We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great knowledge and savory tastes of Norwegian salmon!”
Review of Alex Sushi

Alex Sushi
Ranked #41 of 1,568 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $55
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Alex Sushi in Solli Plass square in Oslo is one of the city's finer sushi restaurants. The interior is modern and stylish with an open kitchen area where guests sit around an oval table, watching the mastery of the sushi chefs at work. The menu includes a fascinating number of ingredients, with some exotic highlights for the more adventurous. The service is relaxed, knowledgeable and friendly. An excellent wine list complements the food, with vintage varieties mainly from France and Italy.
Reviewed September 8, 2016

The Chef and international staff are very friendly and customer service is excellent!

We were served a special dish of Norwegian and it is the most succulent and creative I have ever tasted. The king prawns were crispy with a delicate sauce, and even with good Norwegian tap water everything tastes great!

The portions were huge and the takeaway box was a superb elegant design. It is hard to throw it away even when it was empty. Almost carried it on my plane back home.

Thanks Chef Alex for such a wonderful dining experience in Oslo!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SkyFlakesKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 197 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2016

This restaurant is not as good as the Alex sushi at the one at Solli plass. They do not have the same great set menus so you either need to pick most of your dishes or ask for some help. We asked them to just fill up our table with a good selection from their menu. The food is really nice.
When it comes to the service it was slow. And the restaurant wasn't even full. The atmosphere is not that good either. And when the bill came, we were charged almost 100NOK per bottle of sparkling water. It is a high-end restaurant, but that is a bit too much.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank telvestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

Outstanding food, nice atmosphere and great view of the Akershus festining. We were a couple that arrived after nine o'clock in the evening on a Saturday and we got a great spot outside.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank MariaLBVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

Serves up some of the more decent sushi in Oslo. Still lacks that cuttibg edge of finer sushi establishments in other parts of the world.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank sebastiansundback
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Had a table outside on a great Summer evening and a professional waiter - to start with.
Chose the chef's tasting menu (80USD). Great sashimi, ok nigiri (the seabass was like rubber), interesting tempura (not crispy but more like dough - good taste), exclusive lobster (I presume the lobster was of great quality but the taste was hidden in spices and mayo) and surprisingly enough: no desert. I guess chef's at sushi places don't take pride in deserts :-)
So why not full score given location and hood service? Well, it was expensive and not enough food for hungry guys, our waiter was great but his colleague took our wine bottle and poured it to guests next to us by mistake - and then, when discovering the mistake, poured the wine back to an empty glass and passed it our to us. A superb place would have given us compensation/recognition, another glass for instance, for such an embarrasing mistake but here they just laughed it away. And not getting some sweets at the end of an expensive tasting menu is bad music in my ears.
I've heard a lot about Alex over the years and left a bit disappointed. Location is far from everything.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank great_squasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Alex Sushi also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Alex Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.