We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please, do not make a huge mistake here!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santinos - CLOSED

Santinos
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Please, do not make a huge mistake here!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Absolutely dreadful food and dreadful service. We should have turned around and left! Nothing else to add.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank diningenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    16
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, service not so hot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

I'm a regular at this restaurant as it is round the corner from my hotel when I visit Oslo on business.

On this occasion I chose minestrone soup to start as usual. The vegetables were fresh and perfectly cooked with just a little crunch left, the way I like it. The stock could have been more flavoursome but that is probably over critical.

My min course was fusili with chicken, asparagus and fresh tomato. The sauce was well flavoured, the generous portion of pasta perfectly cooked. The chicken however was pre-cooked but this was the only culinary negative.

The service on this occasion was poor. The restaurant was almost empty but the staff seemed more interested in each other than in serving me. Let's hope this was a one off.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buzby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Too much on the menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

The menu is so huge, everyone can find something to eat here. The food is ok, and not that expensive - nice place to sit down.

Helpful?
Thank ottis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent hint of Italian, moderately priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

No exactly Italian, but they do have pasta and Italian wines.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank 5AndrewS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great pasta/pizza place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Located 5-7 mins walk from Oslo central station this place is 2-3 blocks from the main street of Karl Johans Gate. Tourists probably won't trip over this one but it's well worth finding.

Well decorated modern interior. Choice of table types - high bar style tables and regular dinner tables. Started with a hearty minnestrone soup well seasoned and made with fresh vegetables served with fresh warm bread. This would make a very good light lunch on its own.

Menu boasts a wide selection of different pastas and sauces with a good selection of pizzas.

My main course of spaghetti diavolo came in a generous portion, piping hot, well presented and flavoursome. Had to ask for Parmesan but when it came was freshly grated.

Service was friendly and efficient.

Total cost with a soft drink NOK 260 Not incl tip. Very good value for central Oslo.

I'll be back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buzby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santinos also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing