We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great indian food”
Review of New Anarkali

New Anarkali
Ranked #108 of 1,480 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Grünerløkka - Sofienberg
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great indian food”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The best indian food with relaxing surroundings. You will not regret your visit and you will come back for more :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    94
    25
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't go there!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We where told to finish our glass because they wanted new costumers! Small portions and horrible service as soon as we had our last bite! Don't go there! Recommend Mother India instead!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StinaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Located in the eastern part of the city center in Oslo, this Indian restaurant is fairly reachable by foot or by public transport from the main city center. Unfortunately, it is not worth the walk, as there are better Indian restaurants closer to the city center.

The food was OK but nothing more and the staff was nice. The tables were a little too close to each other, as everybody had to move when the somebody had to leave the table.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ideatroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Amsterdam, north of Paris
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Much better available close by”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had quite some expectations based on the reviews, and as we are living close by we decided to drop in. However, we were disappointed. The fried king prawns for starters were on the greasy side, and not crispy but fatty. Same holds for the samosa my partner had. While my main dish (lamb biriyani) was good, the portion was on the small side and more side dishes would have been nice. Paying extra for something simple as raita seems an easy way to get more money out of the guests. My partner had tandoori fish which was clearly cheap and low quality fish nuggets, had almost no taste (while we asked for a "medium plus" strength - another curious thing: "medium plus" was exactly right for me, but very bland in the other dish), and was not up to standard. We expected a proper whole fish from the tandoor, not some cheap nuggets.
Overall experience was not really good - service was ok, but food definitely not up to standards. Better restaurants close by: Riwaj for good food and good atmosphere, and Bombay for even better food and very good price/quality ratio (a bit less atmosphere there however).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank simonthemooncalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good indian restaurant”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have been to New Anarkali, I really like the taste of food there, service is also good, the only thing that I like lacking is the space, they have a medium sized seating area. Also, I think their food portions are a bit smaller than normal portions. All in all its a good place and I like visiting it again and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GauravKrTomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Anarkali also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to New Anarkali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing