We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner in Oslo”
Review of Cafe Christiania

Cafe Christiania
Ranked #127 of 1,549 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Norwegian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed September 7, 2013

One could consider this restaurant a tourist trap, but it's not. Excellent service and good food for a sensible price, proves the opposit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Imanuelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for the great review! The team here strives to make each meal enjoyable. When we accomplish that goal we have done our job.
I really appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback and the team will as well when I share it with them.

Regards
Therese Bergerud
Cafe Christiania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 196 of 547 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

located right in the city center, we enjoyed a wonderful seafood dinner with wine at Cafe Christiana. With the 24 hr Oslo pass we got the 15% discount as well. Fanstastic ambience! Loved it:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aaratrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words. We appreciate that you take the time to review us on TripAdvisor, and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere here at Cafe Christiania.

Kind regards
Therese
Bookingmanager
Cafe Christiania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just writing to mention that the Christiana has a lovely roof terrace with a charming view of the park that stretches form Parliament to the Palace. Very comfortably furnished with heaters for evening and huge umbrellas. It's a bar, with a interesting menu smaller than belowstairs, but a great wine, beer and cocktail service. They serve not only a selection of the better international beers (Brooklyn), but the local Norwegian craft and microbrews, some on tap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank 10,027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We appreciate all your comments and are very glad you enjoyed our rooftop Terrace!

Kind regards
Therese
Bookingmanager
Cafe Christiania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This restaurant is jus next to the norwegian parlaiment. The decor has a good style and do appeal to what it serves; French classics in a classic atmosphere. Yet the place is really really noisy.
The service is very much so-so. They dont really know that much on the wines they serve and the food itself...come on. I got green asparagus for a starter - and they were way way over cooked - and may I guess, had been pre-cocked some hours previously for then being re-cooked all over again. I also got a classic for mains: Entrecote (and noticed the waited could not pronounce it right - just a detail). But this was the very very first time I ever tirned away a dish twice, and on the third it still was not good enough. I made an order for rare/bloody and again and again got a well done. When you then add the price for the meal (the entrecote stands alone in around £24) - then its just plain and simple a tourist trap in my opinion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for the candid feedback.
We strive to make sure that all of our guests enjoy all aspects of their time with us, and if not it is important for us to always be able to handle the problems in the restaurant right away. We are really sorry we failed at this on all three attempts, and that the food did not meet your expectations. We can assure you that we will take your comments with us and make sure to improve this.

Kind regards
Therese Bergerud
Booking manager
Cafe Christiania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Since we have been home from a wonderful Scandinavian trip, this is the meal we keep remembering. From the fresh and well prepared halibut to the seafood chowder, from the creativity of the chef to the wait staff's accommodation to special requests, we enjoyed it all. Sit out on the upstairs balcony in the summer and enjoy that environment! The only negative to us was being in the path of smokers, but that's common in Norwegian restaurants. Being able to use the Oslo Pass was a plus!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FoodWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

We appreciate that you take the time to review us on TripAdvisor, and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere at Cafe Christiania.


Kind regards
Therese
Bookingmanager
Cafe Christiania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Christiania also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Cafe Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing