We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Solid Choice for Scrumptious Fare and a Relaxed, Charming Atmosphere”
Review of Christiania

Christiania
Ranked #212 of 1,813 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Christiania skal være restauranten og baren som glir over i pulserende nattliv i helgene. Dette er stedet hvor gammelt møter nytt og hvor antikviteter er knyttet sammen med moderne design i et unikt lokale. Christiania restaurant Vi har åpent til lunsj fra kl 11.00, og kjøkkenet stenger kl 22.00 Kjøkkensjef Richie Bocarro og hans crew lager klassiske retter med en twist. Vår mat er laget med kjærlighet, og med kvalitet i alle råvarer. Alle rettene på menyen serveres hele dagen. Liker du tradisjoner? Byens beste afternoon tea får du hos Christiania. Christiania bar og ”dinner&drinks” Vi lager gode cocktails hver dag, men torsdag, fredag og lørdag glir restauranten over i et pulserende nattliv. Vår residence DJ Tommy Døske vil sørge for rytmer sammen med våre gjeste-djs. Barsjef Fernando Saez og hans crew finner du bak Oslos mest sentrale bar fra kl 16 alle dager (unntatt søndag, da hviler vi!) Taket på Christiania - åpner torsdag 5. April.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just off the main thoroughfare in town, Karl Johans Gate, and nearby Parliament building is where you'll find Café Christiania. It's also short walking distance to Oslo's uber-trendy waterfront, Aker Brygee.

The atmosphere is very warm and inviting with a touch of old world charm. As we entered the restaurant, my companion and I was greeted cordially and shown to a table by the window. It was a Thursday evening, on the later end, so the restaurant wasn't crowded at all.

We settled into our appetizer, a lobster bisque, which was very tasty with the right amount of ingredients and not overwhelmingly creamy (as this dish can sometimes turnout). We then proceeded on to our Main course, the spring chicken with an assortment of root vegetables and spring potatoes. This is a whole hen (and takes approx. 30 mins to prepare) though what comes out is near perfection. It's nicely baked and seasoned just right. To note, It's a healthy helping (which I happily devoured as I was quite famished indeed) but if you're not terribly hungry, this selection is perfectly shareable.

Overall, a very solid experience with fairly priced offerings (relatively speaking of course) in an otherwise pricy city.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank theflyinggazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. Indeed, we pride ourselves with our fabulous team of colleagues, whom I am sure will be equally grateful for your warm acknowledgement of their efforts to exceed your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you again for a meal sometime soon.

Sincerely
Therese Bergerud
Booking & marketing manager
Cafe Christiania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 193 of 628 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

Good ambience and service but busy. We got a discount with our Oslo Pass. The food was good but expensive: if in Oslo again we'd go to the Grand Café.

Date of visit: June 2014
Thank zufuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you so much for rating us on TripAdvisor - we really appreciate all your comments, and hope for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards
Therese Bergerud
Bookingmanager
Cafe Christiania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Very nice service. Delicious food. Not too much choice. As you would expect from such a classy, traditional place, next to the parliament.

Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you so much for rating us on TripAdvisor - we appreciate all your comments, and hope for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards
Therese Bergerud
Booking & marketing manager
Cafe Christiania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have been at Cafe Christiana at National Day and it was really crowded. Beside all the crowd the staff was very polite and helpful. We had asparagus for starter and fish as main dish. Fish was very good however asparagus was amazing. It was one of the most delicious asparagus I have ever had. Prices was a bit high but it was the average of nice places in Oslo. It was my best meal in Norway and definitely it worth the price.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmreF167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time write this lovely review and share your experience with other travelers. We constantly strive to improve our services and it is always refreshing to receive positive comments like this, so thank you!.

Most sincerely,
Therese Bergerud
Booking & marketing manager
Cafe Christiania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

What a pleasant lunch. Situated near the National Theatre. Had the open prawn sandwich, beautiful and fresh prawns, (not out of a tine) great bead and a tasty sauce, that enhance the flavour of the prawns (not smothered them). Service was great, but before you leave have a walk around the restaurant, and look at all the marvellous collectables. The waitress mentioned it was the biggest private collection in Oslo, very interesting.

Date of visit: June 2014
Thank Queen-ofthe-Desert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christiania also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing