We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best sushi in town.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alex Sushi

Alex Sushi
Ranked #11 of 1,405 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $65 - $65
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Alex Sushi in Solli Plass square in Oslo is one of the city's finer sushi restaurants. The interior is modern and stylish with an open kitchen area where guests sit around an oval table, watching the mastery of the sushi chefs at work. The menu includes a fascinating number of ingredients, with some exotic highlights for the more adventurous. The service is relaxed, knowledgeable and friendly. An excellent wine list complements the food, with vintage varieties mainly from France and Italy.
Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
170 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Probably the best sushi in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have been travelling to Oslo many hundred times over the last 10-15 years. But I have never found a better sushi restaurant. Excellent atmosphere seated in the "sushi bar" where the sushi is created. Top motivated staff made the visit gel together with wonderful food. I got the tempura. Sizable portion crisp - can easily share this starter. Got whale sashimi even though I'm very much against whale killing. Now I know what Norway and Japan have together - excellent whale sashimi. What a rich and wonderful experience. Finally I got the sushi 15 pc dinner. Excellent. I will be back. Thanks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lfrasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    171
    44
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
“Great sushi + great ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you love sushi and want to make a night of it, this is the place to go. The black menu was excellent, together with the tempura salad and sake. They have a good wine and champange selection but it is a bit on the expensive side. Good petit four. Friendly swedish service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElisabethS619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of top three restaurants in Oslo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great sushi, maki rolls and sashimi prepared by the best sushi chef in an open kitchen for you to watch and learn. Been at this place many times and they have now opened at Tjuvholmen as well where the set menu limits your choices but the quality of the food and the prep of it makes it a even better choice. The lobster and tempura shrimp with chili mayo is a must, yummie. Are you from out of this region ( Norway) the prices will have you wonder if its worth it, but trust me it is.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mobiletraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sushi will never be the same again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I used to love sushi in any way, even the soggy bits in plastic containers from the corner shops. But after my first visit to Alex's that has changed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good quality but quite high price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The miso soup, and sushi rolls were great served. The restaurant accepts reservations as usually quite busy place. Good place to try Japanese traditional food. As I was there one month after visiting to Japan, looked everything quite authentic. There was a continuous line for take out. The stuff was friendly. The food was arranged and served perfectly according to tradition. Though the price for everything is above average. Overall good experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yulcya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alex Sushi also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Alex Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing