so after 12 hours of meeting, no one has any power left on their PC or iPad.
Total, I think it's average, because of the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SinDue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear SinDue.

First i want to thank you for your review on tripadvisor. This helps us to become better in the future.
The hotel pool is outdoor, and that's why it’s only open during summer.
I am so glad to hear that you liked the rooms, food, conference rooms and facilities.

You say that the service was ok and average, but we want, and it should be more then just ok and average.
So we will have extra focus in every department at the hotel, so we can become much better!
I don’t know why stretching power into the conference hall was a challenge during your stay, because it is possible in all of ours conference rooms. We would really appreciate If you could send us an email about what conference you were attending, to our conference manager, so we can look into this, because this should not be an challenge. email: martin.kjenna@choice.no

I hope you have a beautiful day, and hope that you will visit us again if you are in Tønsberg city. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I'll start with the reasons I'm withholding the 5th star, because Quality Hotel Tønsberg is amazing and I wish we'd known about these things before:

1. Rooms in the red building directly behind the main hotel building seem to be smaller. We were initially given a room on the 5th floor on the red building (it's just across a little courtyard) and we were shocked at how tiny it was. To make matters worse, the slopping roof of the building cut into the ceiling of the room so dramatically that crouching was necessary over more than 50% of the floor space. This was our first hotel room in Norway, so we had no idea if this was standard of if we'd just been given a very poor room. It turns out that this was a very poor room (which is disappointing because like everyone else in Tønsberg that weekend, we were paying extremely highly rates because the Slottsfjell music festival was in town).

2. The very poor room situation was resolved by our 2nd issue with the hotel. Because of the aforementioned music festival in town (which we attended during the day), there were after parties hosted at the hotel's restaurant/bar each night. Our room looked down on the restaurant across the courtyard, and as the weather was warm we had our windows open at night. Even when we eventually shut our windows, the after party was so loud and continued so late (seemed like 3 in the morning...maybe we're just too old) that we lost a lot of sleep.

When we went down to complain, the young woman at the desk immediately offered to move us into a quieter room. Not only was the room now in the main hotel building on the other side of the property away from after party, it was easily three times the size of our previous room. Most importantly, the new room (300-something) had NO sloping ceiling intruding in the room. Lesson learned: if your room seems shockingly bad, it probably is. We were so happy with our new room that we really wish we'd said something on the first night (instead we moved during our 3rd day there so just had 1 day in the nicer room).

Onto the positives: amazing staff! Everyone was so friendly and helpful that we were sad to leave them. We loved a guy with glasses and beard who worked the night shift and made us to-go breakfasts on our last day (Scandinavian-style open faced sandwiches). When we told him how much we loved the hotel's sit-down breakfast, he assured us that it was the best in Tønsberg and he knew because he'd eaten them all! We also had a nice chat with Marius, who told us funny stories about working for EPCOT in Florida and shared his experiences at the music festival with us.

The other best thing about this hotel: the breakfast! It was the best hotel breakfast I've ever had. They host in a huge facility where I'm sure they also do business meetings/meals, so we never had a problem finding somewhere to sit. Breakfast featured row-after-row of goodies, including pancakes, eggs, waffles, bacon, sausage (of several types), cold meats, cheeses, fish products, bread products and, best of all, smoothies! I'm sure I consumed at least half of my daily calories on the smoothies alone. I had major breakfast-related depression when we had to leave too early to catch our train on our last morning in Tønsberg (but as mentioned, the staff made us to-go breakfasts so we didn't go hungry).

All in all, as long as you avoid the 5th floor of the red building (room numbers in the thousands, ours was 3000-something) and there's not a major music festival in town with lots of after parties, this hotel should be great for you.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the 3000 number ranger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Quinn M.

Thank you for you review on trip advisor. We are so glad to hear that you rate our hotel as 5thstar, and that you had a nice stay with us, but i am sorry to read that we didn’t reach your excitations with the room standard in the red building.
They are a bit smaller then the one on the main building, so i understand that you question this since the price is the same.
The weekend of the festival is full of music and party along the pier next to the hotel, and also during night in our hotel restaurant, and you should have been given this information upon your reservation so i must apologize that this.
I am so glad to hear that the receptionist gave you another room you was satisfied with, and that the service from our staff and standard at our breakfast was as we expect and want it to be! :)
Pål (the man with the glasses) and Marius says "thank you for your kind comment", and we hope to see you back again soon.
Have a great summer! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The blond woman at the reception (wearing a sign saying she was a 1.receptionist) did not enjoy guests arriving and didn't make an effort to hide her discomfort. Maybe she was tired. Like I would be later.

They have a really noisy (and 'cheap'/vulgar) singing entertainment at the ground floor (the night before an ordinary work day). The shouting and singing, emphasised with a microphone and a potent amplifier, is amazingly loud several floors above.

I tried to call the reception to ask how long it would be going on, I needed to sleep. I let the phone ring for a few minutes, no one picked up. Luckily I did not want to report a fire. What are you supposed to do in case of a fire? Call the reception.

The music stopped at 22:30, not too bad, but the spontaneous and loud singing/shouting went on for another hour, then they energetically refurbished until midnight (00:00), with no consideration for the noise they caused for guests trying to sleep. At midnight it was finally quiet but I was wide awake after having tried to fall asleep for the last two hours.

I had a very stressing next day with intense work and had trusted this hotel. Unfortunately, this hotel doesn't care much about their guests needing to sleep.

I would advice putting up a sign: we will not let you sleep before midnight. Then guests can adapt and wait, and at least be able to fall asleep at midnight rather than be frustrated after two hours struggling.

The people running this hotel have an attitude problem.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest, Walkthere.
Thank you for you review on tripadvisor.
This helps us to be better in the future. I am so sorry for the experience you had with the service at our hotel during your stay. This makes us so sad to read, and most definitely is both attitude as you describe, and music level on events on a week night a big priority on our agenda after reading this review.
I hope you are will give us a new chance in the future, so we can apologize for the experience you had on our last stay, and give you a new impression of the hotel.

I wish you a really good summer! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed one night with my son (8) and our experience with the hotel was good. Standard , comfy room and clean bathroom. My son would have liked at least 1 children's tv channel! My back didn't quite like the bed, but it wasn't very uncomfy either. Breakfast buffet was excellent! Very good location but a bit far to walk to from the train station. Take a taxi!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Trine L.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.
It makes us so glad to hear you had a nice stay, and that both the room and breakfast were at your expectations. Have a great summer, and we hope to see you back again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonsberg
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Klubben
Quality Hotel Klubben
#2 of 7 in Tonsberg
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Brygga
Thon Hotel Brygga
#3 of 7 in Tonsberg
150 reviews
11.6 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Asgardstrand
Thon Hotel Asgardstrand
#1 of 1 in Asgardstrand
99 reviews
12.4 mi away
Scandic Havna Tjome
Scandic Havna Tjome
#2 of 2 in Tjome
150 reviews
11.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Tonsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Tonsberg

Property: Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Address: Ollebukta 3, Tonsberg 3126, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Tonsberg Municipality > Tonsberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tonsberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Tonsberg 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality hotel Tonsberg is full service conference hotel, located on the end of the pir in Tonsberg, only 7 minutes from the train and bus station. With 292 guestrooms and 25 conference rooms is there many possibilities for a good conference experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Tonsberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn tønsberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing