We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”

Lofoten Fiskerestaurant
Ranked #35 of 1,446 Restaurants in Oslo
Price range: $11 - $43
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Lofoten is an elegant, yet cosy and relaxed seafood restaurant on the edge of Aker Brygge with an exquisite maritime menu, good beverages and excellent service. Lofoten pride themselves in serving the best fish and seafood the sea has to offer. The restaurant's philosophy is to serve rustic food that not only looks good, but also tempts the palate and satisfies one's hunger. The menu changes 7-8 times a year and reflects each season's specialities. January-March: Steamed cod with liver and roe, flown in from Lofoten! April-September: Summer menu, 200 seats outside with a great view of the Oslo Fjord. October-December: The Norwegian speciality lutefisk (cod treated with lye).
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
105 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went here for lunch on a sunny summer day and watched the strollers on the quai. This supposed to be a place for great fresh fish. For some reason it was deserted. To be safe we ordered fish soup and the special of the day. The soup was OK but the fish of the day was bland and uninteresting. Maybe the white table clothes and nice setting raised our expectations. Perfectly pleasant but nothing special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    344
    115
    62
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect for a special occasion!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I wanted to my girlfriend out for a nice dinner as it was her 30th b'day. We tried to book into Solsiden but unfortunately it was fully booked all week, so we went for Lofoten restaurant as i was determined to share a skaldyrsfatt (seafood platter) with her. As we arrived we were immediately taken to our table and offered a welcome drink. We were then described the specials and given some time to look over the wine list. When the waiter came back, he had already brought some bread with him and after hearing what we wanted to order he made some solid recommendations on wine to drink with the food. The seafood platter was fantastic, even though it was a little bit short on oysters and king crab. The waiter was one of the most attentive we have had in eating at Oslo restaurants and the food and wine also matched that standard. Pleasantly suprised after reading a few previous reviews that this was more of a "tourist" restauarant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NathR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
248 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Very moderate”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were here for Christmas dinner with my company.
The fish dishes were moderate, dessert was good enough but the lack of tasty tee was very disappointing for me. I don't want to go back definitely.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lena_elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good service, tasty food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Visited a calm, summer evening. Nice atmosphere, friendly, attentive staff and good service. Dishes arrived within reasonable time. I had the halibut which was tasty, fresh and in all a good meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReginaldSpecter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Excellent food, and service was friendly and professional eventhough they were in a hurry. Lobster perfectly cooked and the chocolate mousse dessert with salty caramel sauce and whipped cream, is deffinitely worth tasting. I sweetly recommend it!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ida_boutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lofoten Fiskerestaurant also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Lofoten Fiskerestaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing