We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic, but still quite expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Klubben
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tonsberg
Certificate of Excellence
Hovik, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very basic, but still quite expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

This review will be short, as there is not much to tell and our stay was for one night only.

The hotel is old, but it seems to me that they have rebuild the reception area (which is relatively nice), but only painted the rest of the hotel. Rooms are quite spacious and the bathrooms were new, nice and clean. However; do not stay here during summertime. There is no airconditioning(!), and our rooms was very warm even before we got out of bed - due to the morning sun. We found a fan in the closet, but hey; who really wants to have a fan on the table when staying in a hotel?

Sure, it is cheaper than the other, nicer hotels by the waterfront. And if I go back in the winter I might stay there again. But from May-September, I will definitely go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    77
    58
    25
    8
See reviews for
24
77
14
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kowale
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

It is expensive but you get what you pay for. The restaurant and the food dissapointed me.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elimKowale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

The most positive to say about the rooms are, that they are quite big..
Apart from that, it's clear to see, that this is an aging hotel..

If you just need a bed and a shower, I guess this hotel is ok..

The other Quality Hotel in Tonsberg is a lot better, and I will definetly use that next time instead!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHerskind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
178 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

Currently being rebranded as a Choice hotel, Klubben is the most run down hotel on the Tønsberg waterfront. Thon hotel across the street and the other Choice hotel by the bridge is much newer and nicer.

Room is small, view is nice and service was really poor for norwegian standard. Glad I didnt pay myself (employer did).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonsberg
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 7 in Tonsberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Brygga
Thon Hotel Brygga
#3 of 7 in Tonsberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
11.7 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
20.4 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 5 in Larvik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.5 mi away
Active Hotel
Active Hotel
#1 of 1 in Notteroy Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Klubben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Klubben

Property: Quality Hotel Klubben
Address: Nedre Langgate 49, Tonsberg 3126, Norway (Formerly Rica Klubben Hotel)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Tonsberg Municipality > Tonsberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tonsberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Klubben 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Klubben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn tønsberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing